We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dun Ard(Dungarvan)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$119
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$152
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killineen House(Dungarvan)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Ashley Guesthouse(Dungarvan)(Great Value!)
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Crew Apartments(Dungarvan)
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gortnadiha Lodge(Dungarvan)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
142
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinteresting historylovely homeown gardenoverlooking the rivermemorable stayguest loungesurrounding gardensshort walk from the town centreowner brianlovely conservatoryfamily historyhighly recommend this b bten minute walkfresh berriesperfect place to staysoda breadwealth of information
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Recently stayed at Cairbre House and loved it. A period house dating back to the early 1800's, it has been wonderfully maintained and a joy to stay in. Host, Brian Wickham has a wealth of knowledge about the area. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and breakfast is a treat. The views are spectacular and the gardens are tranquil with a vast array of flowers, shrubs and trees. The house is situated within a ten minute walk of the town. We only stayed one night but would recommend Cairbre House to anyone visiting Dungarvan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradmadcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

After a not so memorable stay in Dublin the Cairbre House was warm and welcoming. This nearly 200 year old home was easy to find and located on a tidal estuary on the North side of Dungarvan. Our host Brian made tea for us after we got settled, explained the local area and reviewed a number of locations and menus for dinner options. He was very cordial and outgoing, making you feel right at home. The room was large and comfortable and the ensuite bath was more than adequate for our needs. Guests has their own sitting room to use. There is a patio or solarium on the back of the house overlooking the water that makes an excellent spot to watch the sunset. Breakfast was an event, cooked expertly by Brian and using all fresh local products. Delicious! If you have the good fortune to stay at Cairbre House, don't miss Brian's garden; it is beautiful and the roses rival those in the gardens of the Powerscourt Estate. We only stayed one night, but would highly recommend this classic home to anyone traveling across Southern Ireland.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms were generous and comfortable. We seemed far enough away from the main highway that street noises were not an issue.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I had a wonderful two week adventure in Ireland with my parents in their 80s. The highlight of our trip was our stay at the Cairbre House in Dungarven. Brain was warm and welcoming and made our stay during the yearly gourmet food festival outstanding. He was kind and helpful and took great care of us.

I would recommend to everyone- especially families. It was a real treat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I cannot imagine why this B & B has so many recommendations. Yes, it is on a tidal lagoon. But on the other side of the lagoon is the main motorway into town, and it roars and thunders with traffic throughout the night. The house was an incoherent mess, and not very clean, and our room was just terrible. It was a twin-bedded room, so small that there was nowhere to put the suitcases, and the bathroom was a cubbyhole without a window. One of the beds stuck out halfway across the bathroom door, ensuring barked shins if you needed to get up in the night, and the carpeting was the sort that you feel sure has been chosen not to show the dirt. In fairness they did serve a good breakfast, with some of the much-vaunted fresh herbs from the garden on the scrambled eggs, but that was enough to compensate for the rest. Our host was not there when we arrived, and when he did pitch up we suspected he had been drinking. In short, we couldn't wait to leave. Avoid it.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is an excellent B&B in a lovely location beside the River Colligan. It is an interesting old house with a large garden. We chose Dungarvan as a stopover between Killarney and Rosslare and really enjoyed the short time we spent there. Brian is a most considerate host, and in the lounge there is a very good satellite TV with lots of channels! He also has a credit card facility which is unusual in B&Bs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews