We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, helpful staff, good price but poor food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alverbank Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alverbank Country House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Gosport B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely location, helpful staff, good price but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I went here for a meal with a large group of friends from a club, so the social aspect was really more important than the menu. The location is lovely, particularly on a warm summer's day, with a view over the Solent from the grounds, where we assembled for pre-lunch drinks, and parkland behind. We ate in the marquee, which was attractively set out. The food was OK, and probably reasonable for the price we paid, but I'm not very keen on al dente potatoes, or summer pudding where the juice hasn't had time to soak into the bread. And terrible coffee. But on the plus side, the staff were charming, and it was nice to see the helpful work-experience youngsters from Bay House School being well trained. Would I go back? Possibly, if it were for a group function.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    29
    21
    30
    40
See reviews for
51
47
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

My friend was getting married in Gosport, and because I waited too long to book a room at one of hotels, this was my only choice. They charge £45 per night, for a single room, which I find reasonable. The hotel looked quite basic from outside, and inside too. To be very honest I didn't expect too much, after all it is 3* hotel. I have been given a double room en suite, even though I have booked single. I suppose this was because my room wasn't quite ready when I have arrived, or maybe they haven't been fully booked.
I was very nicely surprised when I arrived into my room, well decorated, clean with enough storage units. I was very pleased as I have been upgraded to a double en-suite room. Bed was very comfortable, and sheets really soft. Breakfast in the morning very tasty and filling, and included in a price of a room. The only shame was I had to check-out by 10.30, and could really use a bit of more sleep, after I returned from my friends wedding before 1am.
Overall I think this is a very nice hotel, very easy to get to from Portsmouth Stations, as Ferry and Bus Stations are just outside. More difficult it is to get back, as busses are less frequent. If I will need to stay in Gosport again, I will definetely come back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanVargyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had a very long trip to get to the hotel and were very dissappointed on arrival.
we attended a family wedding and the service itself was lovely. The food and the gardens were also very nice. However as a hotel i felt very let down.
The bedrooms were very outdated, small and moderatly clean.
The 'en suite', if it could be called that, was discusting and tiny. The toilet smelt, the shower was a warm trickle and there was no cold water from the cold tap, only warm!
The communal areas in the hotel at first looked rather quaint but as you look closer you can see the dust on the lampshades and the general tiredness of the decor- the whole place could use repainting.
I would not stay here again and could not believe the prices they are charging.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonomus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gosport hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Went for a family wedding, the surroundings were very pretty, across the Solent from the Isle of Wight. As a wedding venue, it could not be faulted, great food etc, we had been booked in the cottage in the grounds, what a disappointment. Bedrooms just ok, kitchen facility and bathroom were a throwback to the seventies. Shower was the old type 'telephone' on the mixer tap, which went cold as you held it up! only half a toilet roll left for four adults and two children for an overnight stay. The kitchen had a kettle, which had to be pressed manually, as the switch was broken, no plates or cutlery. Ok, you don't always expect a kitchen, but our party included an eight month old baby, so we needed some facilities, and had planned a 'picnic' before the wedding, as our journey had taken over three hours. We were asked to vacate by 10.30 the next morning, as the next bride was booked into the cottage (hope she didn't plan a shower!) The reception the previous evening ended at midnight, and we were refused drinks, even though we were residents. Our party paid £200, no breakfast the next morning, as service was over at 9.00a.m. would definately attend a wedding there again, but book elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummiejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I booked in to The Alverbank as I was attending a school re-union at Bay House School close by.
All four of us were told they had no reservations under our names even though we had booked a few months previously and had given our credit card details. After a long wait at reception and several people asking if they could help and then disappearing and not returning we were finally shown to our room which was definately NOT worth the wait.
It looked like it had been furnished from a car boot sale and the general decor was extremely tired to say the least. We marvelled at the pituresque view overlooking the hotels rubbish skips. The 'en-suite' wasn't big enough to swing a cat and the smell of raw sewage was overpowering, presumably due to the mascerator toilet. Every time we ran a tap or flushed the loo the stench of sewage filled up the room. We didn' t shower, wash or clean our teeth because we couldn't be sure what was coming out of the taps because of the smell. Have given service a score of two however because at least the staff were friendly.
Breakfast was ok but service was very slow.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solent60, Owner at Alverbank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Thank you for your review. As Directors of the Hotel we take all comments on board and are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to the age and history of the building - 1842 we have no choice but to use saniflo systems in some of the bedrooms. However the interior decor is obviously personal choice and we cannot cater for all tastes. Rest assured your booking was on the system and I believe the reason for the short wait was explained to you on arrival....we look forward to welcoming you back should you visit Gosport in the future and as all the rooms were booked for the reunion we are shocked to read your individual review. If another room had been available we would have been delighted to move you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
0.7 km away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.3 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
4.4 km away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alverbank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverbank Country House Hotel

Property: Alverbank Country House Hotel
Address: Stokes Bay Road, Gosport PO12 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alverbank Country House Hotel is a Grade II listed venue in Alverstoke, Hampshire, boasting spectacular views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight (host of the world famous annual Cowes Week event!). Also nearby are some of the finest nautical attractions in British naval history, including Lord Nelson's iconic HMS Victory, and the brand new Mary Rose museum. Originally commissioned as a house in 1842 by J.W. Croker (one of the leading figures in Victorian-era politics), the venue has, over the years, played host to many well-known political figures including the Duke of Wellington and former Prime Minister, Sir Robert Peel, who used to catch the teatime train down from London on a Friday to ensure he arrived in time for dinner! The Alverbank has also hosted royalty; Queen Victoria's second son Prince Alfred, Duke of Edinburgh, resided here whilst attending the Naval College next door at Bay House and, later, Prince Edward, Prince of Wales, found it the perfect environment in which to 'escape' the formalities of Osborne House, just across the Solent. Moving forward to the present day, the venue has many different functions. We serve lunch and dinner 7 days per week, as well as hosting regular live music evenings featuring the very best local acts and tribute artists. We are also a fantastic venue for events - whether it is for a corporate meeting, a birthday party, or the wedding of your dreams, our hard-working and dedicated team will do everything they can to ensure you have a fantastic visit that you will remember for many more years to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alverbank Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing