We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rock & Roll Hotel....lives up to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rock & Roll Hotel....lives up to its name”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at the hotel and have nothing but praise for it. From the fab buffet breakfast, to the great meals at the Hard Rock cafe, we had a ball.

Rooms are well appointed and nearly all of them overlook the pools and the sea. Lots of memorabilia and the bathroom design is very funky.

Live bands every night and great rock musiv playing 24/7 on the PA system and the TV if you want.

Although we didn't buy anything at the Hard Rock shops (3) there was a heap to choose from.

Just up the road is a fantastic hawker centre with a great variety of local foods and of course, Tiger beer ! Hard Rock have a shuttle to there from 6.20 every night although its only a 10-15 min walk.

Did a couple of tours fro mthe Hotel lobby and although its a bit our of Georgetown, it is still wekk located.

I would go back again. It is great for singles, couples and kids.

Service was fab and the staff were ALL courteous and helpful.

Rock on guys

Glen B

Room Tip: A lot of ground floor rooms open onto the pool. That is pretty funky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennieB469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    1,453
    483
    124
    66
See reviews for
2,167
966
96
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here last october with a young child and enjoyed our stay. We got a good deal through their website so it was also quite cheap. Its a little far from the main area of Batu Ferringhi but taxi's are plentiful and cheap.

They have lots of activities to keep everyone entertained and the pool was pretty good.

There are convenience stores right across the road from the hotel and also a little restaurant if youre after local food.

Room Tip: The poolside access rooms looked fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneTonyNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights in September with our 2 children aged 5 and 6. This has been the best resort we have stayed in, the rooms are clean and modern, breakfast didn't have a large selection but did have great food, the pool was amazing!! The kids absolutely loved the waterpark in the pool area and so did the grown ups!! The hotel holds a foam dance party on Saturday nights, in the afternoon they hold a kids only party up to about 7pm and then they have the adults foam party into the night....great fun!!
The hotel is walking distance to the markets and restaraunts, make sure you go to Long beach for dinner (near golden sands), it's about a 10 to 15 min walk or you can use the free Hotel Shuttle service. Long beach has some great food, the spring roll and pancake stall (near the entry) are a must!! Also for great chinese food go to The Golden Thai, it's a gorgeous restaraunt on the beach with beautiful sunsets!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livvyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and overall it was a very nice experience. The good things about this place were the service staff and room condition. The service staff was pleasant and considerate. The seaview deluxe room overlooks the pool. Also, the jazz band on Sunday evening was superb! However, a few things that could be better: (1) Sea-sport operators were hanging around at the beach area just outside the hotel, touting their offerings incessantly. I wish the authorities could do something about this. (2) The hotel is undergoing some renovation, the spa area was not very noisy and not private at all. (3) Foam party on Saturday nights can get quite loud and disturb you if you are looking to spend a quiet Saturday evening in the room. Anyways, we had a great holiday and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cave_latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Lagoon Deluxe room was wonderful with its own patio opening directly onto the pool. The spotless room had a supremely comfortable bed with dreamy pillows and first class bed linen which made for a great night's sleep. The youthful staff are fun and always helpful and this gives the place a great atmosphere. Kings Club privileges gave us a great place for a quiet breakfast in the morning and a glass of wine or two in the evening. Outside we particularly liked the pool outside our room which was of a uniform depth and big enough for laps and the lounging area where you be close to the fun pools or in quieter areas shaded by mature trees. Overall it was a pleasurable experience that we plan to repeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
1.3 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
11.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing