We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
61
53
23
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
53
23
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice balcony costa rica within walking distance pool beach hammocks peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We had a great vacation with our family, rooms clean, good costarican breakfast, excellent location, staff incredible. Walking distance from bank, doctor, drugstore, stores, bars, restaurants, beach!! Costa Rica pura vida!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Federico U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina L, Director General at Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hi, Federico & Family! We are deeply grateful for your nice review. It is a pleasure for us to know that you and your family have enjoyed your vacation that much. Comments like yours make us feel satisfied and eager to continue working to make it even better every day. It was very nice to welcome and serve such a lovely family. We hope to see you again! Kind regards from all Hotel Santa Teresa Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel Playa Carmen is located in the buzzing town of Santa Teresa and meters from Playa Carmen Beach a safe heaven for yoga and surf enthusiasts. Santa Teresa is the middle of a long stretch of beach between Malpais in the south and Hermosa in the north. The area features about 40 lodging spots ranging between hostels to hotels. The town is only 10 years old and has the features of a town that has grown quickly to cater to growing number of tourists. There is a buzzing excitement in the air and chaotic feel to Santa Teresa.

Finding ourselves in Santa Teresa at mid-day in early January without booked accommodation resembled the experience of arriving to a packed movie theater and struggling to find a seat; having to settle for the worst seats in the house. Hotel Playa Carmen was the equivalent to the worst seats in the house considering a price of 175 U.S dollars a night for a room. Like a bad seat in the movie theater, coupled with overpriced popcorn and soda, the ratio of price to experience does not add up for Hotel Playa Carmen.

Upon arrival we were told the room that we had booked online less than thirty minutes prior was not available anymore. We were taken to a ground level room that was small and dark although it featured a small terrace overlooking the swimming pool. We where then shown a room in the second floor that contained a standard size bed and a small pull out sofa bed. We chose the second level room given it offered more light and a terrace overlooking an empty lot. What struck immediately was the constant music playing in the small swimming pool below, which did not have a time restriction and causes havoc on those seeking a good night sleep. Hotel Playa Carmen decor is worn down beach hut style - the main lights in the room did not work and one set of wall plugs did not either. The addition of potpourri bowls and basic cream, shampoo and conditioner sachets is a poor attempt to raise the bar in line with the high price per night. The pillows are flat and used up, the bed sheets thin and the bed cover old. Upon arriving back to the hotel following a long day driving around the area, we found our room unlocked, although we had locked it prior to the regular room cleaning service. Lastly, the safe in the room did not work, making it challenging to leave valuables behind.

The only three redeeming qualities of Hotel Playa Carmen considering the price of 175 U.S dollars a night are the location (it is 70 meters to the beach), the small swimming pool (which is a nice feature especially after the beach) and the air conditioning. In line with the movie theater analogy, Hotel Playa Carmen is like a bad movie that uses special effects to make up for a poor script, production and experience.

My sincere advice to management and the owners of Hotel Playa Carmen; focus on getting the fundamentals of a 175 U.S dollar a night right first - including bedding quality, decor, guidelines on the usage of the facilities, security and room fittings. Alternatively drop your price. A price of a 85 U.S dollars a night is fair, good value and less of the script to a movie called "Daylight Robbery".

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank alain p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina L, Director General at Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Hola,

At the time, we're working hard to improve our service and our hospitality at Hotel Playa Carmen. I'd like to show you some of the new changes we've made, including the renovated decoration. The most important thing for us is that we do our best to make sure that our guests stays are memorable and enjoyable.

We regret that some of our guests were not happy with their stay with us, but we are doing everything possible to improve and ensure a quiet and comfortable stay in our hotel.

We thank all our customers that help us grow every day with their comments and opinions.

We invite you to visit us and see our renewal and enjoy a beautiful and relaxing vacation at our very beautiful beaches.

Thank you for your comments,

Best Regards,

Carolina Loria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Hotel Playa Carmen is located next to beach with bi-lingual staff who is very kind and willing to assist. If you are working while on vacation they have very reliable internet which was necessary for me to get the job done! Roy is extremely friendly and helpful and can provide insight for all tours nearby (even to those who were not hotel guests).

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina L, Director General at Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Hola,

Thanks for your comments. We are happy to hear that your stance was pleasant.

Roy send you regards!

See you soon!
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Great hotel for the price we paid.
We came during low season and paid an excelent rate.
Hotel is clean, has a great view from the balcony of the ocean, air conditioning and hot water.
The hotel is in an excelent location .
I highly recomend this hotel for the price ,location, cleanness and European flair

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebeca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hola Rebeca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are glad that you liked our hotel, we are always taking care of everything.
Also, thank you for the high recommendation, we will be happy to have you here again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

If you want to go there get a room on the third floor because I got a room on the lowest floor in front of the pool and so I couldn't sleep because of the noise people did in the upper floors.It has a great location! The beds are a little uncomfortable. The pool has a good size!Go there if you are looking for a good location!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maripaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina L, Director General at Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016
Google Translation

Hola Maripaz,

Usualmente la primera planta, es mas familiar o bien para grupos de amigos. Por lo que el estilo vacacional de estos clientes es un poco mas bullicioso, aunque muy natural y lo respetamos. Es cierto, nuestro tercer piso es mucho mas tranquilo, porque no esta en frente de la piscina, ni cerca de las áreas comunes del hotel. Esperamos que puedas regresar y quedarte con nosotros, estoy segura que disfrutarías tu estancia en una de nuestras habitaciones Deluxe ubicadas en el 3er piso. Gracias por tus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews