We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely stay over Christmas and the New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2018

After looking at all the hotels in the Batu Ferringhi area, we chose the Holiday Inn Penang firstly because of its location and secondly because my husband is IHG member.

Following a 17 hour journey, our arrival at the Tower side was lovely. A polite lady at reception welcomed us and checked us in efficiently. She also acknowledged my husband's gold membership status (which neither of us realised he had). A bonus at this time also was that they would offer us a complimentary breakfast during our stay.

Even though we had booked a standard room, we were kindly upgraded to a superior room with a beach view on one of the higher floors. It was a spacious room and we were gifted with a fruit platter and sparkling bottle of non alcoholic wine which was a lovely touch.

After having an afternoon nap after a 17 hour flight from the UK my husband noticed the toilet in the bathroom wasn't flushing properly and the hand bidet was faulty too. Upon reporting the problem guest services tried their best to fix the issue but in the end decided to give us the option of moving to a similar room or a top floor suite. This was a pleasant surprise as we had only booked a room only stay in a standard room.

The breakfast at the hotel was excellent. I have been fortunate to stay at some of the best hotels in the world and some of these could learn a something from the slick running of the breakfast rush. There was excellent organisation of table allocation during the busy periods by staff with CB radios and all tables had occupied and vacant signs. Egg and Omelette orders done very slickly via a very basic but effective system. A wide choice of International and local cuisine - and an added bonus to have Tarek Teh and Roti Canai available every morning. The staff were extremely attentive staff and excellent hygiene levels.

The location of this property is excellent with easy access to the night market and food hawkers. The beach is clean however we were advised against swimming in the sea due to the jellyfish. It is a lovely walk down the beach to the Hard Rock Hotel.

We booked our trip to Palau Payar via the activities desk in the main lobby and had a wonderful day of snorkelling on the Thursday, I would say that this trip is a must if you love the sea!

You can get taxis quite easily using Uber or Grab. We managed to get a local sightseeing tour organised via the local money changer. On our last day, our driver Mahendra took us to the airport via an alternative route and we got to see the Island and various fruit farms.

All in all a very friendly place reflected by the hotel staff. Only downside which has prevented 5 stars was the awful night long racket from the night of the 30th December all the way through to the 1st January from one of the apartments opposite on the mountain side of the Tower. The noise seemed to project itself to the 23rd floor of our hotel

We didn't use the pool, so cannot comment on that however I did have a Malay massage in the cabanas on my last day and ended my holiday in a complete relaxed state. The staff at the spa were very courteous and Rani who did my massage was excellent. I paid full price as it was New Year's Day however the spa do offer a weekday discount which I would recommend one should take advantage of!

This is a lovely find of a hotel - I would recommend it to anyone that comes to Penang with the intention to sightsee and we would definitely stay here again but maybe outside of holiday season.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nasira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Nasira K,

Delighted to read your great review on your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Resort Penang over the festive season.

Thank you for highlighting our breakfast buffet with its wide selection of Western, Chinese, Indian and Malay dishes and also our teams efficiency during this busy time.

It is always good to read when individual team members are recognized and I will share your positive feedback with Rani from the Spa accordingly.

Thank you also for mentioning our great location with the beach at the end of our garden and the night market, local cafes and the rapid transport bus stop just steps from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again to Penang in the future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

The building is too old! I would rate it as 2 stars! The pictures are deceiving and totally different than on the websites. The paints are old and they are cracks on the walls. The rooms are smelly as well

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mohammed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Mohammed I,

Its a pity that you did not highlight your dissatisfaction during your recent stay with us here so that we could have given you a better impression of our hotel. We do have 14 room types between the Ferringhi Tower and the Beach Wing with the Beach Wing rooms being scheduled for a full renovation in the later part of this year.

Thank you for sharing your comments,

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Stayed at 1226/1227 went to the reception an informed that the aircond is leaking and the minibar table was fill with water and carpet was wet. Came back at almost 2am saw they only place towels on the floor and the minibar top was still filled w the aircond water. Too tired to even complaint as we were tired and going to check out early next day.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear iman m,

Sorry to read of this incident that you experienced on your recent stay with us and this will be further investigated and rectified with those concerned to ensure there is no repeat of this kind.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel is a 45 minutes drive from the airport.
It is located on the other end of the island.
Staff were really hospitable. Manager was really nice upon arrival.
A one minute walk to the beach front.
Located 5 minutes away from the hard rock cafe penang.
Tons of restaurants and eateries around the hotel.
Night baazar from 7pm -11pm.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rollie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear rollie l,

Thanks for sharing your great review of your recent stay with us here highlighting our great location with the beach, eateries and night market only steps from the hotel and our friendly hospitable staff.

Hope to welcome you back again to Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

I had stayed in Holiday Inn for 2 days with my family.. Very good place with delicious Indian food also.. Kids would love this place with separate play area for them including swimming pool..Neat rooms and courteous service.. Very next to the beach and property is neat and clean... would love to visit next time as well

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ramchandran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Ramchandran P,

Great to read you enjoyed your short break with your family here as we are very much a family hotel offering lots of activities for both the young and old.

We do have delicious North Indian food and 2 specialist Indian chefs who really cook up something special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Cameron Smith
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.6 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,171 reviews
6.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,163 reviews
2.5 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#8 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: €52 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing