We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Surprised”
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We spent two nights at Cairbre House. We originally booked as we were traveling from Dingle to Dublin and figured this would be a good stop. We also wanted to tour Waterford factory. Alas, Waterford is on the brink of bankruptcy and has moved all its operations to Poland and Germany. So we used Dungarvan as a base to visit Cashel and Kilkenn

Cairbre is a family owned property, having been in the hands of Brian's wife's family for close to 200 years. The exterior of the house is quite impressive but we arrived on a terribly rainy night and the interior was a tad musty. Brian lit a fire in the parlor and that seemed to help.

Our bedroom had everything we would need, including a VERY comfortable bed. The bathroom, however, reminded me of a Maine camp. But for two nights it was sufficient. The highlight of Cairbre is the sunroom and on the second day, bright sunshine finally broke the mid-summer winterlike spell and it was truly heaven to sit there with a good book and just gaze at the river. Additionally, Brian keeps BEAUTIFUL gardens - he is truly devoted to his property.

Breakfast was quite sumptious, with the best smoked salmon I had in Ireland. But the presentation was a bit below the standards of our previous two b&b's.

Upon arrival, Brian presented us with a stack of menus and offered us a complete run down of dining options in Dungarvan. WE chose Queedys but then couldn't find it so decided upon Merry's. Merry's is run by a lovely woman who hails originally from Ireland but spent time stateside. We enjoyed dinner so much that we returned the second night as well.

Truthfully, if I had it do over, I'd skip Dungarvan and spend the additional nights in Kenmare, then head directly to Dublin. But no matter, don't skip Ireland as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2009

Fantastic B&B, Brian, the owner, has the magic- many B&Bs could learn a lot from him. I stayed in another B&B the week before, it cost €10 less but the difference was enormous.
If you are looking for comfort, tranditional Irish experience (without the diddly idelly doo) then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Cairbre House, Abbeyside, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Southern Ireland
Reviewer: Teacher from The Cotswolds, UK
April 23rd 2009

We have visited Southern Ireland for a week, each year for the past 20 years. Cairbre House run by Brian Wickham, is the VERY best place/home we have EVER stayed in. It is warming, cosy, homely, spacious & fascinating & we have travelled the world.

Our host was very accommodating, the rooms very spacious & the food & it's presentation - second to none !

It is on the water, overlooking the river & set in it's own grounds. Nothing was too much trouble - I could not pick up the WiFi on my laptop, so Brian came to the rescue. We had a guest lounge with digital tv & made to feel very much at home - especially when he gave my husband the remote control !

Sadly we could not stay for all the 4 nights of our trip as 2 of them had been taken prior to our booking. We had to move a mile up the road to somewhere that, quite frankly, looked liked it had been robbed !

We missed Brian's homely decor, guest lounge, tablecloths, nice irish breakfast with flowers & herbs from the garden adorning the plate.............. we will be back !
[--]

Thank Wherenext222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Loverly old fashion B+B. Brian the owner made us very welcome with a nice cup of tea and biscuits on arrival. We would certanly recomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffyllanbradach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We have just returned home after a week trip in Ireland. One of our planned stops was that at Cairbre House in Dungarvan and that was a very good choice of my husband !

Upon arrival Brian (the host) welcomed us with tea,coffee and biscuits which we really were desperate for after a long drive from Dublin. The house is cosy and warm and our room had beautiful views over the bay besides being spacious and clean.

Brian helped us a lot with info on the area and things to see and do besides helping out in trying to trace my lost wedding ring which i presumably left at a previous hotel. If you are reading this Brian, thanks a real lot as I found the ring !

The breakfast is more than enough with a variety of cereals, jams, yoghurt, assortment of bread, cheese, croissant and a choice of mains for brekky. I opted for the salmon and it was just lovely with the touch of herbs picked up from Brian's garden.

To sum it all up, we highly recommend Cairbre House to all as it is a great place to stay at. We will be back and this time for at least 3 nights !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.4 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.9 km away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
346 reviews
0.9 km away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
0.9 km away
Tudor House
Tudor House
#11 of 16 in Dungarvan
32 reviews
0.9 km away
St Anthonys Guesthouse
St Anthonys Guesthouse
#10 of 16 in Dungarvan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cairbre House Dungarvan, County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing