We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment in the heart of the Amalfi...”
other travellers have booked this property
Amazing view on the Amalfi Coast !!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing view on the Amalfi Coast !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Amazing view on the Amalfi Coast !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Furore, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
4RiderSis...
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Wonderful apartment in the heart of the Amalfi coast”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Villa L’Arcate is a beautiful apartment with stunning views of the Amalfi coast. The five of us had plenty of room both indoors and outdoors to relax and socialize. There are two outdoor areas – a sheltered patio and an open grassy area overlooking the Mediterranean. Indoors, the large kitchen table is perfect for gathering for meals or games. The kitchen is well equipped with all the dishes and utensils you need to prepare meals. However, we suggest that a decent corkscrew and frying pan would be welcome additions. The whole apartment is spacious and full of light. Luigi and Lydia were wonderful hosts. We contacted them several times before our arrival with questions and they replied promptly. They put us in touch with someone who picked us up at the train station in Salerno and drove us directly to the apartment. During our stay, they stopped by to ensure we were comfortable and gave us some limoncello that Lydia made with lemons from her own garden. Although there are two bathrooms, one is a powder room. The other bathroom has a shower and bathtub. We decided to take the bus rather than renting a car. Although the bus comes fairly frequently, it was always crowded and we had to stand most trips. Driving on the hairpin turns would have been challenging and parking in the towns a nightmare. The apartment is not suitable for people with mobility issues as it is 69 steps from the road to the front door. We often bought groceries at Lucca’s. The proprietress didn’t speak much English but her store is jam packed with just about anything you need (including a corkscrew and some lettuce from her own garden). If the door is locked, she’ll probably show up and open the store for you. Without a car, it’s a bit of a hike down to the store (using the steps or walking along the switchback road). Going back up with groceries a fitness workout! We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Villa L’Arcate and highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Owners were so welcoming and helpful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality and Location”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of two adults and two children enjoyed 9 days at L'Ancora being the bottom apartment in a house of three apartments over three levels. The other apartments are L'Arcate (second level) and L'Mignale (the top/first apartment). All apartments have beautiful views, garden areas, BBQs and car parking. We found L'Ancora to be well suited with children as the garden area was bigger than the other apartments and the kids could run around and climb trees. The apartment has two separate bedrooms with their own bathrooms at each end and the kitchen/lounge area in the middle. The kitchen had everything we needed and we made the majority of our meals there. The apartment is very comfortable and the doors and windows all open to allow the beautiful view in.

The highlight for us are the wonderful people Luigi and Lidia who run L'Ancora and L'Arcate. We had problems with the Wifi on a Friday night and it was fixed with the attendance of a technician by Saturday morning - which is fantastic service and one that we would not have received in our own city. Luigi and Lidia returned our texts promptly and dropped in to inform us when the Wifi would be fixed. They then came the night before our departure to organise the time and to say Goodbye. Lidia also dropped a lovely bottle of home made Limoncello from her families own lemons which was delicious. We also met their teenage daughters and were warmly welcomed by the whole family.

The location is in Furore which is a half an hour bus ride to Amalfi. The bus stop is at San Giacomo - 50 metres from the apartment. Whilst it is away from the Amalfi we were able to walk down to Lucca's local grocery store to pick up the essentials. The lovely lady who runs the store gave my boys a free ice cream and we shopped their half a dozen times. The town of Furore is further down the hill but we didn't find the need to go there but is has everything you would need - groceries, ATM, pizza restaurant, pharmacy. The Sita bus goes down to Amalfi approx. 8 times a day (off season timetable) and about the same number of times up to Furore. You need to get the Agerola bus from Amalfi and get off at San Giacomo or the Hotel Bacco (where we brought bus tickets from on occasions).

The best location in Amalfi to get bus tickets is at the Tabbachi just across the road from the fountain at the bus stop as the travel agency was not open at all when we were there. The tickets cost 1.20 Euro for a one way trip per person.

Overall we loved the quite location with the stunning views and lovely people we met. Thanks Luigi, Lidia and girls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rae_finch
Gloucester, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven on the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and two friends stayed at L'Arcarte for a week in early October 2015. Due to flights from Bristol we didn't arrive until almost modnight, however the hosts waited up to greet us. They are both lovely and very welcoming, even bringing us some of tehir homemade Lemoncello (very nice!).

The apartment is beautiful and very large. It is also exceptionally well equipped, everything you can possibly want is there - air conditioning, washing machine, wifi, dozens of pots and pans, BBQ, a hammock....

What truly makes the apartment is the stunning view out across the Amalfi Coast. From the balcony you can see miles and miles of beautiful blue sea. It is the perfect place for quiet and serene morning cup of tea.

The only thing you need to bear in mind is the walk down from the main road- It consists of a ramp and then 78 steps (in 4 flights). The distance from the road adds to the tranquility, but the journey up and down is not suitable for people with mobility issues, or those scared of heights!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view
Liked least: The shower - the pressure was very low
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenni5020...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing views.......”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment under le Arcate but I inspected the apartment with a view to renting it next year with friends. Luigi and Lidia were waiting for us even though we arrived later than expected and were extremely helpful and very welcoming. Villa le Arcate is perfect for a family holiday and has everything you need. The views are amazing and there are different outside areas to take advantage of them, which also means that you don't feel crowded or on top of one another.
Although the property description says 2 bathrooms, the second bathroom is only a powder room........no shower, but the owners told me that they hope to have a shower in there for 2016. At present the main bathroom is accessed from the master bedroom.

The property is made up of 3 apartments with off the street parking approximately 50 meters from the entry. The property including the gardens was very well maintained.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The one hundred steps down to the apartment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferl...
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Lidia and Luigi's bottom apartment, called L"Ancora as Le Arcarte was not available on the dates that we needed. Luigi and Lidia are lovely people. Communication was good - we were about 20 minutes late but they were there waiting for us with a warm welcome. We stayed here with our family of 5 and it was the perfect amount of space and a great price. Nice sized bedrooms, good kitchen fully equipped. Huge private garden with the most beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast. Wifi worked great! We had a parking space included in the price, which was great because the village is a bit more remote and the bus wasn't running due to a fire in the area. They made us some homemade Limoncello which was delicious! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Views/Garden area
Liked least: A bit of a drive from Positano and Amalfi areas. Not much within walking distance. Must drive to everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing