We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another positive review”
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cairbre House
Ranked #2 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2008

What more is there to add to the preceding reviews? The location is fabulous, the gardens lovely, and Brian is a most welcoming host. He provides a wide range of breakfast dishes - not the usual Full Irish fry-up - including locally smoked salmon and an unusual tasty vegetarian option. The location must be idyllic in good weather and is a short walk from the town centre, where the Shamrock family restaurant serves good-value local dishes (and the others are all a bit pricey). Cairbre House has an interesting history - get Brian to tell you the details.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughJarres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2008

We booked the Cairbre House having read other reviews and we were not disappointed. The location was beautiful and a pleasant 15 minute walk into the town centre. Brian was a wonderful host who greeted us with genuine warmth. He immediately made a lovely pot of tea with biscuits and provided them whilst we sat in his gorgeous Rose Garden. The room was lovely and the views were terrific. The breakfast the following morning was out of this world in relation to quality and presentation, he had picked some of the herbs from his own garden that morning. We stayed in Ireland for a week and I wished I had more time at the Cairbre, it really is a lovely comfortable and clean place with a terrific host and the views made it so relaxing. There was also a range of restaurants and Pubs to chose from, we dined in Quealys and that was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Dungarvan! Brian was the first Irishman in Ireland we had chatted to at length and we learnt something about most Irishmen - they talk fast! But if you can listen fast you find out a lot about the area and your room and breakfast the next morning! (Irishmen walk fast too!) Brian was great and it was nice to have a cup of tea and a biscuit on our arrival in the sitting room. The breakfast the next morning was very tasty and the lovely pottery dinnerware was a nice touch, plus the homemade jams. It was great to be in an old house too! Our room was nice and comfy - big, we had the family room for two of us. It did not seem like the floor had been vacuumed before our arrival though. Everything else seemed clean. Great stay, house not out in the country like the picture on the website would make it seem. Short walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Cairbre house our first night in Ireland. Brian was wonderful. From the minute we walked in he was lovely and willing to assist us in any way he could. We had a lovely room and I must say the attention to detail was phenomenal. Everything was beautiful and purple! Brian assisted us in finding our way around the area and made suggestions for dinner, attractions, etc. The breakfast the next day was wonderful. Not your typical irish fare which was nice, with fresh herbs picked from his beautiful garden. I also liked that we had a bathroom in our room, and outside of the room was another beautiful bathroom with an enormous tub if one wished to take a nice bath. No other b&b compared to this one in our entire stay. Thank you Brian!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommygrlnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I just scanned the other reviews of Cairbre House and Brian, its proprietor, and everyone seems to say the same thing. Attention to detail. My friend and I were in the "purple" room, and everything was color-coordinated and lovely. Brian gave us a complete run-down of where to eat in town, and offered up his collection of menus for our perusal.
We both had the vegetarian breakfast (which Brian picked fresh herbs for), and it was just delicious!
The house is beautiful, the gardens are lovely, and the food was fabulous. Our only complaint was that the en suite bathroom was a bit small.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethy1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
0.4 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.9 km away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
346 reviews
0.9 km away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Comeragh View Bed & Breakfast
0.9 km away
Tudor House
Tudor House
#11 of 16 in Dungarvan
32 reviews
0.9 km away
St Anthonys Guesthouse
St Anthonys Guesthouse
#9 of 16 in Dungarvan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Carriglea House Old Hospital Road | Abbeyside, Strandside North, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819,this beautiful protected Georgian Period house is a multiple award 4*B&B. Award of Excellence Tripadvisor 5* Rating. Situated in a peaceful scenic setting with striking views, yet is located less than one km from the picturesque Dungarvan harbour and town centre with its excellent shops,hotels, restaurants, traditional music & entertainment. All rooms including the Guest Lounge & Breakfast Room are furnished and decorated in period style. Bedrooms are ensuite and in room facilities include TV, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities. Car park in house grounds. Cairbre House is renowned for its gourmet home cooked breakfasts. All dishes(incl vegitarian options) feature home grown garden & quality local produce. The Comeragh Mountains provide the perfect backdrop to the outstanding one acre waterfront gardens containing many rare & unusual plants. The conservatory/sunroom & balcony overlooking the Colligan River provides the oportunity to view the many wetland,seashore & wildlife close at hand. Dungarvan is an ideal location from which to visit the historic cities of Waterford,Cork,Kilkenny and the heritage towns of Lismore & Ardmore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cairbre House Dungarvan, County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing