We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant breakfast (as long as you arrive before 9am!)”
Review of Vals Coffee House

Vals Coffee House
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I arrived at about 11am expecting to be able to order a cooked breakfast. I was angrily informed by the owner that breakfast had finished and was no longer being made.

To be able to order a cooked breakfast I would have to arrive by 9am at the very latest.

I begrudgingly ordered some bacon butties and sausage butties which were very nice and cooked fresh.

Not suitable for adolescents or children or families with babies and young children!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeliciousMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your food which is freshly made to order. We serve breakfast till 11am everyday not 9am as you stated . and we are very child friendly so not sure what you mean by this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

What a cracking little place, and a bacon butty and a coffee for £2.50 - smashing!!

Defiantly worth popping in!

Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Try the date and walnut scones -- had them three days in a row and they did not disappoint. A perfect mid-afternoon break.

Thank MaryAnn23227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review , our scones are made fresh every day , hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We visited this coffee shop today at about 2pm. Walked in and only two other people in the shop who were eating. We were noticed but not greeted. We had a look for a sign to see if it was counter service but no sign visible. We sat down at the bar and a staff member was in the kitchen who clearly saw us and paid no attention to us whatsoever. We waited a quite a while and still no one came to serve us and it was clear as day that we were imposing somehow. We got up and left. I highly recommend that the staff need to attend a hospitality course on how to greet and welcome customers.

2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are sorry we didn't jump to it and serve you straight away , we normally give people time to look at the menu and get settled before serving them . If you had stayed i am sure you would of enjoyed our food .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Small is beautiful.

Got a jolly good welcome.

The Bacon butty and coffee for £2.50 couldn't be beaten.

Busy with locals which is a very good sign.

Not rushed.

I really enjoyed the local flavour.

Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vals Coffee House also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 

Been to Vals Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing