We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B experience”
Review of Spean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Spean Lodge for three nights in late October. It was a fantastic experience and we will definitely visit Glen and Suzanne (the hosts) again in the future.

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Glen. We were introduced to the house and our first impression was excellent. We felt at home right away and the experience just gets better through our stay.

In the morning, Suzanne cooks delicious breakfast that are made to order. We tried different dishes during our stay and they never disappoint.

As we arrived with no specific itinerary, Glen did not hesitate to share his knowledge of the area with us. The recommendations were brilliant and we seen so much more than we expected.

Every night, Glen prepared the fireplace at the hunters lodge / sitting room for us to warm up and have a drink or two before we settle for the night.

The room we stayed at was the family room with two double beds. The room is very cosy and well furnished, so much so we struggle to leave the room in the morning!

Thank you Glen and Suzanne, we hope to see you soon. :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank iwen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

A very warm welcome from Glen, delicious breakfast from Suzanne, recently refurbished en suite in our twin room, a roaring fire in a comfortable lounge plus a magical drying room. Located centrally, right next to the bridge with easy parking. A building of character and charm with some interesting history. WiFi/Broadband was generally fine but the best service was in the lounge. Good mobile signal also. Nothing was too much trouble and Glen deserves extra praise for the taking our soaking hiking gear and returning it dry in the morning. The food at Russell's (just over the bridge) was very good. The Stronlossit Inn in Roy Bridge was ok for a pint and quick burger, but we suggest you avoid the Spean Bridge Hotel at all costs. We didn't get to the Old Pines restaurant which is about a mile away. We hope you enjoy your stay at Spean Lodge as much as we did. Andy and Heather Jones

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HeatherAndy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

A lot has been said in previous comments to describe Spean Lodge, so no need to more or less repeat it all. Unfortunately, we stayed for only one night, but hope to be back one day. It simply makes you feel good to be there, and you just don’t wanna leave. So our advice to anyone thinking about going there – reserve some extra time for Spean Lodge, because you can’t get enough of this wonderful country house and fabulous hospitality. It’s a special place on earth!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suedstern3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with Glen and Sue for one night. It was a very comfortable stay. The hospitality was welcoming and warm. Our room was spot on and we both admired the decor within the entire house. Glen recommended a lovely restaurant for our evening meal. Both of us would recommend Spean Lodge, we were sorry we weren't staying for 2 nights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianCarton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Only stayed here one night, which was a unfortunate for us, we should have stayed longer! We were graciously welcomed by Glen, who spent a wonderful hour with us, giving us a tour, talking about the house and its history, and asking about us and our lives. He welcomed us as old friends, not guests! We stayed in the original nursery, which like the rest of the Lodge, was charming and comfortable. I spent a wonderful hour just looking through the historical documents and pictures in the lounge, before having the most wonderful home-cooked breakfast!
Kudos to Glen and Suzanne who have created an oasis of grace in today's world of "McHotels". I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: any room would be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathygarver14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
9.9 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
965 reviews
11.7 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
9.7 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 9 in Kinlochleven
445 reviews
0.1 km away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
1.9 km away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Address: Spean Lodge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: €110 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing