We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, Ok food”

Panoramarestaurant Karren
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Dornbirn
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

A couple of friends and myself went to the Panorama restaurant today for lunch after visiting the Rolls Royce Museum that is just a short drive down the road in Gütle.
We purchased the up and down gondola ride and paid €11.50 each. The gondola runs every 15 minutes and approximately 20 people can get on at a time. When you arrive at the top of the ride you are at the restaurant. You can also chose to walk up and down the mountain if you like, but we chose to ride the gondola.
The views are fantastic and worth the ride up the mountain.
It was just past 13:00 when we arrived at the top and the restaurant was just getting through what looked like a very busy time. We found a table as a group left and had to wait to have the table cleared from the previous guest. The waiter was very nice and spoke some English which we found very helpful. The menu was in both German and English which is a nice feature for people who do not speak the local language. He brought our drinks and took our food order. Food came to the table in a decent time and was good, not great, but for the view and a Sunday in the mountain side it was good.
I had the Wiener Schnitzel vom Schwein, which cost €12.80. The meal came with french fries and a side of cranberry sauce. As already mentioned it was good not great. Keep in mind this is a tourist type restaurant and the prices of the food reflect that.
If you are in the Dornbirn, Austria area and want fantastic views, a nice meal with your friends, the Panorama restaurant would be a place to go.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank raymondd453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is mainly to be visited for its commanding view over Dornbirn and the Bodensee. The food is OK, but overpriced. I would recommend going there just for a drink and enjoy the view.
Better still, hike 10 minutes from there to an idyllic gasthaus, Kuhberg.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Luecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We were sitting on the terrace outside and enjoyed the great view. Decided to order food which we also got, but we were 6 people and we didn't get the meal at one time! When we asked about it the waiter just snapped at us that we are sitting in the garden and the food is coming when it's ready from the kitchen, unlike a normal restaurant because we are sitting outside. So I got my Käsespätzle, five minutes later the salads for my friends arrived, another five minutes later the sausages and then also my side salad to the Käsespätzle. At the end the waiter also tried to rip us off, so better check your change.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lenla2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Loved the view high above Austria. The server was really friendly and the food was good. I’ve had better food elsewhere on this trip, but you can’t beat the setting.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank springygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

I have been to this restaurant few times ( mainly Business Dinner) Great view to the valley especially when it is clear during summer; nice decorated restaurant; polite waitress but pretentious manageress .For the requested prices ( small portions, not neglecting the quality of food which acceptable "medium* if we compare it to prices. However it is overrated and overpriced ( due to the view) which it should not be a reason as you are already paying the lift for EUR 8.00 to the restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DZexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panoramarestaurant Karren also viewed

Dornbirn, Vorarlberg
Dornbirn, Vorarlberg
 
Dornbirn, Vorarlberg
Dornbirn, Vorarlberg
 
Dornbirn, Vorarlberg
 

Been to Panoramarestaurant Karren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing