We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
143
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinteresting historylovely homeown gardenoverlooking the rivermemorable stayguest loungesurrounding gardensshort walk from the town centreowner brianlovely conservatoryfresh berriesfamily historyperfect place to staysoda breadwealth of informationfew minutes walk awaysuperb location
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We booked the Cairbre House having read other reviews and we were not disappointed. The location was beautiful and a pleasant 15 minute walk into the town centre. Brian was a wonderful host who greeted us with genuine warmth. He immediately made a lovely pot of tea with biscuits and provided them whilst we sat in his gorgeous Rose Garden. The room was lovely and the views were terrific. The breakfast the following morning was out of this world in relation to quality and presentation, he had picked some of the herbs from his own garden that morning. We stayed in Ireland for a week and I wished I had more time at the Cairbre, it really is a lovely comfortable and clean place with a terrific host and the views made it so relaxing. There was also a range of restaurants and Pubs to chose from, we dined in Quealys and that was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Dungarvan! Brian was the first Irishman in Ireland we had chatted to at length and we learnt something about most Irishmen - they talk fast! But if you can listen fast you find out a lot about the area and your room and breakfast the next morning! (Irishmen walk fast too!) Brian was great and it was nice to have a cup of tea and a biscuit on our arrival in the sitting room. The breakfast the next morning was very tasty and the lovely pottery dinnerware was a nice touch, plus the homemade jams. It was great to be in an old house too! Our room was nice and comfy - big, we had the family room for two of us. It did not seem like the floor had been vacuumed before our arrival though. Everything else seemed clean. Great stay, house not out in the country like the picture on the website would make it seem. Short walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Cairbre house our first night in Ireland. Brian was wonderful. From the minute we walked in he was lovely and willing to assist us in any way he could. We had a lovely room and I must say the attention to detail was phenomenal. Everything was beautiful and purple! Brian assisted us in finding our way around the area and made suggestions for dinner, attractions, etc. The breakfast the next day was wonderful. Not your typical irish fare which was nice, with fresh herbs picked from his beautiful garden. I also liked that we had a bathroom in our room, and outside of the room was another beautiful bathroom with an enormous tub if one wished to take a nice bath. No other b&b compared to this one in our entire stay. Thank you Brian!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommygrlnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I just scanned the other reviews of Cairbre House and Brian, its proprietor, and everyone seems to say the same thing. Attention to detail. My friend and I were in the "purple" room, and everything was color-coordinated and lovely. Brian gave us a complete run-down of where to eat in town, and offered up his collection of menus for our perusal.
We both had the vegetarian breakfast (which Brian picked fresh herbs for), and it was just delicious!
The house is beautiful, the gardens are lovely, and the food was fabulous. Our only complaint was that the en suite bathroom was a bit small.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethy1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Our stay was so great, that we've booked the first few nights of our honeymoon there! Brian and Catherine were amazing, we'd never really stayed in Bed and Breakfasts before, but this was home from Home!!! I couldn't recommend this place highly enough! You'll absolutely love this lovely old house and the excellent breakfast and atmosphere and bonhommie!!!!!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews