We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“healthy lunch”
Review of Kasteale

Kasteale
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Haltwhistle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Description: A small owner run and managed cafe serving mainly organic homemade cakes, bakes and soups and sandwiches. Also small range of organic produce available to buy. Walkers, cyclists and dogs welcome. Core opening hours as stated but often open later in the summer. Please phone to check.
Restaurant details
Description: A small owner run and managed cafe serving mainly organic homemade cakes, bakes and soups and sandwiches. Also small range of organic produce available to buy. Walkers, cyclists and dogs welcome. Core opening hours as stated but often open later in the summer. Please phone to check.
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Looking for somewhere to eat for lunch which did not involve gluten... Found this lovely coffee shop/café down the high street. I had a nice salmon fillet salad had and my partner had the bacon and feta cheese. Both were delicious! Additionally had the opportunity to finish the lunch off with a slice of gluten free homemade peach, coconut, apple and sultana cake - a change from the usual pre packed chocolate brownie! Very personable service and friendly. The café has a homely feel about it with healthy and organic food stuffs to buy and 1970's table ware. Would visit again if I was in Haltwhistle

Thank samantha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill E, Owner at Kasteale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit . Not sure I can replicate the cake though as it was one of those "chuck all the leftovers in a bown and see what happens type of cake". But we do always try to provide gluten free options on the menu as well as being flexible about what we can cook for anyone with dietary issues. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017

The bacon and feta salad bowl was delicious and the open prawn sandwiches were full of prawns. The service was friendly and polite. A lovely place for lunch.

1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Nice healthy food, with an emphasis on organic. The gluten free menu includes wonderful cakes and brownies!

1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed brunch here all organic food, very tasty, reasonable prices and friendly staff. The menu is varied and there are daily specials.

1  Thank PopTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill E, Owner at Kasteale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Glad you enjoyed your lunch. We do try to do as much local and organic as we can but it is not always easy here "out in the sticks". We are lucky to have EVAS ORGNICS just down the road who supply our vegetables and we have a good local butchers) selling their own locally raised meat as well as BILLY BELLS FISH AND GAME who is a great source of local food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Nipped in here after an incredibly soggy few hours up on Hadrians Wall. My partner had managed to get covered in mud after doing his best impression of an inept mountain goat, but the proprietors could not have been more friendly and welcoming, despite the foul weather and the resulting slow trade. Loved the toasties and found the balance of healthy/organic ethos with more indulgent choices to be perfect for us. The tea loaf and Victoria sponge were absolutely beautiful, too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill E, Owner at Kasteale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hope you got driied out OK. February can be a bit miserable in this neck of the woods so we are used to soggy visitors! The nice review is appreciated especially by my staff who have been holding the fort while I have been off sick for a while. I can't thank them enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kasteale also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 

Been to Kasteale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing