We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated lodge”
Review of Spean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

From the moment we arrived at Spean Lodge, Glenn and Suzanne were very welcoming. Suzanne made delicious breakfasts- smoked salmon with eggs, kipper, toast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea. Glenn drove my husband and me to a hiking path several miles away from the lodge. This trip included stopping at a memorial for fallen soldiers and unbeknownst to all of us, their was a ceremony with men in kilts and two bagpipe players. The lodge itself was beautifully decorated with antiques, yet it was comfortable to sit in the upstairs sitting room and listen to the eclectic selection from their CD collection, or browse through their British gardening and lifestyle magazines. In addition, the grounds were out of this world- rolling hills of green grass, trees and flowers. On our final day, Glenn even ferried our suitcases to the train station so we could go on a last hike without feeling encumbered. All in all, a highlight of our Scotland trip!

Room Tip: We chose the smaller room and our traveling companions chose the bigger room. We were both quite sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank emyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We recently spent two nights here and wished we had had another night or two. The lodge is a character filled manor set in beautiful gardens.
Hosts Suzanne and Glen were most welcoming. Suzanne cooked a delicious breakfast and Glen had plenty of very useful tips and insights so as to make the most of our time in the area.
Each evening we enjoyed a quiet read in the upstairs lounge room. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in this excellent B&B which is a beautiful old house with lovely gardens. Owners were amazing- great attention to detail. Breakfast was excellent. Comes highly recommended if in the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

“Exceeded expectations ( what more can u ask?)”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2017
Lovely 1 night stay on walking holiday with Macs adventure tours.
Very clean, beautiful gardens, good room, but magnificent guest lounge, full of interesting artefacts, good sound system,comfortable couches,books ect.
10/10 for breakfast, anything on the menu, no trouble to these guys.
Just to put the icing on the haggis(perhaps not) Glen drove me free of charge( he did not look like he wanted a tip) to my next walking start and bid me a fond farewell.
Real professional,good luck to them!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank demonsAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night at Spean Lodge while walking the Great Glen Way . A beautiful house with great furnishings. Such attention to detail , like locally made toiletries and most breakfast items sourced from nearby ,including the wonderful kippers .Hosts very friendly and welcoming , thoroughly recommended

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
9.9 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
965 reviews
11.7 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
9.7 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 9 in Kinlochleven
444 reviews
0.1 km away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
1.9 km away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Address: Spean Lodge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: €109 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing