We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
137
49
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
49
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningwalk upping pongtuscan countrysideapartmentflorencewine
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2016

we stayed 4 days, everything is even nicer than what you see in the photos! the gardens, the flowers, the views and the houses!
i highly recomend it.
we went with our two kids, that enjoyed the kids games and the swiming pool!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magdapera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

This property is absolutely stunning. Beautiful gardens and pool area. Excellent location and only a short drive to all the major Tuscan towns. Only a 15min walk to the town of Casole D'elsa. Staff are friendly, helpful and offer a bread delivery service on certain days. Great experience.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Good place for families and home base for exploring Tuscany. Staff was helpful with information. We stayed at the end of August. No A/C but no problem as evenings were cool enough. Beware GPS may lead you to another Casanova road nearby. The apartment was ok, it is an efficiency apartment. The rooms were good, the bathrooms were so so (no windows). We loved the property grounds and the pool (lots of fig trees nearby) , nice walk (uphill) into Casole d’Elsa. There is a restaurant walking distance (do not offer breakfast everyday and needs reservation for breakfast).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank May760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic two week stay at Borgo al Cerro. I was responsible for booking a large group of family and friends from Ireland, UK and France and we occupied 12 of the apartments for our first week and 10 for the second week.

I can say, without fail, that the feedback from all that stayed as part of our group of almost 70 people was all positive.

The staff were so welcoming, helpful and professional at all times. The property itself is beautifully maintained.

Myself and my family shared the large Montalcino apartment. There were two bedrooms downstairs and three upstairs and ample room for our combined group of 9 people.

The location of Borgo al Cerro is excellent, just a short steep walk from Casole d'Elsa which is a very nice and underestimated town, and a short drive from Colle di val d'Elsa, Monteriggioni, Certaldo, Volterra and San Gimignano. Florence and Siena are less than an hour away by road or by train from Poggibonsi station.

There is an excellent restaurant (Il Calandrino) right next to the property with a huge menu and very affordable prices for the quality of the food - a great option if you fancy sticking to base and having a beer or glass of wine some evening.

The pool is very large and a very welcome feature, especially in the temperatures we had - which were 35+ every day. We mapped a 40 minute walk to the village of Il Merlo where we enjoyed a caffe latte every morning before the heat set in for the day.

Altogether, a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely like to return to Borgo al Cerro in the coming years. We have stayed all over Tuscany over the past 20 years or so but this was unanimously the best location of the lot.

Room Tip: The apartment facing the pool namely Siena, Firenze, Pisa and Arezzo are the best...
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We stayed in the Volterra apartment during the first week in July 2015 and we had a wonderful time. The beds are clean and comfortable as was the rest of the apartment. The grounds were very well maintained and the pool was fantastic, just what we needed to cool down as the weather was very hot! We stayed here as part of a large group of people, although sadly we could only stay for the first week. The Borgo is very well situated for visiting all the popular places and the restaurant next door is lovely with very pleasant and accommodating staff, who coped admirably well when we all descended on them in a short space of time one evening (there were over 30 of us!!). The prices for the food are very reasonable and it does some of the best pizzas around!
We made good use of the bread ordering service, where if you order it by 7pm the previous evening it is delivered to your door by around 8.30am the next morning!!
Altogether we had a fabulous holiday and we would like to thank the staff at the Borgo for all their understanding and hard work.
One thing that could improve the apartment is an oven as you couldn't buy in pizzas and cook them yourself, however, on holiday I suppose you don't really want to be cooking much!
A wonderful time was had here by all and I definitely recommend staying here and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DebTowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews