We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great value for money!”

Mahaar Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spean Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mahaar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The Mahaar is a cosy B&B with a warm welcome. We stayed there while walking The Great Glen Way, and even though Spean Bridge is about 6 km off route, it was easy to organise transport with the owner from and to Gairlochy, where we stopped after day 1.

Our group of three stayed in a family room, and found the beds and the room clean and pleasant. The rooms are not en suite, but the communal bathrooms were clean. the owner had plenty of information about the village and about places to eat. The Scottish breakfast was good, also for vegetarians. You can also buy sandwiches or packed lunches.

The prices are very reasonable and you get great value for money. The best thing about the Mahaar, though, is the warm welcome!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarionF999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

My mom and I came into town late and were recommended this B&B at a local cafe. The owner welcomed us in. The place is nicely set up and very clean. The owner friendly and knowledgeable about local area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jonquille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Really friendly host with lots of local knowledge. He has a selection of menus from local restaurants for all budgets and booked us a table.

The room was clean and comfortable. The company that booked for us said that the room was ensuite which it wasn't, but there are multiple bathrooms and we never had to wait for one.

I wouldn't normally book a non ensuite room but out of 6 nights at various b&bs this was one of our favourites. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

We were walking the Great Glen Way and the host picked us up and dropped us off the next morning. He was happy to stop for photographs and to explain a monument on the way.

Great Scottish breakfast too!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Just returned from a wonderful two day stay at The Mahaar. Alan was welcoming from the moment we arrived and went over and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Every room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was just delicious. Best haggis and black pudding we have ever had. The host really cares about his guests and was so helpful about the local area. He packed us off for our Ben Nevis climb with lots of tips and a yummy packed lunch which we enjoyed on our way down. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NatMor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed one night as a couple of days biking in Fort William.

Alan ( Owner) was very friendly, extremely helpful and very accommodating. I had came back quite late from biking and the owner took it upon himself to phone a local hotel as I came in the door to book a table for me. Rooms have all you need with tea and coffee available, Tv and Wifi also available. Note as other reviews state bathrooms are shared but this was of little problem to me as I was travelling on my own. As the B and B offers very competitive prices and value for money I had no issue with this what so ever.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
0 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
972 reviews
0 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
0 km away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#11 of 23 in Spean Bridge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Spean Bridge Hotel
Spean Bridge Hotel
#23 of 23 in Spean Bridge
179 reviews
0 km away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
0 km away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaar Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: €43 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing