We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked-out after one night”
Review of Hostal Machalilla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lopez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Machalilla
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

It was a beautiful place, green, flowers etc. Til the second day, when they sprayed pesticide on all the flowers, so we almost vomitted, it smelled so strong. The room comes with mosquito net too and, however it is very small, that wasn't our problem. When we checked in we asked 3x if they have hot water. The answer was yes. Nothing was said about any limitations. But when we wanted to use it, after the salsa class at 9 pm, my husband was standing by the shower at least half an our, waiting for the hot water. No hot water. These days it is very windy here and not more than 20 degrees. Sitting on the beach froze us to ice. They switched then on the hot water, and admitted, they don't have hot water all the time, it is too expensive. Then my husband stayed again half an hour waiting, still no hot water. We were extremely frustrated, because they didn't tell, you have to turn the one on the right side. As we wanted to learn how to surf and there were no such hours with hot water, when we needed it, we checked out. The woman at the front is extremely unfriendly and unwilling to help. She looks all the time as if she would do a favour for you.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in early May, when they were only a few tourists in town. The hostel is only one block from the beach and one block from the supermarket. Restaurants are also close by. Large room with a fan, good shower and kitchen facilities. Strong wifi!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

First Hostal we saw after a long tiring plane/bus journey. The staff were very friendly but didn't speak much English (I speak both). The hammocks were very nice to relax in and the terrace up top was a great place to relax and enjoy some fresh fruit. The room had a big fan to help keep the heat at bay during the night and had an awesome water pressure shower.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We checked in at 5:30am after our overnight bus trip. It was very accommodating of them to let us have the room that early in the morning and only pay for one night's stay. It was $25 for a "double" room.

The room left a lot to be desired:
- there large screen windows along the top of two walls that could not be covered, all noise outside could be heard in the room
- many large ants were crawling around inside
- the fan had a frightening wobble
- there were no rooms with beds larger than a twin, and they didn't push together because of the frames

Two other downsides, the hotel clerks continually tried to sell us tours even after we declined, and the hotel is NOT on the beach front as indicated on the map; it is one block in from the beach.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Pros
-Great patio area with hammocks to relax
-Right across a local restaurant that serves delicious affordable meals.
-two blocks away from he beach
-night guard on watch, gates locked at night
-decent size rooms

Cons
-hot rooms, sleep with window open it will be much nicer.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank darqstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0 km away
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
#4 of 24 in Puerto Lopez
66 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
61 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Albergue Turistico Dannita
Albergue Turistico Dannita
#13 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
14 reviews
0 km away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
584 reviews
0 km away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#2 of 24 in Puerto Lopez
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Machalilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Machalilla

Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta | and Alejo Lascano, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Lopez
Price Range: €7 - €8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lugar acogedor, cerca a la playa y los principales atractivos de la zona. Habitaciones con baños privados, agua caliente y wifi. Zonas compartidas para cocina y social. Ofrecemos información sobre tours y paseos en el parque nacional Machalilla ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing