We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, room to spread out in, clean...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hopkins, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert H
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, room to spread out in, clean, nicely furnished.”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Unless you want to stay in a resort hotel, about 2 miles from downtown Hopkins, this is the place to stay. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the town of Hopkins from. Latitude 17 is located right in the main part of town on Main Street. The manager, Mirko, was great, and met us upon our arrival, he also provided excellent driving instructions which were needed since google maps put us in the wrong location for the property. He provided a detailed orientation for the property and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Latitude 17 consists of 2 separate units / buildings at the front (on Main Street), and a building in the back which has about 3 units altogether (Not sure how many units in back building since I did not view them). We stayed in the front, right unit (1 bedroom, 1 bath). Even though it is located on the main street, right downtown, we heard very little noise, with the A/C units on. The listing is as described, and the picture is of unit stayed in. The picture does not show that Mirko has now enclosed the downstairs portion of the building, which makes the unit look better from the outside.

The grocery store and fresh vegetable stand are located just a few feet from the property, and there are restaurants located all around. The living area is a nice size, and the bedroom has a great closet for storage of your clothes and luggage. Air conditioning (2 units, one for living area, and the other one for bedroom) works great, and the unit had both a front and back porch, to sit and enjoy. The kitchen is well stocked, and furniture is in good shape and very functional. Water pressure was good (hot & cold), but best to buy purified water for drinking. Mirko has many different short and long term rentals, is well known and liked in town, so will be very helpful is you have any questions at all about the area or getting hooked up for tours and travel throughout Belize. The only negative about the unit was that the bathroom is very small and the shower barely fits one person.

Mirko also supplied free use of bicycles while staying at the property.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, and room to spread-out into.
Liked least: Bathroom - Shower is small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for your extensive and exciting review about Latitude 17 Cabana and the Village of Hopkins. Hopefully you found time to enjoy the hammocks. Should your travel plans bring you back to Belize we would love to have you as a returning guest. Thanks, your Latitude 17 Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin K
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay, hammocking and watching the village life pass by”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Hopkins is a great place for a stay in Belize. We loved our stay at Latitude 17, one of the front cabanas with a large porch by the village road where we watched the village life pass by. To be in the centre of the villige is convenient, with the supermarket, vegetable stands, restaurants and cafes close by. Access to the beach is just across the road as well. Of course, village life means village sounds. No need to bring an alarm clock. The rooster will take care of this. Latitude 17 also provides bicycles which we used daily. Within 5-15 minutes you reach the village bakery, tour providors, more restaurants and the Garfuna culture center. The stay was easy and relaxing. Latitude 17 was very helpful with every need. To a fee, they arrange laundry and can also arrange transport from Dangriga airport

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, access to bicycles, humming birds in the tree
Travelling group: Med partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
"Thank you for your extensive and exciting review about Latitude 17 Cabana and the Village of Hopkins. Hopefully you found time to enjoy the hammocks. Should your travel plans bring you back to Belize we would love to have you as a returning guest. Thanks, your Latitude 17 Team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice clean well built property nicely furnished.”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this nice newer and nicely kept upper floor house for our stay in Hopkins and were very pleased with the quality of the furnishings and cleanliness. Very nice bed and linens.
If you are staying in Hopkins, I would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The internet was prone to cutting out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
"Thank you for your extensive and exciting review about Latitude 17 Cabana and the Village of Hopkins. Hopefully you found time to enjoy the hammocks. Should your travel plans bring you back to Belize we would love to have you as a returning guest. Thanks, your Latitude 17 Team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScubaTrav...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This has everything to make for the perfect vacation with an amazing location.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at this location for the coast part of our trip to Belize. The location could not have been any better. It is placed less than a block from the beach and a block from the main road, Hopkins Road, that leads into the village making for great easy to travel to surrounding attractions. The unit has everything one could ask for including a stove, dishes, pots, pans, two dinner tables (one indoors and one on the front patio), a fold out couch, fridge, and a five gallon jug of drinking water provided. The condition of the unit is top notch and there is parking provided for those who choose to drive a rental car.

The unit is located with in walking distance of numerous great restaurants but there was two bicycles included as well if the destination was a touch too distant to walk. A grocery store is just down the road that has everything a person would need to cook at "home" and there were two local fruits and vegetable stands within walking distance as well. Hopkins is located within an easy commute to Cockscomb and the inland Blue Hole attractions. The beach in Hopkins was well maintained and provided very smooth swimming waters due to being protected from large waves by the off shore reef.

This unit was everything we could have asked for during our stay and I certainly recommend staying here for anyone looking to stay off resort or are looking to plan there own trip to Hopkins Belize.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you for your extensive and exciting review about Latitude 17 Cabana and the Village of Hopkins. Hopefully you found time to enjoy the hammocks. Should your travel plans bring you back to Belize we would love to have you as a returning guest.

Thanks, your Latitude 17 Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, nice location, attentive service.”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Latitude 17 (the north cabana) for almost three weeks this June (2015). We spent much of our time in Hopkins itself, but used this great place as a home base for several day trips to other parts of Belize (such as Placencia, Punta Gorda, San Ignacio, and the numerous ruins and preserves in the area).

We could not have asked for more in this one bedroom cabana. It was clean and modern with a well equipped kitchen and a great front porch. We felt comfortable cooking in a meal here and there when we wanted to. The location was great to get a real feeling of what a slower-paced life is like in Belize. Grocery stores, fruit / vegetable stands, restaurants, tour outfitters, and more were all within a couple blocks of the place. It is not on the beach itself, but the beach is only a block away when you want that.

The cabana and the location are made even better by the property manager named Emma. She has lived in Hopkins for many years and knows the place and the people personally. She runs and owns a motorcycle / dune buggy / golf cart / etc. rental shop on the same property so she can help you with those activities if you want (but we never felt any pressure to do so). That also means she is available everyday with questions you may have, items you may need replenishing in your place, etc. Having Emma there made our stay even more convenient ... plus she is a kind hearted and fun person!

We have already, and will continue to, refer people to Emma and this great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How easy and convenient it was to live there for almost three weeks.
Liked least: No real complaints. If we needed anything, Emma made it happen for us quickly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing