We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dun Ard(Dungarvan)
US$123
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Killineen House(Dungarvan)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Ashley Guesthouse(Dungarvan)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Gold Coast Golf Resort(Dungarvan)(Great Value!)
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crew Apartments(Dungarvan)
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
142
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinteresting historylovely homeown gardenoverlooking the rivermemorable stayguest loungesurrounding gardensshort walk from the town centreowner brianlovely conservatoryfamily historyhighly recommend this b bten minute walkfresh berriesperfect place to staysoda breadwealth of information
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at Cairbre House two years ago and again this year what a lovely house, fantastic breakfast and a very enjoyable host Brian. Cannot recommend this enough if you enjoy quaint and homely feeling you must visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The Cairbre House turned out to be not in the city of Waterford, but a 20 min. drive west from it, in the town of Dungarvan. We were initially very annoyed to learn that I had made an error since we had to backtrack. Thus, it was a special surprise to find such a beautiful home awaiting us. The house is old but very well maintained. Spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and various details that made it comfortable. We had a charming twin bedded room. Bathrm quite small but adequate.

The host, longtime owner of the property Brian Wickham, was helpful and most pleasant. His full breakfast was delicious, served in a lovely breakfast room. We were charmed by the family's collection of renowned potter Stephen Pearce's tableware and other pieces of art - and the photos around the house of Brian's family. The garden was not in bloom yet, but we were treated to the tidal coming and going of the river alongside the house. His website and pictures are excellent. This is a great hub location for a few days touring in the region. And there is a pub, Davitt's, nearby for good grub and a destination restaurant "The Tannery" which we enjoyed as well. All in all, Cairbre (pronounced CARbree by locals) deserves the many accolades it has been given!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Brian was very welcoming, the house had wonderful gardens to peruse. He prepared an excellent full Irish breakfast with frest herbs from the garden. The B&B was about a 15 minute walk to town. Dungarvan was a nice stopping point between Waterford and Cork. Merry's pub was a little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JStentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We were tired. We saw the signpost for Cairbre B&B as we were driving and impulsively turned down the street. I saw the house and, joking with my husband, said "oh please please please be it", knowing it probably wasn't. When we realized that this incredibly beautiful manor house WAS the B&B, I thought I'd gone to heaven. And that was before we saw the inside! The room we stayed in had the prettiest little window seat where I remained ensconced for the rest of the evening!

Brian was the most amazing host! Incredibly knowledgeable about the area, friendly, and welcoming. He sat us down with a cup of tea and cookies and provided us with maps of the area, pointing out restaurants, pubs and shopping in the area.

And breakfast? Wow! Delicious does not even start to cover it! Fresh items harvested from the garden that morning, fresh made Irish bread and wonderful company.

And add wireless Internet to all of this? Who could ask for more?

I'm trying to figure out how to plan my next vacation in Ireland around staying at Cairbre! We WILL be back! Save us a room Brian!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Brian's Cairbre House is a one-of-a-kind Inn within a great town. Brian's greeting at check-in is genuine and his care for your experience not only at his Inn but within the town of Dungarven is sincere. The Cairbre House is historic and full or character, the house was built almost 200 years ago, and it has been an Inn for almost 100 years.

After checking in, and getting settled; Brian had us downstairs for tea and biscuits, and then shared with us the menus and pro's and con's of each of the town's restaurants. I stayed at 3 different Inn's and a five star hotel during my ten days in Ireland; and never received this level of service.

Brian's breakfast was by far the best I had during my trip. He gathers his herbs and tomatoes from his garden and his food was fantastic.

We thought of Dungarven for we wanted to visit the Waterford Crystal Factory in nearby Waterford. However, that is a complete waste of time. The crystal is no longer even made there, and they stopped the tours. But, I am glad we planned as we did, or we would not have found the Cairbre House and Dungarven. Great place, great stay, and a great host!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nware1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews