We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lone Pine Hotel(Batu Ferringhi)
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Beach Resort(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$193
Prestigia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baba Guesthouse(Batu Ferringhi)
US$17
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa(Batu Ferringhi)
Book now, pay at stay
US$273
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayu Emas Apartments(Batu Ferringhi)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,476)
Filter reviews
3,476 results
Traveller rating
1,353
1,279
508
197
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,353
1,279
508
197
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadventure zonegolden sandsgarden cafenight marketgolden circle membersea facing roomkids clubpool areafamily resortindoor playgroundlife guardsrasa sayangwater sportsgeorge townhillview roomgurney plazalong beach
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 3,476 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Old hotel, so old that dated has become classic resort style. Property is well maintained and in good condition for its age.
Nice pools with water slides for the kids. Great place for family vacation.
5-8pm is Happy Hour @ the pool, great for having a few sunset cocktails.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank ManWai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear ManWai Y,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, happy with the facilities and services, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a partial Seaview room, which unfortunately was directly over the lobby area. Even though we were on the 4th floor, we were kept awake till 11pm most nights by the live singing. We did ask to be moved but the hotel didn't show much interest. Food for breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection. Pool area was lovely, pool activities fun, especially the pool volleyball. As per usual the touts on the beach trying to get you to do water sports are annoying as usual, I found my politeness starting to wane as the day's got on. We used the shuttle bus frequently to Georgetown, that was very handy and free. Great location on Batu Ferringhi, McDonald's, subway, KFC, ATM and minimart opposite the hotel. The only real issues we had with the hotel was the fact it has orientated itself as a family Property, meaning lots of noise from 8am-10pm. From the poolside, rooms and functions by the pool area. This was our fourth stay here and think are last due to management's dis intrest in assisting us on a room move. The thatch roofs of the eating areas around the pool need to be re done, it makes a lovely area look shabby!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Philipstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Philipstravels,

Thank you for your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to express your opinions about our resort on Trip Advisor. I am very disheartened to read about your staying experience. I am deeply apologize for any inconvenience that you have went through. I have already taken all of your comments on board and we are in the process to investigate your case.

We are glad to know that you were happy with our facilities, shuttle bus service and activities, as well as the breakfast. Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have the opportunity to leave you with a more positive experience.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We are a family off 5 and stayed in this hotel the week before xmas and found it wasn't as crowded as we expected, we had connecting rooms on the road side off the hotel and were extremely happy with the size and cleanliness.
If staying there again i would consider having a room that faces the pool as on the first morning it was a shock having the 5;30am and 6;00am wake up call from the local mosque! Lucky for us we are early risers and this would only affect light sleepers and by the 3-4 nights we slept through it. (this would affect most hotels in this area)

If you have young children grab the kids package that includes free entry to the kids adventure zone this was a highlight for our 3 and 8 year olds and the kids water slides and splash park kept them amused while we lazed around, The hotel has a kids pool and a general pool with a roped off area for the adults we never had a problem with getting a sun lounger or table around the pool and there was not a lot off people reserving the chairs and walking away like you find at other hotels.

The food was very good and the meals were quite big in size the breakfast had plenty of options the only thing we found overpriced was the drinks but this is everywhere in Malaysia. they did have a happy hour at 5 but this only slightly reduced the price (approx $8-$9 AUD) each.

Overall our our whole family loved this hotel and would absolutely come back if in this part off Asia again. one tip we can give is become a golden circle member before you come, There is a separate area for members to check in which will save you time

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Globetrottingrommets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Globetrottingrommets,

What a pleasure it has been to welcome you and your family to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La. Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely feedback and sharing it with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that we have met with your expectations and your whole family loved our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for sharing the "Kids heaven" review and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a trip around Malaysia. We deliberately chose a cheaper room and were given a room without a sea view and balcony. For 2 nights that was fine but would suggest a longer stay would need a better room. Facilities in the hotel are good, the Garden cafe serves excellent breakfasts and a good middle of the road menu, the activities for kids look good and the staff are very warm, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoff191278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Geoff191278,

What a delight to receive such an impeccable review. Thank you for sharing the kind words and it's great to know that you enjoyed our facilities and happy with our breakfast's selection. Our associates indeed do their best to provide guests with the expectations that they have to ensure a memorable stay, we wouldn't be able to do it without them. Thank you once again for sharing this with us and we certainly look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

This is our second time staying at the resort, we still love the location, being so close to the market and many eateries. The hotel itself is a great place for kids, lots of kids friendly facilities. Breakfast was great, they had a great selection of food and it was good quality. The kids breakfast corner can offer a bit more choices so the kids don't have to go to the adults section but no big issue.

Compared to last time we stayed, the room has deteriorated. Some of the furniture really need repair (wear and tear) but functional, the room floor was pretty dirty and needed a good mop, we requested for room slipper and that solved the problem. House keeping also attend to the room really late, after a few days we called before heading out so the room can be made up while we were out.

Overall, still a good choice for Penang and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Kchu,

Welcome back and thank you for your loyalty! Many thanks for the review. We are delighted to know that you love the location, happy with the facilities and breakfast.

I was sad and sorry to read your comments with regards to the room and the cleanness. It is never a pleasure to know that we disappointed a guest. I do acknowledge your remark and I am really sorry to hear about the incident. We certainly take note that we will need to update our room condition. I am sorry for the incident; please rest assured that we will continue to investigate this issue with the team as to ensure this never happens to any other guests.

We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and recover your impression of the resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews