We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
361
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kippers river house furnished with antiques upstairs sitting room beautiful period house whiskey cake wonderful hosts his wife breakfast was delicious steeped in history wealth of information warm hospitality stayed in the family room dinner reservations fresh fruit comfortable accommodation bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

A very warm welcome from Glen, delicious breakfast from Suzanne, recently refurbished en suite in our twin room, a roaring fire in a comfortable lounge plus a magical drying room. Located centrally, right next to the bridge with easy parking. A building of character and charm with some interesting history. WiFi/Broadband was generally fine but the best service was in the lounge. Good mobile signal also. Nothing was too much trouble and Glen deserves extra praise for the taking our soaking hiking gear and returning it dry in the morning. The food at Russell's (just over the bridge) was very good. The Stronlossit Inn in Roy Bridge was ok for a pint and quick burger, but we suggest you avoid the Spean Bridge Hotel at all costs. We didn't get to the Old Pines restaurant which is about a mile away. We hope you enjoy your stay at Spean Lodge as much as we did. Andy and Heather Jones

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HeatherAndy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

A lot has been said in previous comments to describe Spean Lodge, so no need to more or less repeat it all. Unfortunately, we stayed for only one night, but hope to be back one day. It simply makes you feel good to be there, and you just don’t wanna leave. So our advice to anyone thinking about going there – reserve some extra time for Spean Lodge, because you can’t get enough of this wonderful country house and fabulous hospitality. It’s a special place on earth!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suedstern3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with Glen and Sue for one night. It was a very comfortable stay. The hospitality was welcoming and warm. Our room was spot on and we both admired the decor within the entire house. Glen recommended a lovely restaurant for our evening meal. Both of us would recommend Spean Lodge, we were sorry we weren't staying for 2 nights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianCarton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Only stayed here one night, which was a unfortunate for us, we should have stayed longer! We were graciously welcomed by Glen, who spent a wonderful hour with us, giving us a tour, talking about the house and its history, and asking about us and our lives. He welcomed us as old friends, not guests! We stayed in the original nursery, which like the rest of the Lodge, was charming and comfortable. I spent a wonderful hour just looking through the historical documents and pictures in the lounge, before having the most wonderful home-cooked breakfast!
Kudos to Glen and Suzanne who have created an oasis of grace in today's world of "McHotels". I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: any room would be perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathygarver14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Only stayed one night wish we could of stayed more, an excellent B and B set in a lovely location,in its own grounds and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.
Would recommend to family and friends, and if ever in the area again would definitely try and stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr/S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews