We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Ragnaie(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel dei Capitani(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$150
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Locanda di Montisi(San Giovanni d'Asso)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$271
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Bombina(San Giovanni d'Asso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agriturismo Le Benducce(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$1,560
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$2,189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$554
US$463
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo(Montalcino)
Book now, pay at stay
US$1,012
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
81
14
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
14
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanna lisapeaceful gardenone nightstayed here for three nightsmade us feel at homethe perfect hosthome away from homeevery morninghostesspatiobrunellotuscanywalkabledirectionswineriessuggestionsgps
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here while on our honeymoon for 4 nights (June 28-July 1). Our room was wonderful. Very romantic and nice and cool. It is located right within the town so you can easily walk everywhere. Our hostess Dida was a treasure. She was so helpful in organizing some last minute winery visits for us (we do not speak Italian so this was great) and made some great restaurant recommendations (we really liked "il Grappo Blu", we went there twice for amazingly fresh and local comfort food). We even joined Dida and her friends one night on the patio for some drinks and dessert (where we were also treated to an opera performance by her good friend). We will definitely stay here again. Dida, you are the best! xoxo Erin & David

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at Porta Castellana in May and had a wonderful time. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The patio was a great place to sit in the evenings and enjoy a glass of wine. Annalisa was extremely friendly and helpful in providing us with great recommendations for restaurants and wineries to visit. We hope to go back again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This stay was absolutely beyond our expectations! On the Internet, we had seen that the place looked great, but we couldn't have imagined that the wonderful hostess would make us feel like her frends and the place like our home! By the way, the earlier mentioned stairs leading up to the centre were great fun and provided some well needed exercise (lots of good food and wine in Italy), a bit scary going down though-;)
We loved everything about the B&B and Montalcino and would love to come back!
Björn and Malin, Sweden

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at Annalisa's beautiful B&B in June while traveling around Europe. During 3 weeks of travel we experienced different B&B both in France and Italy but this was our absolutely nr. 1 favorite.
Annalisa met us at the medival fortress in the little hilltop town and we caravaned to the B&B which was situated in the old part of Montalcino.
We really loved it, super comfortable bed, American style pillows ( first place which such comfy pillows), the room was beautifully decorated with a personal touch, books in English, nice linen. Nice bathroom as well. Rustic and Tuscan, very original.Very neat and clean allover.
Typical Italian breakfast was served in under the gazebo in the garden with a lovely view from any angle.
Annalisa gave great restaurant recommendations : Re di Macchia where we just had the most delicious meal & great service.
Furhermore Annalisa helped us getting us an apointment at a local winery - without her help we would never had made it and also for this we were very thankful and had a wonderful tasting & tour at a Brunello estate.
Porta Castellana we can recommend to anybody that like to see Italy unfiltered, absoultely a charming place and Annalisa makes it a true gem, she is helpful, fun and smart and speaks wonderful English.
We too read review on TripAdvisor before going to Europe - lots of people have mentioned the stairs up to town. Honestly we did not mind it at all, there were lots of stairs but wouw...what an amazing view every time we made a break :) and after been driving around Europe for 3 weeks we needed the exercise.
Great place...we will be back next year for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixiePoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We loved our stay at this b&b. Owner is very nice and recommended a great place for dinner in town that wasn't on trip advisor yet. My only complaint is that it is located at the bottom of town and you have to walk up a long flight of stairs to make it to the shops in town. Call when you arrive in town. It's difficult to find the first time in town due to being in a limited traffic zone- you'll get a pass for your car once you arrive that allows you to travel through the LTZ to get to and from the b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bdelatorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews