We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lone Pine Hotel(Batu Ferringhi)
US$173
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa(Batu Ferringhi)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$274
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Beach Resort(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La(Batu Ferringhi)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$185
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$246
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'Feringghi Haus(Batu Ferringhi)
US$60
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baba Guesthouse(Batu Ferringhi)
US$17
US$16
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bayu Emas Apartments(Batu Ferringhi)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,659)
Filter reviews
5,659 results
Traveller rating
2,637
2,074
665
190
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,637
2,074
665
190
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon deluxefree moviesstarz dinerfoam partykings clubdirect access to the poollive bandswimming poolkids suitewater slideskids clubswim up bargreat poolfamily hotelnight marketf bwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 5,659 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Upon first checking in after 2pm, our room was not ready. They asked us to come back in an hour. A property with a focus on customer service would send you to the bar with a voucher and apologies. The rooms are very comfortable and clean so no qualms there. The balconies are nice but the furniture is very uncomfortable so that explains why the balconies are not used much at all.
We dined at one of the restaurants on the first night and left three quarters of our meals as they were flavourless and uninspiring.
The pool is lovely but it does not get much sun and the surrounding area is sand. So uncomfortable! The deck chairs don't seem to be cleaned all day so they are covered in sand by the end of the day. There is no pool side service but a swim up bar and pool bar close by at high prices. At around four pm on one day they decided to play really loud, non-descript music which drove people away from the pool.
The hotel is located about 1 km away from the township where there are better beaches and a great local hawker market for dinner. The beaches down that way are superior.Look for something close to Starbucks.
This resort attracts families with many children so if you are after relaxation, this is not the place for you.
This is by far the least enjoyable resort we have stayed at in Asia.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a lovely view but best to choose a room at another hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Stan S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

I am sorry to read that there aspects of your stay that left you disappointed. The hotel always aims to ensure that every guest has a rocking experience and are always saddened to know that someone has left underwhelmed.

I understand your frustration in regards to the arrival process. If guests arrive prior to 3pm, and the room is available our Front desk staff will gladly allow you to check-in early. The Front Office Manager taken such comments seriously to ensure consistent service is rendered to our guest in the future.

Offering a welcome drink is our standard practice, and guests who arrive early, before the welcome drinks are prepared are given a voucher so they can grab one later on. I will do some investigation on why you didn’t receive yours. On the other hand, I am pleased to hear that you found the room was comfortable and up to your satisfaction.

I am concerned that you did not enjoy your dining experience. Your feedback on the food quality has been shared with the Executive Chef and his team constantly working to improve the quality of food available in the restaurant.

Thank you for your comment on the pricing of the drinks at the bar. The hotel constantly checks the pricing of its products against the hotel competition in Batu Ferringhi, and always finds that our drinks are competitively priced. We do offer Happy Hour promotion daily from 11am to 5pm daily at all F&B outlets (except Starz Diner) and you may continue to enjoy the promotion at Hard Rock Cafe as they offer Rock Hours from 5pm to 8pm daily.

In regards to the beach, unfortunately this is not a private beach or hotel property, and is public land controlled by the local authority.

Your observations are true - this is a great hotel to stay with a family! Hard Rock Hotel Penang actually wins awards every year for being such a family friendly hotel, but what we pride ourselves in is being able to help create experiences for all our guests, whether they are families, couples, solo travellers or groups of friends. We do offer a Rock Royalty Lounge which can be a nice escape from the hustle & bustle of the kids play area down by the swimming pool with just an additional top up to your room rate.

Our apologies for not meeting some of your expectation on this occasion and please be assured we work hard to provide a positive experience and value for money.

Kind Regards,
John Primmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

hrc never disappointed me & family, iv been hrc bali & pattaya & all thumbs up. thanks for all of your team excellent service. clean, excellent, friendly team is all there & for kids also lot of games they can play. again, thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amankhanqari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thanks for the amazing review, amankhanqari!

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers.

It’s particularly pleasing that you found the service from our team to be of such a high standard. Our staff pride themselves on ensuring that every guest leaves the hotel feeling like a rock star.

Hard Rock Hotel Penang is consistently awarded for being one of the most family friendly hotels in Malaysia, and we are glad that we were able to help make your holiday a success.

It's exciting for all of us at Hard Rock Hotel Penang to know your stay with us was all you wanted it to be.

Rockin’ Regards,
John Primmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We spent 3 nights at 207, the huge balcony was splendid! We had a leakage issue in the bathroom but it was quick to be rectified. Generally enjoyed the stay and spa treatment in house. Breakfast spread could be generally improved but in overall, we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hey Faye L,

We loved reading your review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang and we hope that you and your family were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers.

Glad to hear that our team took immediate action to rectify the leaking issue as we tried our level best to ensure that every guest had a Rockstar experience.

Our Rock Spa massage therapists are extensively trained and can offer a wide range of treatments. We are also one of 2 five star rated spas in Penang.

Thanks for your comments about the breakfast served. The Executive Chef and his culinary team constantly working to improve the quality and quantity of food available in the buffet.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back for another Rockin’ experience.

Best Regards,
John Primmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

I had stayed at Rock Royalty Floor for 4 days. Excellent service, good food,breathtaking view and superb staff.Anyway there is one staff at the lounge, Mark , he is good and really welcoming. Promote him!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fazreen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks for the fantastic review, fazreen2018!

Great that you enjoyed the Rock Royalty Level, and that the staff up there showed you that rock star service. It's a great comfy place to escape to and enjoy cocktails, afternoon tea or breakfast without the crowds.

The team at Hard Rock are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a rock star experience, and Mark in particularly will be rewarded for his great work, as such glowing reports are music to our ears.

The most exciting feeling is your satisfaction and we love to hear your loving comments.

Rockin’ Regards,
John Primmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is on my list of highly recommended places to visit for family if one is in Penang. The beach is just on the front and the pools is fantastic for kids. My kid pretty much spend all of his time on the swimming pool.
The rooms were comfortable and faced the pool (though can be noisy if one keep the door open) but since the air-con is on and the door closed, it worked out well. There is bands which plays in the evenings and so it is kind of nice to chill out and there was some cool movies that we could watch as a family.
The only negative was that it took a long time (30mins) for the reception to check us in as there was many people in front of the counter and it was not clear what is happening there. i stand to queue and have several folks just cutting in etc., i felt that the front desk could have directed the guest a bit better rather than let folks just jump queue and do what they want.
All in all, a good relaxing beach stay.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Lin Feng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smehrhpg, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear ruby172017,

Thank you for sharing your review via TripAdvisor of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful experience with us and great to see that your kids had a fun time by the pool. Hard Rock Hotel Penang is proud to be a leading family hotel in Malaysia, and hearing of kids having fun is music to our ears.

Hard Rock Hotel Penang offers a non-stop fun activities and entertainment daily. Besides the live band performance at Hard Rock Cafe and Lobby Lounge during weekend, there is activity going-on from Monday to Thursday at the lobby area. Plus, we offer free movies and a Bose Sound System for our guests to enhance the stay experience. We currently offer over 50 movies free on demand.

I am very sorry to read of your check-in experience, which is certainly below the expected standards of Hard Rock Hotel Penang. The Front Office Manager taken such comments very seriously to ensure consistent service is rendered to our guest in the future. We hope to improve on this going forward.

Once again, thank you for your review. We continue to strive to ensure that every guest that stays with us has a truly rocking experience, and should you return to Penang we would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,
John Primmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews