We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
144
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting history lovely home own garden overlooking the river memorable stay guest lounge surrounding gardens short walk from the town centre owner brian lovely conservatory family history perfect place to stay wealth of information few minutes walk away superb location breakfast was delicious irish hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We only stayed one evening in this lovely historic B&B. Brian is a gracious and knowledgeable host. He shared the history of the B&B and the grounds and it's worthwhile to note that he grows a number of ingredients for his lovely breakfasts. He recommended a place for dinner which was excellent as well. Thank you for a memorable visit to Dungarvan!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Last week, we have stayed four nights in this B&B. We really loved this home. Is was beautifully located in a bay of Colligan River. The garden was very nice, even late september. The mattress and pillows were perfect, so we have slept very well.. The breakfast was sublime. Brian was a nice host. His suggestion to go to the pub Meannie's Monday night was a direct hit. In this pub, there was a trad music night, where many of the elderly people of Dungarvan have sung a traditional song.
If you' re at Cairbre house (or in Dungarvan), don't forget to watch at "The surfing seal" (and this is no popband) !

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We only stayed one night at Cairbre House but I would stay again - Brian was very friendly and had lots of information about Dungarvan & surrounding areas. The room was very big and had a lovely view, and breakfast was absolutely fantastic. So beautifully presented and everything was so fresh (with lots from the garden). It was a nice ten minute walk into the center of Dungarvan and the house was really easy to find (you can see it from the main road).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Brian, the owner of Cairbre House B&B, is, we are sure, the reason this fantastic B&B was the best place we stayed in our 2 week visit to Ireland. The grounds are absolutely fantastic, full of plants that you will probably never see all in one place again, yet Brian has created an amazing garden within this unique micro-climate.
While the gardens are amazing,the house, which has been in Brian's family for over 100 years is also amazing. Many antiques yet with modern conveneiences go to make an ultra comfortable stay. Then there is the breakfast, a gastronomic delight added to by the edible plants and flowers from the garden. A delight for the eyes and an even bigger delight for the palate. An amazing stay right on the river and within close proximity of many of the areas attractions

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The Cairbre House is a charming B and B located on the Estuary in Dungarven, Ireland. The host, Brian, is extremely accommodating, a gifted cook AND gardner. His breakfast creations are delicious, made with fresh ingredients and garnished with fresh flowers. We enjoyed several different outside areas for viewing the estuary and its wildlife. The 2nd floor room and en suite were clean and roomy, perfectly adequate, although not luxurious. We would enjoy a return visit to Cairbre House and Brian.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank granbee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews