We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
144
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting history lovely home own garden overlooking the river memorable stay guest lounge surrounding gardens short walk from the town centre owner brian lovely conservatory family history perfect place to stay wealth of information few minutes walk away superb location breakfast was delicious irish hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We only stayed one night at Cairbre House but I would stay again - Brian was very friendly and had lots of information about Dungarvan & surrounding areas. The room was very big and had a lovely view, and breakfast was absolutely fantastic. So beautifully presented and everything was so fresh (with lots from the garden). It was a nice ten minute walk into the center of Dungarvan and the house was really easy to find (you can see it from the main road).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Brian, the owner of Cairbre House B&B, is, we are sure, the reason this fantastic B&B was the best place we stayed in our 2 week visit to Ireland. The grounds are absolutely fantastic, full of plants that you will probably never see all in one place again, yet Brian has created an amazing garden within this unique micro-climate.
While the gardens are amazing,the house, which has been in Brian's family for over 100 years is also amazing. Many antiques yet with modern conveneiences go to make an ultra comfortable stay. Then there is the breakfast, a gastronomic delight added to by the edible plants and flowers from the garden. A delight for the eyes and an even bigger delight for the palate. An amazing stay right on the river and within close proximity of many of the areas attractions

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The Cairbre House is a charming B and B located on the Estuary in Dungarven, Ireland. The host, Brian, is extremely accommodating, a gifted cook AND gardner. His breakfast creations are delicious, made with fresh ingredients and garnished with fresh flowers. We enjoyed several different outside areas for viewing the estuary and its wildlife. The 2nd floor room and en suite were clean and roomy, perfectly adequate, although not luxurious. We would enjoy a return visit to Cairbre House and Brian.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank granbee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Cairbre house for one night and would have loved to stay longer. A very warm and homely atmosphere.Brian is a great host and made us feel very welcome. A very proud owner of a truly beautiful old style Bed and Breakfast.
Lovely breakfast menu and food was delicious.Nicely presented and Katarina made sure we had a taste of the homemade bread and jam.Will definitely be back.

P & P Dublin

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Older style accommodation. Brian is a very good host. Brian and his helpers go the extra bit to prepare breakfast with fresh ingredients from his garden and decorated with flowers picked that morning.
Easy stroll to the town centre if you want some exercise. Interesting history to this house and Brian is willing to talk about.
This was our first stay in Ireland and the breakfast was the most memorable throughout our three weeks travel. Thanks Brian and his very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VAS150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews