We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
144
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting history own garden lovely home overlooking the river memorable stay surrounding gardens soda breads owner brian lovely conservatory guest lounge family history short walk to the town wealth of information few minutes walk away superb location breakfast was delicious irish hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This guest house is wonderful. Brian greeted us and gave us coffee and biscuits.He brought a map of the town and marked all the restaurants and gave us an idea of the type of food they offere.He has menus for all the restaurants which you may take to your room to look through.There are lots of leaflets and info in the rooms and also in the main hallway.The rooms are very clean and well equiped.The beds and pillows were wonderful. I had the best nights sleep I have had for ages.There is a lovely conservatory and balcony overlooking the river . The guest can use this. Brain offered wine glasses ice and lemon if needed.There is a selection of breakfast menus. All the foods you get on a good buffet and more. Lovely fresh fruit and the soda bread was wonderful. The irish breakfast was lovely good quality food well cooked and beautifully presented. So pleased we stayed there. If you book do it direct with Brian I did it online and it goes through an agent and the price is higher.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathjohnson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We loved this place. We stopped over on the way to and from Baltimore. Brian was extremely attentive, but did not intrude. He was very friendly and helpful and leads walking groups for those that way inclined. As other guests have said he gave us a good run down on the local restaurants and we too chose Quealeys. We liked the food so much we decided to go back on the reurn journey, but it was a Saturday and you need to book. We went to the Traditional Itallian, big let down.

Dungarvan isn't a big place, but has a good selection of restaurants and bars etc. I would recommend this as a place to have a holiday, but certainly a good place to stop over.

Cairbre House is old fashioned, but clean and charming. You feel like you are staying in a favourite older relative's house. Breakfast was just superb and we had a good selection of breakfasts to choose from. We felt very much at home and would not hesitate in going back. Brian also has WI FI for those who can't leave it all behind.

if you have a dog Brian gave us the number of Sleady Kennels. It is run by an English lady, Justine, who, although nicely bonkers, was very attentive. Her facilities are very new and extremely clean. The dogs get a good run out each day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road811157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We spent two nights at Cairbre House. We originally booked as we were traveling from Dingle to Dublin and figured this would be a good stop. We also wanted to tour Waterford factory. Alas, Waterford is on the brink of bankruptcy and has moved all its operations to Poland and Germany. So we used Dungarvan as a base to visit Cashel and Kilkenn

Cairbre is a family owned property, having been in the hands of Brian's wife's family for close to 200 years. The exterior of the house is quite impressive but we arrived on a terribly rainy night and the interior was a tad musty. Brian lit a fire in the parlor and that seemed to help.

Our bedroom had everything we would need, including a VERY comfortable bed. The bathroom, however, reminded me of a Maine camp. But for two nights it was sufficient. The highlight of Cairbre is the sunroom and on the second day, bright sunshine finally broke the mid-summer winterlike spell and it was truly heaven to sit there with a good book and just gaze at the river. Additionally, Brian keeps BEAUTIFUL gardens - he is truly devoted to his property.

Breakfast was quite sumptious, with the best smoked salmon I had in Ireland. But the presentation was a bit below the standards of our previous two b&b's.

Upon arrival, Brian presented us with a stack of menus and offered us a complete run down of dining options in Dungarvan. WE chose Queedys but then couldn't find it so decided upon Merry's. Merry's is run by a lovely woman who hails originally from Ireland but spent time stateside. We enjoyed dinner so much that we returned the second night as well.

Truthfully, if I had it do over, I'd skip Dungarvan and spend the additional nights in Kenmare, then head directly to Dublin. But no matter, don't skip Ireland as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Fantastic B&B, Brian, the owner, has the magic- many B&Bs could learn a lot from him. I stayed in another B&B the week before, it cost €10 less but the difference was enormous.
If you are looking for comfort, tranditional Irish experience (without the diddly idelly doo) then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Cairbre House, Abbeyside, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Southern Ireland
Reviewer: Teacher from The Cotswolds, UK
April 23rd 2009

We have visited Southern Ireland for a week, each year for the past 20 years. Cairbre House run by Brian Wickham, is the VERY best place/home we have EVER stayed in. It is warming, cosy, homely, spacious & fascinating & we have travelled the world.

Our host was very accommodating, the rooms very spacious & the food & it's presentation - second to none !

It is on the water, overlooking the river & set in it's own grounds. Nothing was too much trouble - I could not pick up the WiFi on my laptop, so Brian came to the rescue. We had a guest lounge with digital tv & made to feel very much at home - especially when he gave my husband the remote control !

Sadly we could not stay for all the 4 nights of our trip as 2 of them had been taken prior to our booking. We had to move a mile up the road to somewhere that, quite frankly, looked liked it had been robbed !

We missed Brian's homely decor, guest lounge, tablecloths, nice irish breakfast with flowers & herbs from the garden adorning the plate.............. we will be back !
[--]

Thank Wherenext222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews