We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
47
12
5
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
12
5
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We chose Milarepa as a hotel and venue for our wedding, and although we are not the type of people to let bad service and lousy hotel rooms ruin our vacation, it must be said that this place is not worth the price they charge.

1. The hostess / manager is very rude. You know when someone smiles at you and it's just painfully obvious that they are looking down their nose at you? That kind of rude. Do not expect her to appreciate your business. If you have a rudimentary understanding of Spanish, and are a nice person, the housekeeping staff will gladly tell you that the boss lady is not a nice person.

2. NO AIR CONDITIONING. Ok, no problem, but be warned. There are evaporative cooling units in the room, which everyone knows are practically useless in 90F humid heat.

3. It's more like camping than being in a hotel room. Be advised - dirt, insects, crabs, etc, will be in your room... which can be fun... so that's just FYI.

4. Due to the high humidity and the open ceiling, the mattresses are all damp. We were there in the "dry season", and it was like sleeping on a wrung-out sponge. The mattress was also a very crummy coil-spring job, so don't expect anything fancy.

5. The mosquito nets are present, but do not expect them to be functional. You will be bitten at night, far more than you would in even a half-sealed hotel room.

6. Several guests in our party had things stolen from the common area (again, we rented the entire property).

7. There are no amenities, it's far from everything, the property is very dark and the uneven paths are hazardous (the bride lost a toenail walking at night (adventure!)).

8. The manager / hostess is incredibly rude. Did I already mention that? It bears repeating!

Overall Milarepa is 3x the price of other better properties with more to offer. For a third of the cost you can stay in a nicer boutique hotel with a restaurant and a view, just down the road. Give this place a miss!

Feel free to message me to verify any of the above, I will happily steer anyone to a better option in Santa Teresa (but basically anything is better).

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

If you are truly looking for a tropical getaway from the hustle and bustle of big resort towns just to relax then this is your paradise on the beach of beautiful Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. The unique Cabins are quite exotic with the open air bathroom and shower area.The windows and doors provide a lovely sea breeze day and night. The large open air thatched roof main building provides plenty of space for lounging and dining. It also includes a kitchen where you can prepare your own meals or a private chef service can be provided, the choice is yours! The grounds include a large private pool, while the beach is at your front door. The area has many quaint restaurants and shops, while the surfing is magnificent....Pura Vida!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The price is high for what you get. The place is great and bungalows are really nice too. Be prepare to go to the bathroom and watch the monkeys while you are there! The con of all these is that the place is really dirty, and full of dust, they don't seem to take cleaning seriously. One of the nights, we got food poisoned (at a downtown restaurant) and needed help at 2am, there was no one at the reception during the whole night, not even the security people...
They don't include breakfast and it it's really expensive to have it there. This is a big con being that there are not many other options close to the hotel

Room tip: Try to get the ones closer to the beach
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rafa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Milarepa is a truly special place in Santa Teresa. Very peaceful and with wonderful energy, partly due to its beautiful location in front of a small beach cove and partly because of the simple yet tasteful decor. My husband and I had our wedding celebration in Milarepa with a full catering from SOMA and absolutely every single one of our guests was in awe of the place. Since there were 4 bungalows, we shared the space with some of our closest friends and had a wonderful time hanging out by the pool and in the hammocks that hang peacefully among the tree grove right out front. The tree grove and beautiful rocks in the water below are both perfect for a romantic wedding on the beach and the common space in the Milarepa is perfect for an intimate to medium-sized wedding celebration. We had live music and a DJ while the SOMA caterer extraordinaire and his team passed around delicious "tapas" and it proved to be a perfect combination for a fun and relaxed wedding party. The common area has ample space for a solid latin-style dance party, while the bar provides the perfect space for drinks served to guests. The bungalows are also gorgeous, very well-designed to be a space of relaxation. The porch area is perfect for some mid-day reading beach-front and to enjoy the ocean breeze. The open air bathrooms are wonderful and showering under the stars was a beautiful experience. All in all, we are sincerely grateful to Caroline for creating this space and allowing us to have such a spectacularly memorable wedding celebration.

Room tip: Highly recommended for a group of friends who want to share a special weekend by the beach.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliannebg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I got married at Milarepa in January and it is gorgeous. The setting is perfect close enough to town to get what you need but far enough away that you don't hear Santa Teresa or feel the dust from the road. Absolutely beautiful

Date of stay: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewski0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews