We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 americans and a brit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coire Glas Guest House
Ranked #16 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 americans and a brit”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Really lovely place to stay,location was perfect for us,and Ian and Gill made our stay memorable

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    56
    22
    17
    21
See reviews for
34
59
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

l stayed in Room 5 on the ground floor which was beautifully appointed and very clean and neat. The shower was very good and the bed gave me a great night's sleep. Jill and Ian made quite a fuss of me and suggested a perfect place to eat, The Old Station Restaurant, an excellent choice. Next morning, my breakfast was superbly cooked by Ian and promptly delivered; I had a full Scottish breakfast but could have chosen a wide range of options including smoked salmon as a light option. With regard to the service, our hosts could not have been more helpful or friendly. I am baffled by the occasional poor review here. Perhaps they stayed somewhere else?
Having experienced Jill and Ian's welcome in Spean Bridge I would not stay overnight anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBrown1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Our group of 8 walkers arrived at Gairorchy at 2:15pm, three quarters of an hour before our rooms were due to be ready. A phone call asking if our rooms were ready elicited a grumpy "you're early, I'm at lunch", however Ian did pick us up promptly BUT when we alighted from the car, whirlwind Gill started issuing orders in rapidfire succession...no boots inside, all outdoor clothing on hooks here, all boots to be lined up against the wall in a straight line. We barely had time for boot removal before we were on a very brisk tour of the house with rooms allocated right and left. Later I had occasion to make a private phone call, and used the lounge, as the area was quiet and unoccupied....Ian came through and very pointedly said no phones in the lounge (I had missed the notice) so it was outside for the remainder of the call. Our room was small and pokey, others in the group fared better. To be fair, Gill offered to cold wash and dry any clothes we cared to put out, and then upended them in a pile in the lounge while we were having a briefing for the following day....so we all diived for our knickers and socks! Breakfast was unremarkable but adequate.The garden was pleasant, we enjoyed sititing in the sun after our walk. We would not return nor recommend this establishment due to the unfortunate attitudes of the owneers

Room Tip: Upstairs and front rooms are larger and sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ozwalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Spean Bridge hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Coire Glas was our worst nightmare during our West Highland Way and Great Glen Way walk. Gill and Ian were rude and from the minute we arrived, we were made to feel most unwelcome. Please do not judge Spean Bridge by this couple. Every other place we stayed we were welcomed and made to feel at home, here we were made to feel like naughty children and a burden to them. Don't dare to arrive wet or Gill will expect you to take ALL your clothes off in the entry and she will deal with your personal belongings in any way she sees fit, even throw them in the rubbish. We were lucky, Gill tried to make money out of Contours and rebooked 2 of our group into much cheaper accomodation to make extra profit. Fortunately for us, we were glad to leave and go elsewhere where we were welcomed with open arms. I strongly recommend Mahaar as a wonderful B & B whilst staying in Spean Bridge.

Room Tip: Check to see if you have a bad bed or dark room prior to completing booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Summergirls1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was the worst stay we had whilst walking the Great Glen Way. On arriving, Gill made us feel so unwelcome with all her rules and regulations. Not a good first impression at all. If your a vegetarian then this place will not cater for you at breakfast unless you like runny scrambled eggs. I certainly wouldnt stay here again. Bad hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ultrabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
9.4 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
0.6 km away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
298 reviews
2.3 km away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Distant Hills Guest House
Distant Hills Guest House
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
316 reviews
5.1 km away
Homagen
Homagen
#2 of 4 in Roybridge
71 reviews
0.6 km away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coire Glas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coire Glas Guest House

Property: Coire Glas Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Coire Glas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon and Morven Hardiman are the new owners of Coire Glas Guest house and will greet you with a warm welcome. The Guest House has quiet rooms with a large lounge area for relaxation, includes TV in part of the seating area. Full cooked or Continental breakfast is included in your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Coire Glas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing