We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just like all other Four Seasons properties, this hotel is a gem. Set on the Papagayo Penninsula between the Gulf and the Pacific Ocean, you're lucky to have a choice between two great beaches - the Pacific is tranquil and quiet, and the Gulf side is a bit rougher and better for activities. The resort is about a 45 minute drive from the new (and gorgeous) Liberia airport. The roads up until the Papagayo Penninsula aren't great, FYI. The Penninsula is very much a gated-type community with a beautiful golf course and meticulously gardened.

The resort is very modern and has several very good restaurants. I was pleased with all the food (and I'm a super-picky vegetarian - they were able to accommodate me easily). We had a private beach dinner on the Gulf side (a bit windy at night) as well as a private chef dinner in our villa. Both were worthwhile experiences, and the chefs and staff were superbly accommodating to our group.

We had a 1-bd villa with plunge pool as well as two rooms connected by a bridge, which was very convenient for our family of three couples. The only con is that the villas are quite a distance from the main resort facilities, and you have to call a golf cart to pick you up. They came quickly, however, but I would've preferred being closer to the beaches and pools. Also, we felt obligated to tip the driver every time.

The beaches and pools are very clean. The Pacific side does have jellyfish, so beware. Great shell and coral collecting!

We had some wildlife in our rooms, including a small crab, a small lizard, and a scorpion(!). However, this is Costa Rica, and wildlife abounds. We saw monkeys and giant black iguanas from our balcony.

The rooms are very spacious, with all the mod-cons. I was a bit annoyed that the housekeepers kept closing the doors and putting on the AC when we had gorgeous Pacific breezes! We preferred the screened doors and/or plantation shutters at night.

Now, for the cons. One, it's pricey. Two, it's pricey. Three, it's pricey. We felt obligated to tip everyone all the time for all the service (because the staff is amazing). Also, I have to say that I felt somewhat nickle-and-dimed. Meals were insanely expensive - $150 for BBQ for two, almost $300 for six for buffet breakfast. (And this doesn't include the private dinners.)

Hotel provides sunscreen and bug spray - but we didn't encounter any bugs in January.

All in all, it's very much worth its five star rating!

Room Tip: villa, if you can afford it, and one closer to the main resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    260
    85
    29
    14
See reviews for
598
761
18
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our fifth year here, having stayed in rooms and now the Residence Club. This property is amazing, both in terms of facilities and staff. The attention to detail is outstanding. It occupies the entire Papagayo Peninsula, so it is very private. Secluded yes, but I don't understand the people who complained about how far away it is. If you want to travel around all of Costa Rica then you wouldn't be picking this resort to begin with. They meet you at the airport, take care of all your bags, and when you arrive they greet you personally by name, offer you drinks and cool towels as soon as you get out of the car. Check in is a breeze, and they give you a golf cart ride to your room or residence. It is service you just don't find anywhere else. Pascal, who is the General Manager, is amazing and so attentive.

The rooms/condos are fantastic. Large, decorated pleasantly, every amenity has been thought of. The bathrooms are very big and full of L'Occitane products, my favorite. Housekeeping is thorough and pleasant. The accommodations are very comfortable. And if you have a residence they will stock the fridge with whatever you want.

The spa is unbelievable. First, the staff is professional and so friendly. The facilities and services they offer are the best I've seen anywhere. Super massages. Absolutely no complaints. Prices are high, but this is the Four Seasons. And the fitness center is also great, they even bring cold washcloths to you during your workout. The attention to detail and comfort is incredible.

The food is good. Expensive, but again, its the Four Seasons. There are four restaurants, a bar, and the Beach Club (which is a bit off property and not actually the Four Seasons). Di Mare is definitely the best. Arnoldo at Di Mare is the greatest waiter in the world. Some would say Caracol- the steak house on the golf course, is the best but they don't honor requests to be seated outside when you've reserved so its a bit annoying. The breakfast buffet at Papagayo is not to be missed, nor is the Brazilian meat night at Congos- Royner was a fabulous waiter. Ticos bar has great small plates, but the outside part is also a cigar area so if you don't enjoy the smoke you might want to sit further inside. The staff in all the restaurants are such a pleasure and so attentive. Although we only come once a year they still remember what drink you like and what food allergies you have.

Randoms: Cannot comment on the golf course, but I hear it is fantastic. The cooking class we did one year was fun. There is a stair climb/hike that is off the adult beach side that is quite the workout, and great views. They will also take you to do the zipline, and to go surfing, both of which are fun excursions and not far away. There is free wifi with the Residence Club, but if you have to pay for it, it is outrageously expensive.

There are two beaches and multiple pools. We always go to the adult pool and what is supposed to be the adult beach. However, the adult beach always seems to have children on it. Amazing facilities though. As soon as you come down they set up your chairs for you with towels etc. They usually come around and ask you if you want drinks, food, more towels, or pretty much anything, although this year they seemed a bit short staffed. The best staff there are Francisco and Brian, who are so helpful and so nice. As Costa Rica does not have private beaches, there are vendors that come around, either to get you to do water sports or to sell you something. The Four Seasons tells you not to accept their offers (their water sports are not safety regulated). At one point there were 8 vendors there, horsing around, loudly talking on cell phones, blowing whistles, and playing music- not on the beach but actually on the Four Seasons property. They were also throwing a football which kept hitting the Four Seasons' building. The staff should have said something to them, but unfortunately didn't.

Ultimately, this remains my favorite place to stay. I believe it is the only place one should go to in Costa Rica, and I would go out of my way to vacation here whenever possible. The staff is just so nice. Hopefully I'll be able to come back every year, and I'm sure the level of service, accommodations and facilities will continue to be amazing. They give you a real vacation, true relaxation, and I can't recommend it enough. Its a great country and a great resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My family stayed in a Villa at The Four Seasons. Our Villa had Wi-Fi, a full kitchen, living and dining rooms, along with 3 bedrooms. Also had a screened in patio area with a BBQ, table and sink. They had a Teen Center with X-box games, pool table, kitchen, etc. Thenresort property is on the beach and had access to a number of amazing adventures and trips. The pools were great! In all, it was a fantastic resort and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyJoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and our first stay at a FS. We prefer high end hotels and were not disappointed with the FS. We had a basic room, but upon check in, there was a bottle of chilled champagne and a small cake in the room. Their basic room is great, although our friends had a suite with a plunge pool, and that was even better. :) Our view was beautiful, overlooking the water and wonderful monkey and bird watching each morning. The staff was polite, helpful. We were told they were at 93% capacity during our stay there but you would never have known it. Very quiet atmosphere and hardly anyone around the pools. The concierge and the spa were great.
The only cons I can think of were the prices of the food at the restaurants and the distance from anything. To go anywhere, you have to drive at least 40 minutes. To go to the volcano, or white water rafting, etc., was a 2.5 hour drive one way. So, just consider day trips will be in order if you plan on doing anything off property.
I thought Caracol was a better restaurant/atmosphere than Di Mare, but they were both fine. The brunch in the morning was good and varied.
No swim up bars at the pools, if you're looking for that.
All in all, a fabulous trip and we will definitely be back. We just may stay in a different location next time to experience other areas of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alikat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Usual Four Seasons service and hotel. We are looking forward to returning one day. In the mean time, there are other FS to visit. Great hotel for a family. As with any FS, there is a cost to the service and facility, but worth it if it is important to you.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings. One of them faces the Pacific Ocean. We were on the third floor directly in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afbf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
4.8 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
26.7 km away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
26.6 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.1 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Gulf Of Papagayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing