We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bay view over Petra”
Review of Clara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clara Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Petra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Nice hotel placed over the bay with beautiful view right from your balcony. Extra nice staff! They´ll do whatever to make you satisfied! I know they did their best to bring gluten free bread for breakfast for me. (That reminds me - bring your own GF bread to Lesbos, it´s impossible to buy some there.) Always with smile! Fingers up for all the staff.
Breakfast - nice, wide variety of fresh local food. Only thing I don´t understand is that terrible orange juice from box, even if Greek have fantastic Orange juices. Fresh vegetables a fruits, delicious eggs, sausages, cheese made my days.
Room is nice, spacious with amazing view! That view makes a million!
Bathroom would need desperate reconstruction. Shower Faucet bit over aged making me feel I´m not gonna touch them! Cleaning service always missed something. Usually didn´t clean to room table.
Pool is few steps down the hill right next to the sea. Closing bit too early for us. We recommend to rent a car so you can easily get to wherever yoz want in this nice neighborhood.
Would say this is one of the best hotel view in Petra. Made our holidays unforgettable!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank adricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Clara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This is a 3 Star Hotel near Molyvos. Nice average rooms, a bit old. The worst breakfast we had in years (awful yoghurt, industrialized orange juice, cold eggs...), not even worth waking up to eat. Nice pool but the beach in front is bad, you have to drive to the next beach. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daratsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginerius, Διευθυντής at Clara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015
Google Translation

Αγαπητέ κύριε

Μας έκανε εντύπωση η κριτική σας αυτή γιατί όταν φύγατε από την ρεσεψιόν μας είπατε ότι είσασαν πάρα πολύ ευχαριστημένος, φύγατε χαμογελαστός και φυσικά δεν μας αναφέρατε τίποτα για το πρόβλημα που είχατε με το πρωινό μας.
Οσον αφορά το πρωινό μας συγκεκριμένα αναφέρατε τρία πράγματα
1) Το γιαούρτι. Το γιαούρτι που προμηθευόμαστε είναι ελληνικό, επίσης δεν μας έχει αναφέρει ποτέ άλλος πελάτης κάτι ανάλογο οπότε φυσικά και θα το δούμε εάν απλά έγινε κάτι λάθος στην παραγγελία μας και παραλάβαμε κάτι άλλο αντα αυτού ή απλά δεν σας άρεσε το συγκεκριμένο γιαούρτι που παίρνουμε.
2) Κανένα τρίστερο ξενοδοχείο δεν βγάζει φρέσκο χυμό πορτοκάλι παρά μόνο κάποια τετράστερα και πεντάστερα. Ολοι οι χυμοί είναι συσκευασμένοι.
3) Το πρωινό μας κλείνει στις 10:00 το πρωι, εσείς όμως κατεβαίνατε για πρωινό ακριβώς στις 10:00 που έκλεινε ο μπουφές, παρότι που τον κρατάγαμε πάντα παραπάνω για να σας ευχαριστήσουμε, ομως είναι λογικό να έχουν κρυώσει πια τα αυγά.
Δεν αναφέρατε όμως ότι ο μπουφές μας είχε πάντα βιολογικά φρούτα απο τον κήπο μας όπως επίσης και φρουτα εποχής, λαχανικά εποχής και ντομάτες βιολογικές απο τον κήπο μας γκιουσλεμέδες χειροποίητους, λουκουμάδες ή κρέπες χειροποιήτους, χειροποίητο κέικ, φρέσκα αυγά (όχι σκόνη όπως συνηθιζεται) δύο τύπων αυγών πάντα, λαχανικά ψητά με μανιτάρια και όλα τα στάνταρτ επίσης πραγματα που μπορεί να έχει ένα τρίστερο ξενοδοχείο.

Εμείς δεν διαφημίζουμε ότι έχουμε φανταστική θάλασσα κάτω από το ξενοδοχείο μας αλλά την πισίνα μας που είναι με θαλασσινό νερό. Υπάρχει στα 250 μέτρα αμμουδερή παραλία οργανωμένη εκτός απ αυτήν που βρίσκετε ακριβώς από κάτω μας. Οι επόμενες κοντινές αμμουδερές παραλίες είναι η Άναξος στα 800 μέτρα και η Πέτρα στο ένα χιλιόμετρο.

Απλά θα μπορούσατε να μας ρωτήσετε για να σας ενημερώσουμε καλύτερα και εμείς απο πλευρά μας.

Με εκτίμηση,

Δρεκόλιας Δημήτρης

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The truth is we have been in the Clara Hotel in 2011 but forgot to write the review and this small hotel needs to be promoted.

This is a very lovely family run hotel.
The room on place was changes specially for us.
Rooms were tidy and spacious with amazing view! (you have to take couple of steps to reach the top bungalows)
We have never used the hotel pool but it looked ok.
You can use hotel PC in the lobby for the internet if you wish
The food was just amazing! - I love these kind of places (not all inclusive mass production) where you are treated as, almost, a family member.
There is no beach close by but
having a car on any Greek island is a must and for sure you will find your place (we did - Agathi beach, perfect!)
To be honest I think this is the best hotel I have been to on Greek islands and for sure I will recommend it to anyone.
I would love to go back one day...

Room Tip: pick top bungalows, far from restaurant and pool, more quiet and better view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank skolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

I can't say enough good things about the staff and hotel.

Room
We had an adorable room overlooking the ocean. The room was super clean, nice clean sheets, had AC!!! and toiletries. There is a gorgeous pool with sea water that is filled every day. There is free wifi in the lobby and some rooms. The family that owns the hotel is amazing in every way. Demetri knows how to run a hotel.

There is a breakfast and dinner buffet, both with vegetarian options. There is also a taberna by the pool, right on the beach. DO NOT miss Greek dancing night at the taberna on Monday nights. The dancers involve the entire crowd and it's wonderful to see people young and old, smiling and dancing together.

The hotel is wonderfully quiet. There is a fully stocked bar at reception with a nice bar tender.

Although the hotel has a beach, most people go to Anaxos to swim because of the sandy beaches. This is definitely the beach to visit, tons of fish.

You will likely have a resident cat on your balcony. They are very friendly and open to any handouts.

You should have car here - things are spaced out between long windy roads and narrow alleys. Get a Garmin and a small car or motorbike. The Garmin gives you a general direction but will sometimes take you to ridiculous non-streets. Many places don't have physical addresses. They tell you to go to the city and find it from there which isn't always so easy. The hotel is between Petra and Anaxos. Find the EKO gas station and you will find the hotel.

There is a laundry service available. 1 bag is about 10E. Drop off at the lobby before 10 am and you'll have it back in 2 days after 2:00 pm.

Sights
Petrified Forest which is about 17 miles around narrow winding roads. Follow the signs to Sigri and then to the Petrified Forest. The museum is in Sigri itself along with a cute village. Have lunch at the taberna (Razonnos ?) next to the castle. They have the best selection of Ouzo. Go to the end of the road to Sigri and you'll see the fishing boats. Park and follow the signs to the castle or museum. There is a monastery there also that I wanted to see but my driver didn't so we missed that.

Take the train which goes from Anaxos to Molyvos and back. Hop on/off all day for 6E.

Molyvos- See the harbor at Molyvos with the wonderful restaurants (we went to The Octopus), the castle (closed on Monday, and closed for break at 3:00 pm), the narrow winding alleys near the church with hidden bakeries in the back.

Petra - walk to the church on the hill at Petra with its 114 steps (Our Lady of the Sweet Kiss) and see the little Byzantine church with the ancient frescos across the way.

The Olive Oil Museum costs 3E, free for under 18. It's ok, not great. They really could do much more. It has the machinery and videos on how olive oil is manufactured and I'm still not so sure about the process. You do get a very good booklet about Lesvos here.

Ouzo distillery - ouzo is the bomb and I am still hoping to go to one of the 3 distilleries on the island. There is one in Plomari (supposedly the best) - very southern tip, one near the olive oil museum (I wish I knew it then), and 1 by the airport in Loutra.

Hot Springs of Eftalou - this is a hidden treasure and almost impossible to find. Head to Molyvos, and then to Eftalou. Get on the main coastal road and it will appear to end. There is a dirt road to Sykaminia on the right and a gate to the left towards the ocean. Park around there. Go past the gate and around the hill to see a little building. Pay 4E for 45 min to sit in a small communal bath or 5E for 20 min for a private bath (they aren't as hot as the main bath). The water is freaking hot! But heavenly. You are supposed to go back and forth in the spring to the sea but I stayed with the hot spring. Time it properly because spots are limited and it does fill up. Massages are available - for relaxation, not deep tissue. There is a delicious taberna near the springs.

Hike to Mount Olympus - the hike starts in the village, right by the gas station and near the taxi stands it's a beautiful hike, moderate difficult. At the end is a tiny church and satellite dishes, go figure. This is the highest peak on the island.

On the way back from Mount Olympus, we went to an awesome thermal bath in Petriochitos. (The springs near there in a town that starts with an L is closed up.) It costs 4E each person and they have sea salt, olives, honey and lotions for sale. The thermal baths are separated by sex.

Restaurants
Molyvos - The Octopus, right by the river on the main road, right before the harbor, red themed. Family owned and the freshest ingredients.

Petra - the Reef. The owner's father was from Petra but he spent time in Australia. He returned to build the restaurant from scratch, investing money to make his family proud. You can order a Greek Pizza, Greek Spaghetti, caprese salad, best olives in town, and delicious feta cheese. The owner loves to greet his guests and makes them feel like family.

Taverna on the beach below the hotel - don't miss Greek dancing on Monday. Fantastic food and they even prepared a pre fixe menu for vegetarians even though it's off menu. I love that ducks will walk in the front door only to be shoo'ed out by the owner with a promise of bread crumbs. And cats will sneak in and beg for just a tiny handout. It really was funny. Their yeast rolls and beans are to die for.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank blackbeltatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Our second visit to the Clara was even better than the first (2012). Dimitri, his lovely family, and the brilliant staff made us feel very welcome. Buffet breakfast was fresh and varied. The pool taverna and bar had a good variety of drinks and very freshly cooked lunches (Veroniki - the lovely waitress who makes everything "very tasty"!!). The beautiful pool, with fantastic views of the village and the coast, is impossible to resist. They have made many improvements since 2012, new synthetic grass round the pool, moving the bar in the main building so it's more inviting and lots of other little tweaks which have made what was already a very special place even more so. Being able to go to places like the Clara, and the village of Petra itself, to experience first hand their wonderful generosity of spirit, culture and hospitality, is the reason why we travel. What an amazing, relaxing holiday! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank LazyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra
2.7 km away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
181 reviews
6.4 km away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
1.3 km away
Michaelia Hotel
Michaelia Hotel
#9 of 13 in Petra
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#3 of 13 in Petra
69 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Molyvos 1
Hotel Molyvos 1
#7 of 12 in Molyvos
62 reviews
4.3 km away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clara Hotel

Address: Avlaki | Petra, Petra 811 09, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Petra
#3 Family Hotel in Petra
Price Range: €47 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clara Hotel Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing