We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great B&B”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
janethebe...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great base for exploring the Yarra Valley. I love that you get your own living quarters, completely separate to the main house, with a fully stocked kitchen to make breakfast how and when you please. Heaps of food provided including locally sourced snacks. We highly recommend a dip in the billabong on a hot day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review of your recent stay in The Burrow. It was lovely to have you stay again, that first swim in the billabong must have stayed in your memory ! We find it very satisfying that our guests love their privacy and can come and go at will ~ that makes for a real break away for you, I am sure. We do hope to see you again when you need another little Time Out from the city. cheers, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: eveything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for adding your 'thumbs up' to The Burrow for your recent stay. It was a real pleasure to host you, and we are glad you found everything you needed for a bit of time out and relaxation from city life. We hope you took some fresh air with you and are still breathing deeply. We'd love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worthwild
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We were immediately taken by the peace and tranquility of this beautiful bushland retreat. And so close to DeBoretli winery. Sue provided so much food for our breakfasts that we were completely spoiled for choice. Sitting back on the verandah looking out at the lake with so much birdlife; this place is a sanctuary. We can't recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely thoughtful review of The Burrow. It is always our aim to provide a completely relaxing experience for our guests and nothing pleases us more than to know that The Burrow has worked its magic for you. We know our guests appreciate being close to a number of fine dining experiences and wineries for that special lunch or dinner ~ but to know you relish 'coming home' to peace and tranquillity, and relaxing with nature by the billabong is even better. The soul needs nurturing as much as the body ~ and The Burrow provided both for you. That makes us very happy. We'll look forward to your return this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuccini1
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic - friendly, relaxing with Airedale cuddles thrown in if you wish!”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A friendly, relaxed atmosphere in an idyllic setting to relax, take in the bush scenery & Airedale shenanigans. V close to wineries & restaurants - what's not to love? Sue also puts on a magnificent spread for breakfast . Have stayed twice & will do so again. Cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely happy review of your experience at The Burrow. The Airedales also love it when they get a gong for being good kids, even more so when guests speak Airedale so fluently. We so enjoyed having you to stay again, and hope you'll make the trip over here in the future too. Winter is a lovely time as well in the Valley so perhaps we can entice you with all the special joys of that season before the footy finals. The birdlife is always busy and the wombats come out earlier. The lights will be on to welcome you any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Best Get Away of al Get Aways!”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Burrow

Every part of this stay was easy and relaxing.. from the first time I found the Burrow on TripAdvisor to our reluctant departure after our stay there...
After we found The Burrow on Trip Advisor I sent a couple of questions to the owners. Sue was super quick to respond to emails and to make any suggestions for times to stay etc. (and places to visit on the way)
Sue sent the confirmation with a map to their property as soon as we had made the booking; and offered several ways to pay the deposit.
The day before we arrived Sue emailed asking our preferences for milk and bread!! (Wow!! - such detail)
The property is a few minutes drive off the Melba Hwy - just past Yarra Glen - and very handy to some wonderful wineries including de Bortolis and Millers.
The property is both close to conveniences but far from the madding crowd. It was an easy drive following the directions sent from Sue.
As soon as we arrived I think we started breathing more slowly! The place has a tranquility that is evident as soon as you step out of the car.
The Burrow is the name of the guest house at Wombat Bend and it is close to re main residence but very private.
This guesthouse is quite large with a full-size lounge room and dining room as well as an eating area in the full-size kitchen.
There is a wonderful library of books on the entry (and more in the lounge room) and a wonderful verandah overlooking the billabong and its abundant birdlife.
The house is furnished very comfortably with easy chairs and plenty of cushions and woolen rugs to keep the evening chill away. We spent hours reading talking and simply sitting on the verandah - rye birdlife is prolific and wonderfully relaxing to sit and watch.
Sue and Bill supply farm supplies so you can make your own breakfast. And these were wonderful and generous in proportion. Eggs, fabulous breads, locally produced sausages and bacon. Yoghurt, juice, and really beautiful jams,marmalade, and honey. In fact we ate most of our meals at the house as we really made the most of this wonderful retreat.
We had planned to explore the yarra valley and we certainly enjoyed the time we spent at the winery but the best part of our stay was sitting at The Burrow.
The bed was really comfortable and all your toiletries were supplied. They were exceptional and we bought some of these products to take home.
Cannot recommend The Burrow highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
It was a very special experience for us to have such seasoned Trip Advisor guests to find us, and then enjoy your visit so thoroughly. It is always a delight for us as hosts to meet yet more guests who seem just like friends we hadn't got around to meeting yet. The pleasure you have expressed so personally is lovely to read, and we are looking forward to your next visit ~ I hope we can make it even better for you. Maybe entice you to stay longer to experience some of the daily wildlife moments that flow around Wombat Bend, of their own accord. We loved having you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing