We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and lows in the off-season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017

This is a beautiful property with a tremendous staff. We loved Villa #1 as well; it was well appointed and worth the splurge for the beachfront location. However -- the last time I was at Pranamar, in high season, the restaurant menu changed day to day, with lots of interesting specials. This time, in the low season, the menu was limited, and exactly the same at lunch and dinner for the entire week, which was disappointing and tedious. The promised special beach dinners (with a different menu) were cancelled due to rain in the forecast, although it never did rain on the evenings in question. With no other options in walking distance, the overall dining experience ended up being the one big disappointment of our visit, and in my book, a reason to stay elsewhere in the off-season.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VTER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Ocean front villas, great pool, great beach, one of the best yoga studios / movement studios one could wish for, friendly staff and amazing juices & smoothies...

just all together a great great exeperience and I will happily come back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

On our way to this hotel a local told us it was the Beverly Hills of Santa Teressa, and we found out what he ment when we got there. This place is a paradise on Hermosa beach. the villas are private and comfortable even for a whole family, the beach is to die for, and the service is great. the only drawback is that it's remote from the center of the town, but they have ATVs you can rent on site to get back and forth in 15 minutes or so. There is a cute little restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch (dinner off season only by reservation). staying here was the best choice we made in Santa Teressa !

Room Tip: Only two villas have front view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank עמי מ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Propietario at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write. So glad you enjoyed your stay. As you know, roads in Costa Rica are awful and particularly during the rainy season when you were here! But thank you for having a great attitude. Believe me, I wish i could fix these darn roads and we are active in constantly working with the government.
Thanks so much for your honest review
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Yes, hotel is nice , rooms are beautiful and they have great access to the beach but The hotel is NOT in Santa Teresa is actually 3 Km away from the center, since the road is very bumpy its takes 25 min to get from the hotel to any restaurant or other activity in the center..
If you want to get out of the hotel you need to take it into consideration and it's better to rent an ATV to do that...
It's took them more than 1 hour to serve the food in the Restorant, even though breakfast was included it's not included Coffee or any other drinks and they will charge you 2.5$ for any additional peace of toast .. it's was costing us 10$ extra per person just for the breakfast additional cost.
The owner of the hotel Suzan is basically ignoring the guests and focus mainly at her laptop regarding what ever going on around her..
Unless you are a Yoga fan or you are not interested to go out of the hotel There are much better options in wonderful , magnificent Santa Teresa !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Propietario at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Family,
This is the owner writing and I'm sad to hear this family was so unhappy. I am on my laptop a lot, but I'm in the hotel 7 days a week and usually in the restaurant, hence I'm accessible to everyone, absolutely everyone. We are a very busy yoga hotel so yes, yoga is important, but our non yoga guests also love to surf and to hike and paddleboard.
Actually coffee and juice is included with breakfast and guests choose their breakfast from the menu. Most love our breakfasts. No, we do not charge $2.50 for toast.
As for the roads, they are awful but this is out of my control and there are many restaurants in easy walking distance to the hotel. No need to go to town.
But obviously we did not meet their needs. If you read the next review you will find an entirely different experience! Some people prefer town, some prefer the quiet and nature of hotels like mine. We respect that!
Thank you for writing,
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We went for a private yoga retreat and found the facilities, staff, food and location all excellent.

The yoga shala is quite large and open to the pool and jungle. So, your yoga practice is accompanied by the sound of the surf, a zillion different birds singing and the occasional howler monkey. No need to bring a mat as they are loaded with good quality mats as well as every other type of usual yoga prop.

The youthful and international staff is friendly and exceptionally helpful. Of particular note was their aptitude for learning all of the retreat attendee names. By day 2 - we were always greeted by name and, at the restaurant, served by name.

The resort was spot-on in arranging airport transfers. When we arrived at the Tambor airport, our driver was already on site holding a sign with our names. On departure, they made sure our transport met us at our desired time.

Food and drinks were uniformly plentiful and delicious. Standout dishes were the ceviche and risotto - but, really, everything is tasty. The bartenders are extremely skilled at using the bounty of Costa Rican produce mixed with a generous amount of alcohol. We enjoyed fresh fruit juice margaritas daily for lunch (the chipotle margarita has a nice spicy kick).

Be sure and take advantage of the skilled massage therapists. We had heavenly 90 minute massages in their hut just a few meters away from the surf with it's constant and soothing sound.

We opted for the beachfront bungalow with it's direct view of the Pacific. The cleaning staff didi a great job of sweeping out the daily accumulation of sand that we unavoidably tracked in each day. Fresh DRY towels from an electric dryer were provided each day - a necessity since nothing dries naturally due to the high and constant humidity. We were pleasantly surprised at the complete absence of "critters" of any type. Being the tropics we expected at least an ant - but - nothing (we were careful not to eat in the bungalow).

The pool is gorgeous with an ingenious design that mixes very shallow areas that you can completely lie down in with a deeper, swim-able trench. This is probably the prettiest and most function-able pool I've ever been in.

The beach is endless soft sand and a surfer's dream. At night, with a low tide, you can walk far enough out to experience bio-luminescence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ON the pool or ocean - these have the most ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Nirvana
You have made my day! I’m on my way to California to visit my son, always a little worried about leaving the hotel, and then I saw this beautiful heartfelt review. How do I thank you?
Seriously, people love to write and complain but it takes a special person to take so much time to write such an inclusive review.
I must tell you this. Your Yoga Retreat group touched all of our hearts. We all felt an intense let down as we waved goodbye
So really, we thank you for sharing your hearts and smiles with us!
Love, Susan Money (Owner) and the entire Pranamar Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
4.7 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
1.1 km away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
1.6 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
2.7 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
2.8 km away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: €234 - €456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing