We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,516)
Filter reviews
2,516 results
Traveller rating
791
1,115
419
113
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
1,115
419
113
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach wing ferringhi tower tower block night market ihg member sea view overhead bridge main building swimming pool indian food table tennis busy road kids suite kids club george town beach front water sports
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,516 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Hi. I am writing to share my experience in Holiday Inn Resort Penang.
We were a group in four and it was our first visit to Malaysia, dated from 25 to 28 September, After that will go to KL. First, we would like to thanks Mr. Mohd Azhar Ibrahim for helping us during our late checked-in. Friendly and humorous to explain for everything about the hotel and Penang matters. It made us have a good impression for the city and your hotel.
The rooms were good. The varieties of the breakfast dishes were attractive. All of the breakfast time can see your staffs having a smiling face. We enjoyed it in every morning. Outdoor swimming pool can create a funny moment by playing water volleyball and swimming. Others activity facility, table tennis and snooker also good. Only if the schedule of the shuttle bus can be arranged more frequently to town instead of once a day are much appreciated. Once again, thank you all your staff and we will come back again cause some of the attractions in Penang was still not to visit.

Room Tip: Two buildings (Seafront building is better because it's close to swimming pool)
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manfred_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronS1728, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Manfred_Ko,

Thank you for taking the time share your extensive review of our hotel on your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

It is always a pleasure to read when our colleagues are recognized and Azhar will be commended accordingly.

Thank you also for highlighting our rooms, breakfast and other hotel facilities and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We stayed here for just one night as our flights changed last min' and needed an extra night at beginning of trip and then go onto our main booked hotel.

Hotel is on both sides of the road with a covered footbridge connecting.

Rooms were nice and spacious, clean and comfortable.
We had a balcony with hill view BUT also had a sea view which was nice.
Breakfast was pleasant and we enjoyed the variety....

However the pool didn't have that wow factor and I could see the odd cracked tile which really put me off, it was also a rectangle shape whereas other hotels have beautiful curvy pools with palms and plants near by .

Overall I would stay again at the hotel as I had a good sleep and good breakfast which to me is very important.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greyelegance70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronS1728, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Greyelegance70,

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your one night stay with us here at Holiday Inn Resort Penang and enjoyed both your room and breakfast.

Thank you also for recommending us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel lies in an amazing location , we stayed in the beach section with a magnificent sea view , however that was obscured by the dirty glass windows which apparently needs good cleaning together with the curtains that were dirty too.
Also the standing mirror needs to be changed as it's blurred and has large dark spots.
However to be honest ,the staff were friendly, the restaurant offered delicious varieties and the hotel as a whole has all the potentials to move into a 5 star rank if they managed to sort out these minor staff.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronS1728, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Mohamed H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and have taken note of your comments which will be rectified accordingly.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a great location being located only meters away from the night markets, eateries, multiple massage centres and more tailors to pick from than you will every need.
We stayed in the King Tower which is located across the road from the main building and beach. We stayed on the 21st floor with a sea view and balcony.
The room;
Great view of the sea and shops below.
Really really noisy from the traffic below. ( needs double glazing) found this very unrelaxing.
Old room that had a renovation ( bathroom was still old an tatty.
Good cooling system.
Only 2 teabags ( pretty tight in any hotel standard)
Asked for extra pillows but haven’t received them.
Really really comfortable king size bed and comfortable lounge chairs.
Outdoor mini clothes line ( nice touch)
Good size tv.
The hotel;
Wonderful front office staff, check in was quick, informative and very very polite.
Lobby upgrades look great.
Staff are lovely and very helpful.
Long walk from room to have a swim and breakfast.
The rooms are a good price for the area.

Would I stay again, no as it is sooo noisy in the Room we are in and we have another 3 days to go

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KerryR290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronS1728, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear KerryR290,

Thank you for sharing your extensive feedback on your current stay with us here in Penang.

I have noted your comments in particular with regards the pillows and tea bags which I have addressed internally and has now been been rectified.

It is also nice to read when our team members are being recognized for being both lovely and friendly.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

good location on the sandy beach of Penang
good reception and staff
good food, rich and suite different people
good atmosphere for families
full of life and sport activities
I had a pleasant weekend
I like to come back

Room Tip: two wings, on the beach and on the other side of road, but both are good
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zakwana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronS1728, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear zakwana11,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Resort Penang and for highlighting the many great points of the hotel, local area and our team members.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews