We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - good atmosphere”

The Sir Walter Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 16th Century Village Pub. 4 Good Cask Beers With Traditional Pub Food. We Are Open From 11.00 To 14.30 Then 18.00 To 23.00.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Old English village pub off main roads. Dinner excellent with large portions, well presented and nicely served, and very good value. It is definitely NOT microwaved, and you can see the kitchen at work. Very friendly staff. Very busy early evening

If your digestive system is good, then try the steak and ale or chicken and leek PUDDING (not pie)!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crormerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2018

Food lacking in flavour, came out so quick think it was microwaved. Bar staff very friendly but lady who was waiting on us for food was not friendly at all. Think their are better places to eat at a more reasonable cost and quality.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ozzy21192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

The pub from friendly enough, however the food was well below what I would expect from a pub these days.

We ordered two brie, bacon and cranberry panini. The bacon was very fatty and under cooked. If you want to serve bacon with the rind on, then please make it crispy! We had to cut off the fat to make it palatable. The paninis were served with a limp salad that consisted of quarter a tomato, a single slice of cucumber, a tiny bit of pepper and raw onion on top of a lettuce leave.

The come I ordered was also flat.

Overall, quite disappointing.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank tavmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I have been in this pub many times in the not too distant past, when the beer was well-kept and the proper temperature but the food was of variable quality. Back then the chips seemed to have been heated up from frozen and the fish a composite, like a kind of giant fish-finger.
Recently I have visited several times and the food has been unrecognisably better. A few days ago I had homemade cottage pie, which was delicious, and the vegetables tasted fresh and not over-cooked. A pleasing, unpretentious, country pub meal with good local beer.

I'm still not taken with the armchairs, but that's just a personal opinion!

L

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobertoW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Lovely village pub. Good service and a nice warm welcome when we stepped through the door.
Busy, which is always a good sign.
There was a good range of vegetarian meals for me, which was great.
Real ales available.
The only downside were the chips which were dry (oven cooked?). Otherwise, all good!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ferret55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sir Walter Raleigh also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to The Sir Walter Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing