We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Casa in Vinales ”
Review of Casa Oscar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Oscar
Ranked #45 of 204 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Oscars place with three other friends for a climbing trip. Oscar, his wife, and his staff are great hosts and bent over backwards for us. The rooms and grounds are kept very clean. The food was well prepared and tasty. Oscar helped get whatever we needed in town. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank cwl421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

highly recommended. great food. many casas in the area are smaller and do not offer communal space for visitors, casa oscar has a beautiful upstairs deck for visitors. The food is great and the owners and staff very welcome. I was there over new years eve, Oscar and his family welcomed my friends and I to their party with open arms. The house is close to the town and all surrounding transportiaton/ things to do. Many of the guests are rock climbers so if you are in town to hike or climb, casa oscar is the place to stay.

Speaking some spanish is recommended.

Room Tip: be very clear with your travel plans before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This is the best Casa in Vinales and I can just thank you Oscar again and again for all his helps. I can just share my own story.

I had an accident in Vinales. About the accident, it was just my own false. I went to the cave (Cueva del Indio) in Vinales. After entering the cave, just 2 steps then I was falling down. It was really slippery and I wasn't careful enough. And someway somehow a stone cut my finger and it was also broken.
It sounds horrible, bad experience, and bad holiday, right? However, I don't feel that way. It was my own mistakes. I have seen and learned a lot from this situation. I have seen how wonderful, beautiful, nice, and friendly people in Cuba are. They helped me from the first place, tried to do some first-aid treatments, told me where the hospital in the village is. Then, I was biking back to the village (6 km far away). At the hospital, they couldn't do much things, just X-ray my finger and found out it was broken. Then, they called Oscar and told me that I had to go to the bigger hospital in the city (Pinar del Rio) which is around 20 km far from the village. Oscar and I went there. He helped me a lot, took me here and there, talked to the doctor (I can't speak Spanish). Finally, the wound (approx. 2 cm) was stitched. And my hand is in the plaster cast, even though only my finger is broken actually.
I travel alone in Cuba and I can't speak Spanish. So, I feel so much thankful to all people who helped me, especially to Oscar. I don't know what should I do to thank them. So, I just write down this story and share it. Cuba is a nice, vibrant, wonderful, and amazing place to visit. I still enjoyed and had a great time there. People are really really nice and friendly. I can just recommend you to visit Cuba and if you want to come to Vinales, Casa Oscar is the best place to stay, just feel like home.
Casa Oscar
Address: Calle Adela Azcuy 43
Vinales, Pinar del Rio
Tel: +(5348) 695516

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaninov B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Would recommend Casa Oscar, if he doesn't have space then they will find you a room with the extended family... The Casa is an oasis with a great patio and various terraces hidden behind the house (If you arrive an no one is there, just nip down the side passage and you'll be greeted with open arms!).

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brennanclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The family was very nice and helpful. Food was excellent and they helped us arrange a horseback riding trip. I can recommend couples or small families to stay here. The rooms were simple but comfortable and clean with warm colours. It also had aircondition. We thought July would be too hot but it was perfect even tho a bit humid.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vinales hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
851 reviews
0 km away
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
#57 of 204 in Vinales
88 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Cristina y Abel
Villa Cristina y Abel
#44 of 204 in Vinales
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Casa El Porry
Casa El Porry
#6 of 204 in Vinales
465 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#5 of 204 in Vinales
557 reviews
18 km away
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
#85 of 204 in Vinales
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oscar

Address: Adela Azcuy | # 43, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range: €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional Casa Particular in Vinales. The house, amenities, and particularly the food are excellent, but, once again, it is the family of Oscar Jaime Rodriguez and Leyda Robaina Arteaga that become your hosts, friends, and protectors. The Jaimes and Robainas families envelope you you with love and joy. The compound of two houses include grandparents, brothers and sisters. Only one thing is important, the pleasure to feel that our guests enjoy to be in our home like us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing