We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The property and location are outstanding, The food and beverage prices are high and when you add on the 23 % tax and tip it puts it to expensive for costa rica, and most other places. two margaritas at the lobby bar were $38 .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervlehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    279
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
665
816
19
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from 10 days at this resort and cannot wait to return. We've stayed at quite a few Four Seasons over the last few years (Scottsdale, Chicago, Lanai, Maui, Egypt), and to our surprise, this is our new number 1. The only improvement my husband could come up with is one more golf course so he had more than one choice (well and free wifi although it is an easy walk to the lobby).

Rooms - Like many of the reviewers, I cannot imagine there is a bad room in the hotel. Our room was on the first floor near the pool and we loved it. It was very large, with dark wood accents and a very large screened in porch. All the rooms have ocean views and we were able to see iguanas and monkeys from our porch. The housekeeping service is twice a day and was very thorough.

Grounds/Amenities - Everything is in close proximity to the non-suite/villa rooms. The hotel is well maintained and has everything you could need including a business center. The floral arrangements were changed daily and contained beautiful local flowers.

All guests can use the Prieta Beach Club which has both a lunch and dinner restaurant and a great pool. The service isn't quite up to the same level as the pool at the FS but the views are great.

You don't need to worry about ice or water. We had tap water the whole time and had no issues.

There are many daily activities to choose from so you will not be bored on your vacation.

We also did the nature hike that goes from one beach to the other. Be warned, there are A LOT of stairs but it was worth it to see the views and wildlife (both the howler and white faced monkeys). Go early so it's not to hot and take a map.

Spa - I had a massage and volcanic mud wrap and both were wonderful. The therapist was very professional and attentive without being chatty. The spa has a great outdoor spa and plunge pool that looks out over the ocean. In addition, the fitness center is well equipped with cardio machines and weights.

Restaurants - We tried all the restaurants except for Congo's. Our two favorites were Di Mare (Italian) and Marea at the Beach Club. The caprese salad and pasta carbonara at Di Mare were fantastic. Marea had great seafood choices and served slightly larger portions at a slightly lower price. All restaurants had great service. Caracol was a great steak restaurant but is very expensive. It's worth a splurge for one evening. Tico's is also a good choice as you can order food from their menu, Papagayo or even Di Mare if they are not too busy. We loved sitting in the bar and ordering a variety of food.

Staff - The service is what truly sets FS apart and this resort is no exception. I have a very elementary understanding of Spanish and this did not matter. The staff has a good grasp of English. Everywhere we went, the staff went out of their way to make you happy. I couldn't begin to name all of those that were gracious to us during our trip.

Excursions - We did both the Witch's Rock zipline and the Rincon volcano tour arranged through the hotel. I would recommend both. The resort is somewhat isolated so it was nice to get out a few days.

Airport Transfer - We used Issys Tours based on other reviews. They were great, easy and about half the price of the hotel.


Thank you to Paschal and the entire staff for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just like all other Four Seasons properties, this hotel is a gem. Set on the Papagayo Penninsula between the Gulf and the Pacific Ocean, you're lucky to have a choice between two great beaches - the Pacific is tranquil and quiet, and the Gulf side is a bit rougher and better for activities. The resort is about a 45 minute drive from the new (and gorgeous) Liberia airport. The roads up until the Papagayo Penninsula aren't great, FYI. The Penninsula is very much a gated-type community with a beautiful golf course and meticulously gardened.

The resort is very modern and has several very good restaurants. I was pleased with all the food (and I'm a super-picky vegetarian - they were able to accommodate me easily). We had a private beach dinner on the Gulf side (a bit windy at night) as well as a private chef dinner in our villa. Both were worthwhile experiences, and the chefs and staff were superbly accommodating to our group.

We had a 1-bd villa with plunge pool as well as two rooms connected by a bridge, which was very convenient for our family of three couples. The only con is that the villas are quite a distance from the main resort facilities, and you have to call a golf cart to pick you up. They came quickly, however, but I would've preferred being closer to the beaches and pools. Also, we felt obligated to tip the driver every time.

The beaches and pools are very clean. The Pacific side does have jellyfish, so beware. Great shell and coral collecting!

We had some wildlife in our rooms, including a small crab, a small lizard, and a scorpion(!). However, this is Costa Rica, and wildlife abounds. We saw monkeys and giant black iguanas from our balcony.

The rooms are very spacious, with all the mod-cons. I was a bit annoyed that the housekeepers kept closing the doors and putting on the AC when we had gorgeous Pacific breezes! We preferred the screened doors and/or plantation shutters at night.

Now, for the cons. One, it's pricey. Two, it's pricey. Three, it's pricey. We felt obligated to tip everyone all the time for all the service (because the staff is amazing). Also, I have to say that I felt somewhat nickle-and-dimed. Meals were insanely expensive - $150 for BBQ for two, almost $300 for six for buffet breakfast. (And this doesn't include the private dinners.)

Hotel provides sunscreen and bug spray - but we didn't encounter any bugs in January.

All in all, it's very much worth its five star rating!

Room Tip: villa, if you can afford it, and one closer to the main resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our fifth year here, having stayed in rooms and now the Residence Club. This property is amazing, both in terms of facilities and staff. The attention to detail is outstanding. It occupies the entire Papagayo Peninsula, so it is very private. Secluded yes, but I don't understand the people who complained about how far away it is. If you want to travel around all of Costa Rica then you wouldn't be picking this resort to begin with. They meet you at the airport, take care of all your bags, and when you arrive they greet you personally by name, offer you drinks and cool towels as soon as you get out of the car. Check in is a breeze, and they give you a golf cart ride to your room or residence. It is service you just don't find anywhere else. Pascal, who is the General Manager, is amazing and so attentive.

The rooms/condos are fantastic. Large, decorated pleasantly, every amenity has been thought of. The bathrooms are very big and full of L'Occitane products, my favorite. Housekeeping is thorough and pleasant. The accommodations are very comfortable. And if you have a residence they will stock the fridge with whatever you want.

The spa is unbelievable. First, the staff is professional and so friendly. The facilities and services they offer are the best I've seen anywhere. Super massages. Absolutely no complaints. Prices are high, but this is the Four Seasons. And the fitness center is also great, they even bring cold washcloths to you during your workout. The attention to detail and comfort is incredible.

The food is good. Expensive, but again, its the Four Seasons. There are four restaurants, a bar, and the Beach Club (which is a bit off property and not actually the Four Seasons). Di Mare is definitely the best. Arnoldo at Di Mare is the greatest waiter in the world. Some would say Caracol- the steak house on the golf course, is the best but they don't honor requests to be seated outside when you've reserved so its a bit annoying. The breakfast buffet at Papagayo is not to be missed, nor is the Brazilian meat night at Congos- Royner was a fabulous waiter. Ticos bar has great small plates, but the outside part is also a cigar area so if you don't enjoy the smoke you might want to sit further inside. The staff in all the restaurants are such a pleasure and so attentive. Although we only come once a year they still remember what drink you like and what food allergies you have.

Randoms: Cannot comment on the golf course, but I hear it is fantastic. The cooking class we did one year was fun. There is a stair climb/hike that is off the adult beach side that is quite the workout, and great views. They will also take you to do the zipline, and to go surfing, both of which are fun excursions and not far away. There is free wifi with the Residence Club, but if you have to pay for it, it is outrageously expensive.

There are two beaches and multiple pools. We always go to the adult pool and what is supposed to be the adult beach. However, the adult beach always seems to have children on it. Amazing facilities though. As soon as you come down they set up your chairs for you with towels etc. They usually come around and ask you if you want drinks, food, more towels, or pretty much anything, although this year they seemed a bit short staffed. The best staff there are Francisco and Brian, who are so helpful and so nice. As Costa Rica does not have private beaches, there are vendors that come around, either to get you to do water sports or to sell you something. The Four Seasons tells you not to accept their offers (their water sports are not safety regulated). At one point there were 8 vendors there, horsing around, loudly talking on cell phones, blowing whistles, and playing music- not on the beach but actually on the Four Seasons property. They were also throwing a football which kept hitting the Four Seasons' building. The staff should have said something to them, but unfortunately didn't.

Ultimately, this remains my favorite place to stay. I believe it is the only place one should go to in Costa Rica, and I would go out of my way to vacation here whenever possible. The staff is just so nice. Hopefully I'll be able to come back every year, and I'm sure the level of service, accommodations and facilities will continue to be amazing. They give you a real vacation, true relaxation, and I can't recommend it enough. Its a great country and a great resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My family stayed in a Villa at The Four Seasons. Our Villa had Wi-Fi, a full kitchen, living and dining rooms, along with 3 bedrooms. Also had a screened in patio area with a BBQ, table and sink. They had a Teen Center with X-box games, pool table, kitchen, etc. Thenresort property is on the beach and had access to a number of amazing adventures and trips. The pools were great! In all, it was a fantastic resort and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyJoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,577 reviews
4.9 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
11.2 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Gulf Of Papagayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing