We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
34
6
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
6
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We spent seven nights in this hotel, and WOW. Hands down the nicest hotel room we've ever had in all of our trips to Mexico. Our room was huge and beautiful, and our bed was so comfortable. Beautiful bathroom, and shower had good water pressure. They are about to begin a very substantial expansion (from two hotel rooms and two apartments into a sixteen room hotel), and I can't wait to come back next year and see the changes. I was told the expansion will be finished between October and December of this year. The staff was just lovely, especially my favorite housekeeper and the young waiter who brought us coffee every morning. Our room came with two bicycles, and we loved having them to ride into town for breakfast. They also came in handy for exploring the deserted beaches on both sides of the island. The hotel was about a fifteen minute walk into town, and we tried to time our dinner plans with the sunset, so we could walk into town and watch the sunset on the way. There is a restaurant/beach club that will brink you food and drinks, too, while you're enjoying the swinging beach beds or lying in the lounge chairs on the beach. In my opinion, the beach in front of the hotel is the best on Holbox. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathersuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Good food, excellent attitude from the people in reception, the hotel manager, chef, waiters, etc....
This hotel has the best part of the beach of Holbox; there is a beach club where you have access and is marvelous.
I can say this is a good place to stay but not the best, you have to be patient for the things to be solved, my experience were not so bad but the devil is in the details, let me tell you my experience.
I had some issues during our stay at villas caracol that were solved lately but at the end they were solved. Due to a lack of electricity we didn't have AC for a couple of days and the hotel didn't change the bed cloth, so after 3 days with no AC believe me that it was so uncomfortable to have the same bed cloth, so I had to ask every day to change them. Other day we do not have water in the villa so when we woke up it was not possible to take a shower or going to the restroom, everything was solved like a couple of hours after we advice to reception because everything has to be asked to the manager; so this make things to be solved after a long time.

The manager really has a great attitude and a great service, everything was solved but after a long time.

As a conclusion is a good place to stay, is not cheap and you have to be patient for thing to get done.

Again I repeat they have to improve cleanness but the rest is good.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vhmtzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I put off writing this review because our experience at this hotel varied, and I hate to spoil all of the extremely positive reviews. But I must be truthful. First, the positives. Viridiana, the property owner? (not present at the property during our stay but available by phone) was great. She was responsive and booked our transportation from and to the Cancun airport. The property manager, Alex, was very nice and helpful. This is a smaller hotel, so the "front desk" is usually not staffed, so you will need to hunt someone down to make your requests. The rooms were very nicely appointed and were very clean. There is a safe in the room. It is not obvious how to use it so you will likely have to ask. The shower was large and there was always warm water, not hot but in this climate it worked OK. They even started out our stay with a nice plate of fruit and a bottle of wine - very thoughtful. There is a coffee maker but you will need to bring or buy your own coffee as none is provided. There is also a mini-refrigerator. Our room did have some quirkiness. The bath lights above the mirror are aimed so that they hit the top of your had, not very good for shaving or applying makeup. There is a step-down in the bath, so use caution. Our room was large enough to have a separate setting area. A nice feature. This property is located along hotel row and is fairly quite at night. Although it is close to the beach, it is not on the beach as some hotels are. There is a road in between this property and the beach. Our room was on the bottom floor, so did not have a view of the beach or ocean. The only ventilation and outside light is provided by a large sliding glass door. Since we were on the bottom floor, we did not want to leave this open at night, so we had to use the air conditioner. We would have much, much preferred to be able to leave a window or door open. As noted it is about a 15 minute walk into town or a 10 minute taxi (golf cart) ride. The only catch is that you will have to call a taxi or have the hotel do it as they are not frequent in traveling along this road. OK, now the negatives. There is WiFi, but it basically did not work. We could use it for checking email but that is about it. We ended up using our Verizon data plan which worked OK. Some of the other reviews mentioned the restaurant. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch. We had planned on having breakfasts here, but our experience the first day was so bad that we gave up that idea. The coffee was absolutely awful, likely instant. We bought coffee in town and got some fruit to have for breakfast. After that experience we gave up on eating at the hotel. There are a number of very good restaurants on the island. It would be a shame to waste a meal eating here. OK, now the real negative. Our room was right next to the restaurant. Starting promptly at 9 in the morning and until after 6 in the afternoon, we had music. Not just music, but it seems a fairly short tape of the same rock songs, over and over and music for six days! Now, we have traveled in Mexico extensively and know that constant music is part of the culture, but the same tape over and over. So, for this reason, we would certainly not return to this hotel. There are a number of nice looking hotels on the island, some with great views and less expensive.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a window or on the second floor to try for a view.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TexasTravelerGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Comfy, very comfy! It is not pretentious but definetively the room is very well designed, modern and inviting. The restaurant is small, but oh boy - precisely the flavor you would expect for mayan dishes (try the "huevos motuleños")!

We would have loved even more the place if it had a pool, but the weather was benign and we enjoyed the sea all the time...

The people that work at the hotel were always smiling and ready to help in any way. Thanks to Manuel and his crew!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a great beach club with the most comfortable installations. And to make it better it has an amazing beach with the beach front hammocks . i really recommend this place , its a winner on your day decision in Holbox.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Jorge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews