We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
272
23
7
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
23
7
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatocean frontcosta ricaour honeymoongarden bungalowhealthy foodheaven on earthzip liningoff the beaten pathbeautiful countryopen airsmall grouppura vidacan't wait to go backhermosa beachcouples massagelow tide
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Ocean front villas, great pool, great beach, one of the best yoga studios / movement studios one could wish for, friendly staff and amazing juices & smoothies...

just all together a great great exeperience and I will happily come back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

On our way to this hotel a local told us it was the Beverly Hills of Santa Teressa, and we found out what he ment when we got there. This place is a paradise on Hermosa beach. the villas are private and comfortable even for a whole family, the beach is to die for, and the service is great. the only drawback is that it's remote from the center of the town, but they have ATVs you can rent on site to get back and forth in 15 minutes or so. There is a cute little restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch (dinner off season only by reservation). staying here was the best choice we made in Santa Teressa !

Room Tip: Only two villas have front view to the beach
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank עמי מ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Propietario at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write. So glad you enjoyed your stay. As you know, roads in Costa Rica are awful and particularly during the rainy season when you were here! But thank you for having a great attitude. Believe me, I wish i could fix these darn roads and we are active in constantly working with the government.
Thanks so much for your honest review
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Yes, hotel is nice , rooms are beautiful and they have great access to the beach but The hotel is NOT in Santa Teresa is actually 3 Km away from the center, since the road is very bumpy its takes 25 min to get from the hotel to any restaurant or other activity in the center..
If you want to get out of the hotel you need to take it into consideration and it's better to rent an ATV to do that...
It's took them more than 1 hour to serve the food in the Restorant, even though breakfast was included it's not included Coffee or any other drinks and they will charge you 2.5$ for any additional peace of toast .. it's was costing us 10$ extra per person just for the breakfast additional cost.
The owner of the hotel Suzan is basically ignoring the guests and focus mainly at her laptop regarding what ever going on around her..
Unless you are a Yoga fan or you are not interested to go out of the hotel There are much better options in wonderful , magnificent Santa Teresa !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Propietario at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Family,
This is the owner writing and I'm sad to hear this family was so unhappy. I am on my laptop a lot, but I'm in the hotel 7 days a week and usually in the restaurant, hence I'm accessible to everyone, absolutely everyone. We are a very busy yoga hotel so yes, yoga is important, but our non yoga guests also love to surf and to hike and paddleboard.
Actually coffee and juice is included with breakfast and guests choose their breakfast from the menu. Most love our breakfasts. No, we do not charge $2.50 for toast.
As for the roads, they are awful but this is out of my control and there are many restaurants in easy walking distance to the hotel. No need to go to town.
But obviously we did not meet their needs. If you read the next review you will find an entirely different experience! Some people prefer town, some prefer the quiet and nature of hotels like mine. We respect that!
Thank you for writing,
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We went for a private yoga retreat and found the facilities, staff, food and location all excellent.

The yoga shala is quite large and open to the pool and jungle. So, your yoga practice is accompanied by the sound of the surf, a zillion different birds singing and the occasional howler monkey. No need to bring a mat as they are loaded with good quality mats as well as every other type of usual yoga prop.

The youthful and international staff is friendly and exceptionally helpful. Of particular note was their aptitude for learning all of the retreat attendee names. By day 2 - we were always greeted by name and, at the restaurant, served by name.

The resort was spot-on in arranging airport transfers. When we arrived at the Tambor airport, our driver was already on site holding a sign with our names. On departure, they made sure our transport met us at our desired time.

Food and drinks were uniformly plentiful and delicious. Standout dishes were the ceviche and risotto - but, really, everything is tasty. The bartenders are extremely skilled at using the bounty of Costa Rican produce mixed with a generous amount of alcohol. We enjoyed fresh fruit juice margaritas daily for lunch (the chipotle margarita has a nice spicy kick).

Be sure and take advantage of the skilled massage therapists. We had heavenly 90 minute massages in their hut just a few meters away from the surf with it's constant and soothing sound.

We opted for the beachfront bungalow with it's direct view of the Pacific. The cleaning staff didi a great job of sweeping out the daily accumulation of sand that we unavoidably tracked in each day. Fresh DRY towels from an electric dryer were provided each day - a necessity since nothing dries naturally due to the high and constant humidity. We were pleasantly surprised at the complete absence of "critters" of any type. Being the tropics we expected at least an ant - but - nothing (we were careful not to eat in the bungalow).

The pool is gorgeous with an ingenious design that mixes very shallow areas that you can completely lie down in with a deeper, swim-able trench. This is probably the prettiest and most function-able pool I've ever been in.

The beach is endless soft sand and a surfer's dream. At night, with a low tide, you can walk far enough out to experience bio-luminescence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ON the pool or ocean - these have the most ambience.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Snowstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Nirvana
You have made my day! I’m on my way to California to visit my son, always a little worried about leaving the hotel, and then I saw this beautiful heartfelt review. How do I thank you?
Seriously, people love to write and complain but it takes a special person to take so much time to write such an inclusive review.
I must tell you this. Your Yoga Retreat group touched all of our hearts. We all felt an intense let down as we waved goodbye
So really, we thank you for sharing your hearts and smiles with us!
Love, Susan Money (Owner) and the entire Pranamar Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I stayed at Pranamar as part of a yoga retreat. The yoga 'studio' space is perfect. Surrounded by jungle plants, trees, and flowers. You can hear the ocean while you practice. They provide all the props so you don't have to bring your own. The rooms are spacious and clean. Saw ants, insects in the rooms. Although that is expected in tropical locations, I came away with a lot of bug bites. Our villa lost power 4 times during the week. The food is absolutely amazing. Many healthy and gluten free options. A lot of the drinks were excessively overpriced. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hammocks along the beach area are a nice touch. The villa behind us was under construction the entire time so it took away from some of the zen, but overall it is a very relaxing and peaceful environment.

Room Tip: Ask if any villas are under construction. It will impact your peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureTherap... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews