We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Misafir Evi(Kayakoy)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Han Camping(Kayakoy)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Levissi Han(Kayakoy)
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Daffodil(Fethiye)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kayi Villas(Kayakoy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
184
15
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkeywonderful hostsnothing is too much troublemany timespersonal servicemueslilycian wayhis wiferooms are cleanreasonable costsuperb dinnerworld travelsfresh local fruita fantastic place to staythe food is greathired a caran amazing cook
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have been two years in a row and cannot fault this villa and its wonderful hosts. If you are the type who likes high tech, fancy rooms and movies to rent, all inclusive etc etc then this is not for you. If like me you look forward to losing all the complications of modern life and to enjoying the natural world, good food, great hospitality and a better class of visitor (not tourist) then this is the place. The villa is a simple "pension" style accommodation with perfectly comfortable no frills rooms with fantastic views of the surrounding hills and countryside, including the ghost town. It is set in an idyllic private walled garden and has a pool, enough loungers for all a shady area for reading, a help yourself bar and is totally surrounded by silence apart form the occasional donkey braying or cock crowing. Days are spent walking, reading by the pool, chatting to the highly affable hosts, sipping tea or having a chat and glass of wine with your fellow guests. You can be solo or join in and be sociable as you want - the owner has a great knack of knowing when to mingle guests and when not. There is a sweet beach a 15 minute drive away and a "dolmush" bus stop right outside the gate to the villa which can take you to any neighbouring locations so if you do need bars and shops you can do that. The best thing is the complete idyllic surroundings and absolute unspoiled local village and the fact that the tatooed brigade of sun reading tourists has not found the area and ruined it yet. Did I mention the food is amazing? A great combination of local plus European influences from Jeanne. Atilla is the perfect host and has a naughty sense of humour but captures the hearts of all who stay. I can't say enough nice things but confirm I plan to go back again this year.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony facing the hills.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the Villa Rhapsody July 2011 and had a wonderful holiday. I think Jeanne and Attila must enjoy running their beautiful Villa or they wouldn't be so good at it. Nothing was too much trouble: advice, information, tea, cake, small pieces of paper with "I cannot eat anything made from dairy" written on it in Turkish (at least I hope that's what it said). It was a real home from home but without the cooking or cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolinela_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Picked Rhapsody out on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and even before arriving it did not disappoint! Jeanne was outstandingly helpful in advising us, by email, where we and two of our grown up children should go on a road trip to see other parts of Turkey in the middle of our stay - by the time we arrived we felt we knew Jeanne and Attila already!

The pair of them were incredibly wecoming hosts, always helpful with suggestions and advice on where to go and what to do, without in any way being intrusive - they really helped us make the most of our trip. Rhapsody has a relaxed, sociable atmosphere - you have a choice to dine in ( around the pool if fine, which it always was) and having chosen to do that on our first night we never chose to dine anywhere else - Jeanne's cooking is really special and the attentive and friendly staff seem more like family. Excellent breakfasts with an unusually large choice made to order as well as delicious dinners.

The pool is in a lovely garden which in turn is in a lovely setting - you can see the surrounding hills while swimming or dining. Kayakoy itself is a fascinating place to walk round - a largeish village with a ruined town next to it and possibilties to walk around the valley or over the hill to Olu Deniz. The coast nearby is great : Gemila beach is easily reachable by dolmus and St Nicholas Island is one of the loveliest places on a lovely stretch of coast.

We had three rooms - not palatial, as others have said, but clean and comfortable, beds made every day and all with balconies and absolutely fine - you really do not spend much time in them when you can relax in the spacious, well tended grounds.

A place with a warm, generous welcome, to which we will return!

.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I'll start by saying it was love at first sight. After the drive from Dalaman airport, Villa Rhapsody was a wonderful sight for sore eyes and the cup of tea and cake served by the pool was very welcome.
The rooms are not palatial and the bathroom is not marble but the beds are certainly large enough and comfortable and we had hot water whenever we needed it in the shower, even when the village power was out (a planned outage) and during the storms.
Jeanne and Atilla were incredibly helpful while we were staying, with suggestions and directions for walks and advice on using the dalmuses to get around. It was lovely not having a car, even when we got caught in torrential rain and hail.
We had researched restaurants before going and arrived with plans to eat out most of the time, but the food that Jeanne prepared was so good and such good value that our plan collapsed and we ate dinner at the Villa, either outside by the pool or, when storms were raging, in the dining room. Breakfasts were also excellent, from the Turkish breakfast to the egg and bacon, via the fruit and yoghurt. (not all on one day I hasten to add).
So, lovely walks, lovely countryside, very relaxing and great food. And fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Let me start by saying that Villa Rhapsody was not love at first sight, but ended up being one of our favorite hotels in Turkey. We arrived late at night and Attila and Jeanne were busy entertaining a reunion group of guests who had been coming to the Villa for more than 20 years (which was our first clue how great it was!). So we got a bit of a brusque greeting. And, since we had just come from a pretty luxe hotel in Sirince, the rooms at Villa Rhapsody were a bit of a letdown. They are small and simply furnished - think freshman dorm - and the hot water is pretty inconsistent. HOWEVER, I feel this is all a moot point, because it did not take us long to fall in love with our delightful hosts, beautiful grounds, and relaxing atmosphere of this idyllic hideaway!

The garden and pool of Villa Rhapsody is gorgeous and relaxing and a lovely place to gather for breakfast or with a book to relax. (Although we did spend lots of time trying to keep our toddler from falling in the pool!) There's an outdoor bar and a social atmosphere in the evenings. The breakfast is hot and delicious, and we ordered dinner one night, too, which was also fabulous. But what really makes Villa Rhapsody special is the family who runs it - Attila, Jeanne, and Lara welcome you into their home and make you feel like you're visiting family. Their advice was spot on and the whole atmosphere is one of tranquility.

It is an easy stroll into the tiny town of Kayakoy, which mainly consists of restaurants, the site of Kayakoy itself, and a couple of convenience stores. We had a car, but the dolmus to the beaches or Fethiye seemed to run pretty frequently and it was used by all of the other guests. Laundry is available on site.

You can easily understand why many visitors seem to return over and over again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarrieDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaRhapsody, Owner at Villa Rhapsody, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you very much for your review! We are always happy to receive feedback on Tripadvisor, it is good to hear the opinion from our guests about the way we work and how we run the business.
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed the short time you stayed with us, and we were very pleased to have met you.
For the readers that do not know us and might get the wrong impression so for them İ like to use the opportunity to make a few things clear.
First of all, yes, we are a pension, the prices are according to that. So we should not be compared with a 5 star hotel. This is the choice my husband made 25 years ago when he was building his business according to the very strict building restrictions from the local government.
And İ share that filosophy fully, in my opinion everybody should be able to come and stay with us, on a budget or not.
And we do not wish to create a great contrast with the locals, people who really live their lives with the most basic standards.

Secondly, there is all year through hot water available. İn the summer there is always plenty because of the solar panels which you see mainly along the coast in Turkey. They are sufficient to have very hot water all the time, nevertheless they are always supported with electric heaters to be sure there will be no disappointment for anybody. The only possiblility is that if the water is not circulating already through the house you might have to wait a little bit for the hot water to reach your room because the tanks are behind the house and the water needs to travel just a little bit before it reaches the rooms.

Thank you very much for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews