We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, Clean, Serene and Historic”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lucy Maud Montgomery's Grandfathers house and inspiration for Ingleside series of books.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lucy Maud Montgomery's Grandfathers house and inspiration for Ingleside series of books.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Kensington, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

RosemaryO...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Serene and Historic”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

More than just enjoying the history, the fandom and the gorgeous setting, my stay here provided a relaxing atmosphere where all that I needed was provided and organized at my fingertips. The room and bathroom was clean and fresh and thoughtfully arranged. The owner and innkeeper made me feel welcome and they were helpful in both small and large ways. I loved my several nights stay at Montgomery Inn at Ingleside and hope to return again someday.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWL092014
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our host Paul was absolutely perfect! He told us about the history of Montgomery Inn, showed us various artifacts, and was very flexible to our schedule. We stayed in the Senator Suite which was the largest room on the main floor. The recent renovations are beautiful and we enjoyed soaking in the tub after a full day of sightseeing. Paul also showed us a trail behind the house that would lead to an area where we could view the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Wow! What a view! This location is adjacent to the Anne of Green Gables Museum and across from "the lake of shining waters". I wish we had stayed more than 2 nights as there were so many little areas to sit and relax inside and outside the Inn.

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara987
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B with historic roots”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed just one night in the Lucy Maud Suite - it was very clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful view. Loved hearing about the history of the place - a must-stay for any Lucy Maud Montgomery fan! A lot of work has been done by Paul on the home, making it a wonderful option for travelers to this area. There was a nice area outside on the deck to sit and relax, as well as nice indoor areas. A simple continental breakfast was served. Would be nice to come here again as a family and rent out the whole place!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you Lara for staying with us and for your kind words, we would love to have you and your family come stay with us! Safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyFro...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for family reunions!”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We rented the Montgomery Inn for a week-long family reunion and had an amazing time this historic property. The owners were very very responsive to our needs and accommodated all of our requests.

The kitchen is nicely appointed with everything you need, and we had 14 people comfortably seated in the dining room. The bedrooms were very nice - the air conditioning was whisper quiet (we had very hot weather this week!). Everything is modern and updated - the bathrooms are new and clean.

The location is great - close to amazing beaches and yet off the beaten track.

The icing on the cake is the history that comes with this property. It isn't hard to see where Lucy Maud got some of her inspiration!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your comments and it was great to host you! I am glad you had a wonderful time on PEI and it was nice to connect with your family! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookehol...
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“The Montgomery Inn at Ingleside is a masterpiece in idyllic PEI.”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Montgomery Inn at Ingleside is a masterpiece in idyllic PEI.

My friend and I booked one night in the Avonlea room, and after leaving and heading to the next stop on our journey, we knew we couldn’t remain on the island and be as happy elsewhere as we were at “Paul’s Place.” So, we turned around and stayed for two more nights!

You will encounter beautiful people at the Inn: Paul is a gentleman, Michele is a gem, and Denise is lovely.

The home is magnificently restored and leaves no room for want. Each room is decorated beautifully and is fully equipped for a luxurious stay. L.M. Montgomery fans will be thrilled to step into the room where she slept, sit by the window where she picnicked, and, if they’re as fortunate as I was, listen to facts and histories form Paul and Denise.

Once outside, guests can stand on The Pulpit Stone from The Story Girl or sit on the lawn while gazing at Anne’s Lake of Shining Waters. After that, a quick two-minute walk will take guests across the road to Silver Bush and The Anne of Green Gables Museum.

Thank you, Paul and Michele, for sharing your home with us! I’m longing to return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
thank you for your comments and for staying with us! We were so happy to welcome you back to Montgomery Inn at Ingleside aka "Paul's Place"! We can't wait to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.