We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$179
US$170
View deal
Hotels.comUS$171
PricelineUS$170
Expedia.comUS$171
eDreamsUS$170
FindHotelUS$171
StayForLongUS$179
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
376
311
117
32
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
311
117
32
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room under cover covered car park traditional hotel no lift family room lamb north wales cooked breakfast ffestiniog railway ground floor an evening meal two night stay tea and coffee cooked to perfection warm welcome short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2020

The Royal Sportsman offers a very warm welcome in far-flung Porthmadog. Our room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was a decent size. Porthmadog turned out to be a good base for numerous North Wales sights - Portmeirion, Mt Snowdon, Zip World, Edward I's castles and so on.

I always managed to get a space in the garage, although it sometimes took a few tries (after parking for a while in front of the hotel) before a space opened up.

The hotel's restaurant is deservedly popular. We returned night after night to enjoy the varied menu and decent selection of drinks from the bar.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Stayed overnight while visiting family nearby. Booked as the hotel has charging for Tesla - reserved space with name board in and enclosed garage (small but perfectly formed). Staff very friendly and helpful, room comfortable, breakfast arrangements worked extremely well with social distancing in place, Only had breakfast, but the food was very good. Will be coming back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johngY6910LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Booked over phone as I needed to know what their disadled facilities were like. Very accommodating receptionist. Arrived and we found a reserved disabled parking space. Plaque with our name on. Room was ideal apart from the doorstop in the bathroom which caused a bit of tooing and froing to get husbands shower/commode chair into shower area. Otherwise plenty of room in bedroom. I could even park my motorised scooter in the room. All staff friendly and attentive. Nothing too much trouble. Great chef who produced tasty dishes. The furnishings throughout the hotel could perhaps do with being updated but didn't detract from the comfort and what was an enjoyable stay

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bordoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a golf break. Food excellent, staff very friendly and accommodating, room small but clean with lovely fluffy towels. There is also a bar with a good selection of beers and wine. A good base for golf or walking.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jinette_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

We were in room 12 and it was spacious and well appointed. Large bathroom with lovely towels. Everything was clean. The bed was comfortable. Gelerts bar downstairs has a good selection of real ales. The only downside, although they have a covered car park for guests, at no point could we get a parking space, so we had to park in the side roads but this did not detract from the enjoyment of our 2 night stay. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

Room tip: If you are looking for a more spacious room, room 12 recommended.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews