We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
50
60
23
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
60
23
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river continental breakfast bring your own last night hotel guests check in was easy spa package booked massages sandwiches salad sauna towels waterfall degrees bubbles robe queen
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Although very nice and confortable, hotel is located on the other side of the blvd. There is a shuttle available from hotel lobby to Spa entrance.
Hotel Staff members are very comprehensive and helpful and we had complementary breakfasts, which has an immense choice of variations compared with other hotels.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa L, Gérant at Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello,
First of all, we really appreciate that you have taken your time to write your comments about your experience. The satisfaction of our customers is important to us.
Indeed, the hotel is located on the other side of the boulevard. The shuttle is available for our customers all time and the employees of the reception are always pleased to make it come for you. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

SPA is ok, but the hotel room with fireplace is full of gas/smoke smell. cannot sleep. Asked front desk to change a room, the person said he did not smell anything. Gas leaking is dangerous, we have to take this risk.

Room Tip: just go to the spa, do not live in the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Hotel room is very clean, standard breakfast included in the package deal or promotion, check for them,,,.. and you use the spa as long as you want for both days, I have visited many spa's in the past and have yet to find a better one than this.

Room Tip: Just to note this is mostly a hotel for couples
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnny_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

It's a clean, quite, and well maintained Spa.
I visited in Sept2016, thoug h the weather was not cold in Montreal, we greatly enjoyed the spa, relaxed atmosphere and good service.
There are Hammams, Sauna, Jacouzi, clean place, and friendly staff,
Great place to be!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nellutzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We were only looking for an inexpensive hotel for our last night after a week in an RV doing a New England and Quebec color tour. We chose this hotel because of the low price ($109 CDN), good ratings, and proximity to the location where we were to drop off our rental RV.

What an amazing surprise awaited us! The hotel is in a beautiful location--on the riverfront of an island just north of Laval with beautiful foliage and ambiance. We were delighted to learn that it was also connected to a spa across the (somewhat busy) street. Just what we needed after a week of campgrounds with marginal showers and facilities!

We were given a discounted rate as hotel guests to use the spa facilities and also booked massages ($100 CDN-a good rate given the US Dollar exchange). The facilities were amazing. A giant hot (well, quite warm) pool outdoors with waterfalls and jets, a freezing cold pool with waterfall, bubble chairs hanging over another hot pool so you could swing and soak at the same time, very large steam and sauna rooms, and even leather buckets for ice to cool off with while soaking. Pure heaven!

Our Swedish massages were great and badly needed after bumping along country roads for a week (My husband rated his the best ever!)

All this pleasure was followed by dining in our robes in the on-site bistro (wine, a hot roast beef and cheese baguette and beet/pear/almond salad at a reasonable price). I thought I'd died and gone to heaven.

Finally, we were on our way the next morning with an included continental breakfast (good coffee, croissants, fresh fruit and yogurt) served in a beautiful glass-walled room overlooking the ground and river. Made us hate to leave!

The front desk was very helpful to us with information and directions --we don't speak French and everyone was very gracious in working with us, even helping us to figure out how to pay a bridge toll that only took electronic payments and saved us from getting a penalty charged to our rental RV.

It's not close to downtown, but unless you love driving in Montreal traffic, I would urge you to stay here and relax instead. Montreal has great public transportation!

Some Considerations:
1. The spa is across a busy street from the hotel. We had no problem getting across in the evening, but it could be more difficult during the day.
2. You must rent a towel and robe separately ($10 CDN). Most of the people at the spa brought their own. They also do not have plastic sandals, so you either bring your own or go barefoot.
3. Many of the rooms at the hotel are tricked out as romantic "love nests" with differing individual decor, fireplaces, etc. and I'm sure are more expensive than what we paid. The hallways are also interesting with moody blue lighting to set the scene for romance.
4. The clientele at the spa were predominately young and mostly couples (we were there on a Monday evening--can't imagine what a weekend would be like :-)!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruhskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews