We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep Cave with tonnes of texture”
Review of Aranui Cave

Aranui Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.57*
and up
1-Hour Guided Aranui Cave Tour
More Info
US$892.18*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Waitomo Glow Worm Caves Experience from Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

This cave and the glow worm cave make the Waitomo experience. This one provides a totally different experience from the glow worm cave and is better than the Rakarui

Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, Discover Waitomo Reservationist at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Kia Ora Stuart, thank you for taking the time to place feedback on us. We are glad you had a wonderful experience with us at the caves and are glad that you got to visit two of our caves, they all have their qualities! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Well worth the stop. No glowworms but a majestic dry cave, well guided providing a good mix of Maori history, modern history (litigation and conflict of ownership), and geological formation.

The cave is well lit, with safe foot paths, and easily accessible.

Most enjoyable.

Thank d-milne_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, Discover Waitomo Reservationist at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hello D thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We are glad you had a wonderful experience with us at the caves. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

This is the smaller of the three showcaves, but is as pretty as the nearby Ruakuri. The advantage here is that this is a dry cave, you can take photos, and because it is less visited, the group size is smaller and the tour is much more personal.

We also had a great, informative guide that just added to the tour experience. Because this is quite a short visit, we would have been disappointed if we had done this one on its own, but in combination with the others, it was good.

Thank Grembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, Discover Waitomo Contact Centre at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hello Grembo, thank you for taking the time to place feedback on us. We are glad you had a wonderful experience with us at the caves and are glad that you got to visit all the 3, and we agree, they all have their qualities! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

The Aranui cave is one of three caves closely located to each other. You can just take one or combine or take them all. This will give you a nice discount. Visiting these caves combined is very well to do from a time point of view. If tou are pressed in time we would suggest to at least visit two

The Aranui cave is stunning by any standard. Although no clow worms do not miss this one. It is spectacular. Very well to walk around. The tour guide was enthusiastic and professional and made the tour even more special.

Singing in a cave is special because there is no echo. f you like singing and it is very likely that you will be invited by the tourguide. Be prepared with your favorite song and simple go for it. (This is off course not a necessity and if you are a lousy singer like my self simply enjoy the singing of a more gifted participant)

Allow your self an unforgettable tour and make this visit



Thank Gjhuahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, Discover Waitomo Contact Centre at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Kia Ora Gihuahin, thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for us, it makes us happy that you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

You can't not stop here if your passing through and see the glow worms at night! Nice 45min walk from the car park through basic cave and walking track, nice open views into under water caves and caverns glow worms at night (lots!) also wetas will be seen at night on the cave ceilings. Enjoy!

Thank willsamtroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, Discover Waitomo Contact Centre at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Kia Ora! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for us, it makes us happy that you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aranui Cave also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Aranui Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing