We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,996)
Filter reviews
2,996 results
Traveller rating
1,722
760
307
133
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,722
760
307
133
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger bar main restaurant inclusive bar the mexican restaurant crepes sea view pitta old town salt water indoor pool pizza oven thomas cook reception staff guest relations a la carte restaurants food on offer great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,996 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the grand hotel as it has been a while since I last visited rhodes, and had a good catch up with a few people who I know. Have to say was very impressed with the Grand hotel with its location in rodos town and near a couple of beaches if you wan't to sunbathe away from the pool areas.

Easy check in and had a sea view room with balcony on the second floor, the place is huge but everything is very easily accessible. Room was of a decent size which had everything that you could ask for and a complimentary mini bar stocked up with soft drinks , beers, and water, tea and coffee also available.

You have a very good choice of food areas where you have a main dining room if you just wan't a good buffet meal for breakfast and dinner , there are other pool side eateries such as mexican, greek, burgers, pizza stall, and a crepe cafe area so plenty of choice. Very nice bar area for cocktails, other drinks, and tea or coffee etc... there is also a nice seating area next to the pool as well.

Two pools outside and a pool inside near the spa and gym if you just wan't somewhere quieter away from the crowds, the staff at the hotel are very friendly and work very hard to make sure that you have a comfortable stay during your time at the hotel. Thanks very much to everyone at the mitsis grand, and I hope to see you all again at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Would recommend getting a sea view room, for the views of the sun rise and sun sets ;-)
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyUK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear AnthonyUK09,

We were delighted reading you enjoyed an ideal and relaxing stay at Mitsis Grand Hotel and that you remained totally satisfied with our services and accommodations.
We also are thrilled to know that our team has managed to create a really nice and welcomed atmosphere for you and that you were completely satisfied with all aspects of service.

Once again, allow us to thank you for your kind recognition. Such positive feedbacks are very rewarding to us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once more in the future.

Yours truly,

Dimitrios Selamis
Guest Relation MGR
grandhotel.guest@mitsishotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying at this hotel at the
Moment and yes there are some good points such as the food. Good burger restaraunt and ice creams and crepes all day , drinks are ok. Mini bar in the room is nice and re stocked included in the all inclusive. Location is good, right on the beach and a few minutes walk into town. However the hotels average age at the moment I would say is 60! We came here with two children as they advertise kids club , mini disco, activities every day. However there is none of this going on ! Only colouring and puzzles!!! Everything seems to be geared up for the older generation and the guests all quite frankly look miserable and are not happy to see children!! Maybe this should be an adults only hotel!
You have to pay a €20 euro deposit for pool towels! A family of 4 ! That's €80 !! I've never Come across this before and it means you are then stuck with this currency when you leave and if u lost a towel or your receipt you won't get your money back! The towels are certainly not worth that!
We didn't have any cash on arrival so had to walk to a cash point to get it as they won't accept card! We got told off for taking our room towels down to the pool!!
The entertainment in the evening is again aimed at the older generation and not lively at all! The rooms are a good size but very dated and badly in need of redecorating . The two pools are very cold and there are hundreds of umbrellas so finding it difficult to get any sun as you can't move them or put them down. The inside pool is also cold and pretty grim. If you get a cheap deal and you don't have children then I would say come here otherwise I would not rate it five star ( maybe it was 10 years ago!)
It needs a refurb and as I say maybe make it an adults only hotel. If it wasn't good the food and location it would of got a 2 from me.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank skelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear skelly2,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
It is always regrettable to note that there were some issues that caused certain dissatisfaction during your stay and would like to offer our apology for any inconvenience caused.
Rest assured all your comments have been taken into consideration.
On behalf of the management and staff we would like to thank you once again for your review and feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our resort in the future and satisfy you in all aspects.

Sincerely,

Dimitrios Selamis
Guest Relation MGR
grandhotel.guest@mitsishotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel by reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we were swayed from the sister hotel mitsis petit palais because of the choice of restaurants and good reviews of entertainment so we decided to pay more because as they say you get what you pay for !!!!,
Upon arrival the staff were friendly and pleasant the reception was very impressive too ,we was allocated a sea view room on the first floor which was adequate definitely not 5 star quality ,quite out dated but clean and fine , view was of receptions roof but it really didn't matter as it wasn't important , the staff here go out of there way to be happy and friendly and they certainly delivered from the lobby bar (great cocktails by the way )to the Greek, pizza/burger , Mexican,Italian, Asian, buffet restaurants,even the maids ,credit to them .
The food in all the restaurants were absolutely lovely, freshly cooked and beautifully presented , this is were the 5 star kicked in , waiter service (apart from buffet) was a nice touch the staff were great ,happy and couldn't do enough ,there is so much choice there wasn't enough time to try everything , bravo to the chefs too.
The location of this hotel is super 15 to 20 mins walk away to the old town which is lovely with plenty of bars and tavernas, shops and it is really pretty day and night .Both pools outside were clean and plenty of sunbeds (although they were a bit old and not very comfort ) again not 5 star but ok , the entertainment every night was great and the hotel tried there best to accommodate everyone ,which is not always possible , everything we watched was superb .
All the entertainment is outside with a bar with waiters , great , comfy chairs and good atmosphere which is all kept very clean , this hotel certainly has a lot of 5 star elements like the spa and indoor pool , and food but in areas needs some TLC, we had a lovely time and would certainly return!!! although we both were extremely ill for 24 hours with a vomiting bug , I don't in any way shape or form believe this to be any fault of the hotel as it is extremely clean , I put this down to people not washing hands in toilets and using sanitizer on entry to the restaurants, it only takes one person to be a little bit lax and that's how bugs spread little wild fire .We didn't even go in the swimming pools so we couldn't have caught it from there , just think we was extremely unfortunate.
The management were extremely kind to us and allowed us to keep our room on because my partner was still feeling under the weather on the day we were departing which allowed him to get more rest , as I was over the worse of it , I was able to feel relieved we had peace of mind that we had our own room to keep away from other guests and when I offered to pay they extra 70 euros the management refused to take payment which was extremely kind of them under the circumstances. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay here again it is a lovely hotel but just needs a little sprucing up in areas ..
All the staff go out of there way to make your holiday a little special and they certainly did that .

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank karen230665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear karen230665,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor after your stay with us.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Mitsis Grand Hotel. Our staff is working hard each day to provide the very best service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Mimtsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.

With my best regards,

Dimitrios Selamis
Guest Relation Manager
grandhotel.guest@mitsishotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It supposed to be our romantic vacation, but it was one of the worst experiences ever. There was an issue with bathroom that made a horrible smell appear in a room. Probably, "plumbing trap" wasn't working. But the worst thing happened when we got stomach flu. First my husband, then me. I wouldn't connect it to the hotel, but few people from the staff told me, that it happened to every second room. So about 50% of people are getting stomach flu while being there... I definitively won't come back, cause I don't want to experience that horrible illness once again. Especially when doctor visit costs about 120 euro in that hotel. Unless you want to spend your vacation with stomach flu I won't recommend that hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elena P,

We are genuinely sorry for the inconvenience caused to your holiday, which unfortunately can happen in some isolated cases as in every business.
Regardless whether we agree with the points raised, we would like to apologize that there were certain issues that caused some dissatisfaction to your stay.
Rest assured that all issues have been duly noted and where further action is required, this will be taken in a swift and professional manner.
We very much hope that should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes that you might perhaps consider giving us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Dimitrios Selamis
Guest Relation Manager
grandhotel.guest@mitsishotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Because we had already been at Mitsis Summer Palace on Kos and that we liked very much, we decided to go to Mitsis Grand. Well this was a big disappointment. This hotel is certainly not a 5-star hotel, rather a 3-star hotel. We were upgraded to seaview, but this room was so old and worn out that it would be surprising if there could be even worse rooms. In the nights there had been noise and a banging sound all night, we did not find out what that was. The old carpet in our room has not been vacuumed for ten days. If you go complain to the front desk, they react rude, the lady said, "you lie, there is no noise, you can just find the room old." At the indoor pool there are 10 wooden beds with only 5 pillows. Instead of solving the problem, they came up with all kinds of vague excuses. The beds by the outdoor pool were old and worn out.
Many people, we too, got Noro-virus, so around the toilets was often a terrible smell. The food was mediocre, much the same, not as you would expect in a five star hotel. The staff in the restaurant is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also terribly busy. It is completely stuffed, so you really get the idea of ​​the cheap all-inclusives of the past. Large canteens without atmosphere. The main bar is good, but the staff is pretty stiff. The bar near the evening-entertainment was terrible, there's the bartender and barmaid are laughing about guests and in Greek, and they give the women points to their appearance. The location at the center is perfect. On the outside the hotel looks very nice, but on the inside it is all decay. All in all, maybe three stars are even too much for this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank erikak2002015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Mitsis Grand Hotel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear erikak2002015,

We would like to answer your review in order to describe your booking from our point of view.
But first of all we like to say that we are very sorry for your feelings about your stay at our hotel.
We are very sorry to note such a gap in expectations however as explained we are of the opinion that this review is unfair to the hotel and misleading to the Tripadvisor community.

Once again thank you for choosing Mitsis Grand Hotel for your stay in Rhodes. We very much hope that perhaps you may consider visiting our island again in the future.

Respectfully,

Dimitrios Selamis
Guest Relations MGR
guestrelations@mitsis-grandhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews