We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
135
17
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
17
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning local knowledge breakfast was cooked fresh dvd player jubilee bridge black pudding friendly hosts lovely breakfast great accommodation rose cottage central location a lovely place to stay just returned from a night stay lovely family excellent room lovely couple tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

I have only rated this Guest House 5 because the system wouldn't let me rate it higher. Visited Matlock Bath with my Husband for our Wedding Anniversary and my Birthday, stayed at the Ashdale Guest House 18-20 May 2018 what a fabulous place. Stayed in Room 3, best room we've ever stayed in with the comfiest bed. Breakfast on both mornings was superb, you can select what you want from a list of items the day before and the time you would like it. The property is in a great location for all the local attractions and the hosts could not be more friendly or knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie1963B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDysonsMatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you both for this lovely review, we are glad that we helped make your celebrations so good and you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Stanage is a lovely room to sit in and watch the life outside passing by. Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here and wished we could've stayed longer than the 2 nights. The breakfast was superb...the best we've had in a long time. Paula & Shaun were the perfect hosts, too...nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area (which is beautiful). I was sad to leave, we really felt looked after!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDysonsMatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments and great review, it was a pleasure having you both stay with us.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night over bank holiday weekend. Stayed in room number 1 which overlooks the garden . Traffic noise is a little noticeable so may be quite loud if you have a room on the front. Lovely room with en suite bathroom. Shower is compact and the sink is in the bedroom itself which is obviously a sign the bathroom is a new addition. Very comfy bed and lots of toiletries provided.

Location is perfect as right in the centre of Matlock Bath. Small car park at front so that was very convenient. The main reason I would return is the owners. Nothing was too much trouble and they recommended an excellent curry house. Breakfast was superb.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank duncann510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDysonsMatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ashdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Booked 1 nights stay at the last minute over the Easter weekend, so we took a chance without reading any reviews and what a Gem of guest house this was,the owners Paula and Sean are really nice people and make you feel welcome and relaxed from the minute you meet them. The rooms are huge with tasteful decor and extremely comfortable beds, Paula does a fantastic breakfast in the morning and let us into her secret on how to do the perfect poached eggs, the place is spotlessly clean and in a fantastic location in the centre of Matlock Bath promenade with parking which is another bonus, This Gem has everything, Great hosts, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast and a central location,
Thanks Paula and Sean for a great stay, we will definitely be returning (If we can get in)
Paul and Wendy from Diggle, Oldham

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDysonsMatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

It was lovely meeting you both, thank you very much for the fantastic review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope you had a successful shopping trip !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

It was the first time we visited and we were delighted with the friendly owners, the charming and comfortable rooms and the fantastic location. The breakfast was generous and very tasty and all at a very affordable price. We’ll definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CMH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDysonsMatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thanks for the great review and recommendation. It was lovely having you stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews