We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lone Pine Hotel(Batu Ferringhi)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa(Batu Ferringhi)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baba Guesthouse(Batu Ferringhi)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Resort Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'Feringghi Haus(Batu Ferringhi)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Beach Resort(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayu Emas Apartments(Batu Ferringhi)
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,501)
Filter reviews
3,501 results
Traveller rating
1,362
1,289
512
198
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,362
1,289
512
198
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadventure zonegolden sandsgarden cafenight marketgolden circle membersea facing roompool areakids clubfamily resortlife guardsindoor playgroundrasa sayangwater sportsgeorge townhillview roomgurney plazalong beach
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 3,501 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We are a family off 5 and stayed in this hotel the week before xmas and found it wasn't as crowded as we expected, we had connecting rooms on the road side off the hotel and were extremely happy with the size and cleanliness.
If staying there again i would consider having a room that faces the pool as on the first morning it was a shock having the 5;30am and 6;00am wake up call from the local mosque! Lucky for us we are early risers and this would only affect light sleepers and by the 3-4 nights we slept through it. (this would affect most hotels in this area)

If you have young children grab the kids package that includes free entry to the kids adventure zone this was a highlight for our 3 and 8 year olds and the kids water slides and splash park kept them amused while we lazed around, The hotel has a kids pool and a general pool with a roped off area for the adults we never had a problem with getting a sun lounger or table around the pool and there was not a lot off people reserving the chairs and walking away like you find at other hotels.

The food was very good and the meals were quite big in size the breakfast had plenty of options the only thing we found overpriced was the drinks but this is everywhere in Malaysia. they did have a happy hour at 5 but this only slightly reduced the price (approx $8-$9 AUD) each.

Overall our our whole family loved this hotel and would absolutely come back if in this part off Asia again. one tip we can give is become a golden circle member before you come, There is a separate area for members to check in which will save you time

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Globetrottingrommets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Globetrottingrommets,

What a pleasure it has been to welcome you and your family to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La. Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely feedback and sharing it with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that we have met with your expectations and your whole family loved our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for sharing the "Kids heaven" review and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a trip around Malaysia. We deliberately chose a cheaper room and were given a room without a sea view and balcony. For 2 nights that was fine but would suggest a longer stay would need a better room. Facilities in the hotel are good, the Garden cafe serves excellent breakfasts and a good middle of the road menu, the activities for kids look good and the staff are very warm, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoff191278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Geoff191278,

What a delight to receive such an impeccable review. Thank you for sharing the kind words and it's great to know that you enjoyed our facilities and happy with our breakfast's selection. Our associates indeed do their best to provide guests with the expectations that they have to ensure a memorable stay, we wouldn't be able to do it without them. Thank you once again for sharing this with us and we certainly look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

This is our second time staying at the resort, we still love the location, being so close to the market and many eateries. The hotel itself is a great place for kids, lots of kids friendly facilities. Breakfast was great, they had a great selection of food and it was good quality. The kids breakfast corner can offer a bit more choices so the kids don't have to go to the adults section but no big issue.

Compared to last time we stayed, the room has deteriorated. Some of the furniture really need repair (wear and tear) but functional, the room floor was pretty dirty and needed a good mop, we requested for room slipper and that solved the problem. House keeping also attend to the room really late, after a few days we called before heading out so the room can be made up while we were out.

Overall, still a good choice for Penang and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Kchu,

Welcome back and thank you for your loyalty! Many thanks for the review. We are delighted to know that you love the location, happy with the facilities and breakfast.

I was sad and sorry to read your comments with regards to the room and the cleanness. It is never a pleasure to know that we disappointed a guest. I do acknowledge your remark and I am really sorry to hear about the incident. We certainly take note that we will need to update our room condition. I am sorry for the incident; please rest assured that we will continue to investigate this issue with the team as to ensure this never happens to any other guests.

We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and recover your impression of the resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Really good hotel for families with children 2-10 years old. Great pool, activities, indoor playground etc. Staff is so helpful and understanding. All speak good English. Not the place to go for romantic getaways and such.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Johan N,

Thank you for sharing such kind words and it's great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and happy with our services. Our associates indeed do their best to provide guests with the expectations that they have to ensure a memorable stay, we wouldn't be able to do it without them. Thank you once again for sharing this with us and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stayed here as a family in Dec'17 and were promised a 4.5 star hotel, sadly this wasn't the case. The hotel is very old and the rooms are battered and dirty. Initially we had "superior" mountain view rooms, which actually meant a view of McDonalds and the filling station. We had to move rooms as there was a water leak in the bathroom that couldn't be fixed. This time we moved to the front of the hotel, where the room was lighter as it had a balcony, but still suffered from being old and dirty. There is a mosque at the back of the hotel so this obviously generates disturbance at times of prayer calling if you are not Muslim. Food is average at best, with much of the buffet offering cold (even when it is not supposed to be). The beach area in front of the hotel is where all the local massage booths and water sports are located, therefore its quite busy, and there is a significant smell of fuel and fumes from the jet ski and powerboat engines, not nice on your lounger even when inside the hotel grounds. The pools are good for kids and the kids club seems reasonably well run. There were never enough cushions for the loungers, which meant they weren't particularly comfortable. On Xmas day two coaches of day visitors arrived and took over a large proportion of the loungers and it seemed that one of the two restaurants was dedicated to them rather than residents. Service at the pool bar and grounds was poor, often 30+ min wait for a drink you had ordered, and sometimes it never arrived. It is very much aimed at families with young children (up to age 8) and if you've not paid much then its probably ok, but its not the premium its advertised as. If you stayed as a couple you would be very disappointed. There are many warnings not to swim in the sea due to the poisonous jellyfish. The sea isn't clear, therefore doesn't look so appealing, but as you couldn't swim due to the jellyfish it wasn't as bad. This hotel is long overdue a refurbishment and is not what you would expect of a Shangri La.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npjp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear npjp2015,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Penang and thank you for taking the time to express your opinions about our resort on Trip Advisor. I am very disheartened to read about your staying experience. I am deeply apologize for any inconvenience that you have went through. I have already taken all of your comments on board, as we value all types of customer feedback.

As you have noticed, Golden Sands Resort is a family and kids friendly resort. The resort has been voted by the readers of Holidays with Kids as the Top Ten Family Resort 2017 in Asia. For our guests that prefer quieter environment, our sister's hotel next door Rasa Sayang Resort will be the best choice.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have the opportunity to leave you with a more positive experience.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews