We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,602 results
Traveller rating
1,479
735
245
86
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,479
735
245
86
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool deck restaurant premium package rodian bar sea view adult only pool pool service elite suites the ground floor private beach great holiday dress code family suite star hotel room number shower cubicle turkey all inclusive deal
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 2,602 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The hotel is ran brilliant. Staff are amazing, nothing to much trouble. Its not a 5 star. Entertainment not really good. Animation team was none existence on our second wk. Room for entertainment not big enough, struggle to get seats to be together. Food was good loved our Chinese man doing the cooking. We had a sea view but never got any sun on the balcony. Sun bed saving is horrendous! !!!!!!!! Putting towels on at 7.30 in a morning !!!!!!! Not good. Short walk to bars etc ouside but most where closing down. No toilets, bar on beach bit bad that part. Been enjoyed but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
16  Thank jillandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

What can I say about the Amathus, amazing, brilliant, fantastic!!
We arrived late at night flying from Leeds Bradford to Rhodes airport and coach from there to the hotel, approaching from the road, it looked beautiful. Walking into the HUGE lobby, the gentleman on the desk was very very polite and courtious, check in was very quick, we got a safe key and our card keys. He informed us that we had been upgraded to a sea view, rooms 433 and 434 on the forth floor. We were asked if we would like the porter to take up our luggage, but we said we would be fine. We took one of the three lifts to the forth floor, again another large lobby... we found our room, very nice, it was a twin, very clean, with complimentary water and fruit.
Looking out of the balcony we could see the pool and palm trees, it was very quiet and very dark.
The following morning the view from the balcony was breathtaking, the sea was blue and very calm and you can see Turkey very clearly, beautiful. We didn't get bored of the view, stunning.

Breakfast was from 8 till 10. On floor 10. When you arrive at the restaurant you are greeted by the room manager who takes your room number, every time you visit. They show you to your table and the waiters take you drinks order after taking your room number.... we later found out the reason for this is keep track of what's been drunk for their numbers, you receive a chitty that you sign... no charge... every time you order food and drink you get a chitty / receipt. Food is buffet style with lots to choose from, salads, hot food, soups, traditional Greek food, very very nice.... the puddings were amazing!

We were all inclusive and so when you look at the drinks menu for instance, if it had PP (premium package) next to the price it's in the all Inc, if it didn't, then you can have it added to you room and pay when you leave, but honestly there was so much drink to choose from you didn't have to buy!

The same applied at lunch, room number as you arrived and the table, lunch was on floor 11, the top floor, an amazing view!
Again buffet style, but outdoors and undercover if you wanted.

Dinner ( or tea time if you're from yorkshire) is the same again, but men must wear smart trousers, no shorts. We were told you must be smartly dressed, no sports shoes, tracksuits, t shirts etc, but many of the men wore them, defo no shorts though.

Entertainment on an evening was, erm interesting I think because it was end of season for them, we left on the 28th October, and the hotel closes for the winter on the he 2nd November, as does the whole of Rhodes! We had Greek night, Greek dancing, and two 80s nights which were singers.

I have to mention the lovely Stamatis, the bar manager who we first met on on our first night for sandwiches in the the top bar. Who looked after us all the nights he was working.
And not forgetting Georgia, she was as like our personal bar maid... she knew exactly what we wanted, we never had an empty glass. ... cocktail after cocktail after cocktail.... ( Georgia is in the photo with us, with curly hair)

The pools were cold, very very cold you have been warned, the indoor pool and jacuzzi were lovely. We didn't use the sauna or spa, only because we didn't want to, not our thing.

There were a lot french people. I'll say no more, only because I don't want to offend.

I cannot think of anything bad to say, at all. All the staff are polite and kind and happy to help.

You must go into Rhodes old town, it is beautiful. Cafe's, shops, they do ask you to come in but no where near all much as they do in Turkey.
There is the port where the BIG cruise ships dock and some beautiful private yaughts!
There seems to be no road laws... they don't stop at zebra crossings, you have to just go for it and hope they stop!
You can catch a bus from just outside the hotel into Rhodes at €1.90 each, you get off at the station and walk 10 min into the old town.

Overall, a brilliant holiday, beautiful hotel, beautiful island... 10/10 Thank you for an amazing holiday.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
17  Thank Mishy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The family and I have a great week at the Amathus, I wouldn’t say it was a 5 star experience, but not a million miles away from it.

Pros:
- Very friendly and attentive staff (with the odd exception). Of particularly note were:
--- Evangelia in the restaurant, you couldn’t ask for a more friendly and helpful person to meet, greet and seat you.
--- Stamatis Head Barman, super friendly and welcoming, completely dedicated to ensuring you have a good time.
--- Alex also behind the bar, hardworking and efficient.
--- Lia in the Spa, absolutely passionate about her work.
--- Christina a waitress in the restaurant, focused and hardworking.
- The all buffet food was very good, a huge selection with new things every night of the week. We ate something different every day.
- Multiple pools.
- Private tunnel under the road to a private beach.
- Clean and tidy hotel.
- Full service Spa on site.
- Regularly serviced bus stop right out the front.
- Car hire rep inside the main reception from Galaxy car rental, who completely coincidentally I'd already researched and chosen as one of the best rated car hire companies on Rhodes.
- Several “hotel cats” to stroke and sneak food to! :)

Cons:
- The unheated pools were cold at the end of the season.
- The wine included in the “Premium Package” all-inclusive deal was barely passable.
- The wasps at the outdoor pool restaurant on the 11th floor, easily 20+ flying around looking for food during lunch times. I’m not aware anyone was stung all week, but it’s not pleasant to eat whilst being buzzed by a wasp or 3. There was no evidence of wasp traps or Waspinators to try to control them.

If I were to revisit Rhodes, would I go back to Amathus? Possibly. I’d probably like to try somewhere new to be honest, which is probably why I’ll be unlikely to return to Rhodes. But for a 1st visit, if you're in the market for an all inclusive package 10 mins from Rhodes town, I’d be happy to recommend you stay at Amathus and go via Jet2, who we were also very happy with, with both flights hassle free and on time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Gee_Cee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgios P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Colin M. ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review in Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive comments for our hotel and staff and we have also taken note on your remarks for improvements in the areas suggested.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in the not too distant future and extend our Amathus hospitality.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The public areas of the hotel are smart, clean and pleasant. We had room 413, booked as part of a Thomas Cook Signature holiday, and this room was filthy and poorly mantained. The balcony overlooked tennis courts, which were used by staff playing football, hence no privacy, or quiet when they were. Please have a look at the photo's from our room, and decide for yourselves. We were offered a better room when we complained - in their suites, at an extra price of 150Euro pppn. The location is a little on the poor side, there are a few bars/restaurants within walking distance along the main road, but if I were to book again, firstly it would be a different hotel, and secondly, it would be somewhere closer to Rhodes town - about 9Euro away in a taxi.

Room Tip: Book a sea view, or you'll get an awful view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank KarlStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia M, Director of Sales at Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear KarlStanley,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are very saddened to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and we have taked all necessary measures to fix all points mentioned. We are glad that you've enjoyed our public areas and pools. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Sofia Mailli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Check in very pleasant with a male member of staff, taken to room by a member of staff all good.
Room dated but clean, however next morning the sound from scrapping chairs, dropped items were HORRENDOUS CONSTANT NOISE OF SCRAPPING CHAIRS!!! TIP.... 9 FLOOR NOT GOOD DUE TO RESTAURANT NOISE!!!
OUTSIDE AREAS... VERY GOOD if only pools were accessible but unfortunately water freezing to be able to enter.
Lounge areas very comfortable and drinks of a good standard
Restaurants... Very clean and well presented but food was a bit hit and miss and Luke warm.
Staff mostly very friendly and attentive. Pool guy top floor pool/restaurant always friendly!!!
All in all good hotel, check-out didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay!?
October end weather hit miss and resort itself is very quiet and mostly closed for winter
Would recommend for elderly and young families

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank nocloudsonlysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia M, Director of Sales at Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear nocloudsonlysunshine,

We really appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review on tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your praising comments about our team. We hope to have the chance to serve you better in the future.

Warm regards,

Sofia Mailli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews