We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porta Castellana
Nearby Hotels
Hotel dei Capitani(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Ragnaie(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Scalette di Piazza(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Locanda di Montisi(San Giovanni d'Asso)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il sogno del musicista(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$565
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo(Montalcino)
US$1,013
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,828
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$2,129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Podere Brizio(Montalcino)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
81
14
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
14
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanna lisapeaceful gardenone nightstayed here for three nightsmade us feel at homethe perfect hostevery morninghome away from homehostesspatiobrunellotuscanywalkabledirectionswineriessuggestionsgps
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We really liked this B&B. The location is quite hard to find, but for us it was perfect. It's quiet, yet within walking distance to the center. There is a lovely garden with a patio - perfect to sit after walking around Montalcino. The room was nice, with an old brick wall and a cute little wrought-iron table with matching chairs (charming, but not too comfortable to sit in ;-)). It was a little on the dark side, as it was situated on the ground floor, and the glass door functions as the entrance way. The bathroom was quite small, but as we only stayed one night, that was fine by us. The only drawback was the fact that the house is very noise-sensitive. When the family was moving in the rooms above ours, we could hear this quite loudely. Since they kept normal hours, however, it did not bother us a lot.
Porta Castellana becomes a truelly great place due to the host, Annalisa. She is extremely friendly and was very helpful. She lends great charme to the place - we can definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stimela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We just spent three nights in beautiful Porta Castellana. Annalisa made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. She gave us lots of helpful information regarding places in town and nearby. The room is very comfortable and extremely clean with a great view. Breakfast was served outside in the garden with a gorgeous view. Extremely relaxing. You can sit outside in the evening with a glass of wine and enjoy the scenery. Montalcino is a lovely town with lots of wineries nearby. If you are planning a visit to Tuscany make sure you go to Montalcino and stay at Porta Castellana. One day we will return and enjoy it as much as we did on our first visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontalcinoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at this B&B and we had such a lovely time.
We received a room with a four poster bed, which was unique and added to the Tuscan/romantic feel. The bedding and bathroom were immaculately clean and comfortable (a hairdryer was supplied).
The breakfast was brought down into our room, which was appreciated. It was a typical Italian breakfast (just what my Nonna eats!) with some cut fruit, coffee, and biscuits.
The host was so lovely and really made us feel at home. She also helped us out with choosing a restaurant to dine at, which ended up being a good night out.
You will not be disappointed with this B&B - it was actually a highlight of our time in Tuscany, which was unexpected! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful B&B! Annalisa made us feel right at home upon arrival. We enjoyed our two night stay here. The town is very romantic. The room was very clean and comfortable. I loved the stone and brick interior. The shower is a little small. There are a lot of steps to get to the main piazza(or you can walk the long way to avoid them).The breakfast was good, the views were beautiful from the gazebo outside where we ate. My wife and I enjoyed a nice glass of wine out there after taking a winery tour in the evening. I would recommend this place to anyone. Can't wait to get back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Good location in the center of Montalcino, close to nice restaurants and amazing wine stores with good prices. Place looks very familiar and Dida, who run it, is always ready to help whatever you might need. Rooms are at the first floor of a two store house, and had a nice rustic decor. Average breakfast, similar to many ohter we had while in Italy, but the view from the backyard whereytou have it is gourgeous. The only problem we faced was the heat, once the rooms don't have air, and that time in Montalcino was very hot. The ventilator that was provided us didn't work as well as an air would have done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews