We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Expectations ”
Review of I Tempi Antichi

I Tempi Antichi
Reserve with
Save up to 25% when you reserve online *
I Tempi Antichi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Torgiano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$35
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

In Italy we love a pasta lunch. Today was quiet in Torgiano, with hardly any tourists about. The tourist information shop suggested we try this restaurant for lunch so we did.
To be fair my wife was very happy with her dish of fettuccine with porcini mushrooms. Unfortunately my pasta was undercooked and came with fairly tasteless chopped tomatoes and nothing else. My glass of house white wine at €3.50 was very good but we were disappointed that no bread was offered despite having to pay a cover charge. All in all, wouldn’t be rushing back to this one.

Thank Johns1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived and wanted an outdoor table. There was one available but said we had to sit inside . No one ever sat at that table .
They did not acknowledge us for 20 Minutes after we sat down. Just when we were to leave they asked what we wanted. The pizza was very good. I was hoping for the local wine of town town but they offered wine from Todi. It was ok . The staff seemed not happy .

Thank Lisamarie14675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

For tourists & foreigners : I went to this restaurant a few weeks ago with a 50% discount that was available on the forks.com since I saw good feedbacks.

I didn't understand why this restaurant had so many good recommendations since I had a really bad experience from the moment we ordered the wine :

The owner took care of our table and was really rude, probably because we had such a discount, we were not so welcome. But if you don't want people to come with a discount, then just don't offer it!
When we asked for the wine, he didn't make us try even the wine he just opened it and left (leaving the wood pieces on the drink of my fiancé). I ordered a plate of traditional cheeses. They were all identical (cost less probably this way) and tasteless.(and trust me I know about cheeses!) I live in the region so I do know what is good umbrian food. Then when we finished barely our plates he come to take them without asking if he could. I never experienced such a bad & cold service in Italy so far.

Globally we didn't like the food, and I did understand that the couple next to us was also quite disappointed. So please be careful when you read reviews with this restaurant.

The only time the owner smiled to us was when we were going to pay, and to let him a good comment on social media. "you know what you have to do" right...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AurelyaNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio M, Proprietario at I Tempi Antichi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018
Google Translation

La sua recensione non rispecchia a realtà e credo anche che non ci sia mai stata, perchè lo sconto del 50% è in vigore da oggi 15/02/18 come da pubblicazione The Fork.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

I discovered this restaurant in Torgiano after visiting this town, The owner is very friendly and the meals are very good. Slow cooking food, very simple but full off taste! Products from the season, so all is fresh made.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keuter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I cannot say enough about I Tempi Antichi! I went three times during my week long visit to Umbria and had the most amazing food every time! The gigantic antipasto was SPECTACULAR! I thought I could eat the pasta with truffles and porcini every night, but then I had the PIZZA! The best I have had in a LONG TIME! The best part of this cozy, family style restaurant is the owners, Maurizio and Assunta and their sons and daughter in law. Everyone is so friendly it feels like you're eating at a friend's house--who happens to be a FABULOUS CHEF! Buon Appetito!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio M, Proprietario at I Tempi Antichi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017
Google Translation

Grazie Giulia è stato un grandissimo piacere anche per noi, siamo molto contenti che la nostra cucina sia stata di tuo gradimento.
Un saluto da tutti noi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I Tempi Antichi also viewed

Torgiano, Province of Perugia
Torgiano, Province of Perugia
 
Torgiano, Province of Perugia
Torgiano, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Bettona, Province of Perugia
 

Been to I Tempi Antichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing