We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
25
44
36
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
44
36
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phu quoc night market comfortable bed seafood star hotel one night breakfast buffet a great place to stay hotel manager would stay again nice place two nights great view of the river ferry border cambodia karaoke
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We stayed in the River Hotel for 3 nights after arriving from Cambodia. The hotel must be the largest in Ha Tien. Rooms were large and clean with a fridge, TV, WiFi, and ample mini bar. The restaurant was good enough but we did tend to eat out.

The only downside of our stay was a guy named Mr Cuong who told us that he was the River Hotel manager and the he could arrange our onward journey. I have posted this in the Ha Tien Forum so will not repeat it here.

Apart from that we did enjoy our stay BUT had to knock off 1 star as we feel that the real manager, staff, and security should perhaps keep their ears to the ground and listen to what is going on.

James

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANH2702, Directeur général at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Jacques, thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Ha Tien. We are very happy that you enjoyed our rooms and it was a pleasure to receive you; for the duper problem you met we have already answer by mail after a letter from you, we put one complaint to the police against this guy; on the other hand, I think you could have inquired with our team or even myself, because how could you believe that a badly dressed guy with an old motorcycle in front of the hotel could be the director of the 'hotel; it is also a pity that you did not report this problem immediately, we would have stopped this duper on the spot; In addition, our tour desk can book your tickets without any problem. It's a shame to have removed a star while we are for nothing in your choice to book your trip with someone who claims to be the manager of the hotel and you believe him it while all our staff could have told you that this no one was not our director. Still sorry for this problem that seems to have affected you a lot and we hope to see you again and meet you this time with me, the real general manager.Mr CHANH .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

A hotel with very nice location just at the river.
Rooms are nice, clean and fairly large.
The pool is OK but with a boring location.
The restaurant is not so good so I was eating outside all meals.
No bar at the hotel
Staff was nice, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KjellAkeAlmroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANH2702, Directeur général at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Kjell-Åke, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your stay in Ha Tien and we appreciate your opinion. It is our main priority concern to do the best for you. I see that you are very active to submit a review since this is the second one after booking.com; For the pool we will open in a few days an access that will give a much more pleasant access to swimming. We are sorry for the inconvenience with our restaurant and we are changing all our menus in a few days and we open a bar in front of the pool. We are very happy that you have apreciated our staff and your compliments will be a motivation for our team. If you come back, you can ask Mr. KHIEM or Mr. ERIC to communicate with you clearly; and you can also speak French with these collaborators. Thank you very much for your attention and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Sincerely Mr Chanh General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here after an absolutely horrendous day of travelling that had resulted in us missing the boat to Phu Quốc. We made a great choice as the room was lovely, huge and very clean, staff were friendly and very accommodating to our last minute booking and the breakfast had a great selection including an egg & noodle bar. Some reviews have criticised the lack of Western options but this is a hotel in Vietnam so naturally the breakfast food appeals to a Vietnamese palette. I enjoyed the variety of options and trying some things I wouldn’t usually eat, it’s one of the joys of travelling.

Particular thanks would have to go to the lovely man in reception on our final morning who helped us get a boat ticket & transport to the marina with exceptional speed. Without him we would have been stranded as the dodgy tour company we booked the tickets with never turned up.

Only criticism would be that the pool is literally on the road which makes it quite unappealing to use. As we didn’t need to use the pool during our stay this didn’t affect us directly but is something to note.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Inspire278730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANH2702, Directeur général at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are delighted to have been able to satisfy you and have been able to participate in the success of your holidays; we will congratulate the charming boy very much; him name is Mr Kiem and he speaks English very well; For the pool we build a passage directly from the hotel without stepping on the road to get there it should be finished in less than 2 weeks, the pool remaining accessible without interruption of course; thank you again and it was a pleasure to welcome smart customers like you who understand that traveling is discovering; all our young (and less young) team will be informed of your review; I look forward to receive you again Mr Chanh General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Super overpriced hotel. Old fashioned looks and almost nobody speaks Englisch. Breakfast was good, but first you had to pay: "Give me the money".......
Needs al lot to get back the earlier and better revieuws.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bram D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANH2702, Directeur général at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Hello Bram we are sorry that you were disappointed by our hotel; we are doing everything to improve our services and this year we recruited English and even French staff; for decoration, the hotel has been renovated this summer; As for breakfast, it is very surprising that you are asked for money because it is automatically included in the price of our rooms. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us of this problem immediately, you put us a mediocre note and it is not very nice because you did not complain during your stay, do not hesitate to ask to speak to the direction if you stay in our hotel, best regards. Mr. Chanh General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Scruffy, run down hotel where our toilet leaked and shower didn't work. The swimming pool is small and has no shade around it. Lovely town though and it's in a great spot. Food is average too. Try Oasis cafe down the road for breakfast.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mrsbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANH2702, Directeur général at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour Mme Bails nous sommes désolés pour ces désagréments, d'un autre côté ce n'était pas votre toilette qui fuyait mais la douche qui est à l'arrière de tous les WC en Asie et nous l'avons changé; pour la piscine tout a été rénové cet été et de beaux parasols ont été installés. Par contre citez un de nos concurrents n'est pas très correct et nous rapportons votre avis à TripAdvisor car cela est interdit, sachant plus que notre petit déjeuner est très supérieur et inclus dans le prix de votre chambre; salutations M. Chanh directeur général.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews