We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't not live up to its website”
Review of Bista Eder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bista Eder
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We booked this hotel for 3 nights at the end of a touring holiday, and it was a bit pricey at approx 170 euros for 2 adults and 2 children in a double room with 2 campbeds, without breakfast. However, we thought that it would be, as the website suggests, a 'boutique' hotel.

We were so disappointed. When we arrived, the shower was out of action (the riser was damaged, so you couldn't attach the shower head to the wall). This was dealt with the next day to be fair, but felt it was something obvious that should have been picked up by the cleaning staff prior to the room being taken. On the first night, we discovered that the bed had been made up with just a sheet - no mattress protector or cover - on a poor quality mattress - so that you could feel the springs through the sheet. On another occasion the room was cleaned, but the towels were not replaced, and we had to chase after the maid to get a fresh set.

The walls were thin, and the floors were wooden, which looked pretty but was noisy - at night you could hear the snoring ... from the guests in the next room, and in the morning, when someone's phone alarm went off, I could hear the vibrating noise in our room!

However, the thing that really annoyed us was the fact that the other rooms had been let out to a Mountain Bike touring company. Whilst we have nothing against cyclists - indeed, my husband would have joined them given the opportunity! - it mean that the advertised 'summer kitchen' was muddy and full of wet cycling gear on the day we arrived, and that the place had the air of a hostel rather than the tranquil getaway that the website promotes. On our third and last night, the cyclists were clearly on the last night of their trip, as they came in at 2am, a bit the worse for wear, and it was an hour before the chat, laughter, and whistling died down... and the snoring started.

Whilst we can see why this place might garner some good reviews - if you are a mountain biker, returning after a hard day on the road, there is not much to complain about. The facilities for the cyclists are great - an area to clean and store bikes, a kitchen area to leave you kit and whip up a meal, and sunloungers looking out over the beautiful bay of Hondarribia. However, if you're looking for the promised charm and exclusive vibe promised by the website, think again.

To be fair, when I told the owner about our disappointment, she did apologise, and refunded about 30 euros per day. However, even she admitted that she knew there was a conflict between different client groups.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaGrandissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

My wife and I booked for 3 nights but stayed the one night only. We had beautiful views across Hondarribia into France but that came at a price. It was a good 25 to 30 minute walk back up some very steep streets which did not make it possible to walk into town in the day and return to town in the evening for a meal.
Kitchen facilities were available but no kettle or milk to make a tea or coffee.
At 98 euro per night I think breakfast should not be extra.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bistaeder, Gerente at Bista Eder, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016
Google Translation

El paseo hasta el centro del pueblo son andando normal 15 minutos, en ningun caso mas de 20, por calles muy buenas y agradables y es casi imposible perderse a no ser que sea Usted muy despistado.
Eso si, a la vuelta los ultimos 5 minutos son cuesta, quizas no aptos para personas con baston.
En ell txoko, bajera, cocina de verano o como la quieren llamar hay todo tipo de cazuelas para calentar agua, leche, o para cocinar lo que Ustedes quieran.
No hay cafe ni leche, ni otras bebidas ni comidas. Eso lo tienen que traer los usuarios.
Conoce Usted algun alojamiento donde dan la comida o bebida gratis?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Stopped for a week in June 2015. Excellent accommodation with beautiful views of the sea from the gardens where fresh breakfasts are served each day.
Secure storage for bikes. 10 / 15 min walk into the town for outstanding food and drink.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bistaeder, Propietario at Bista Eder, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Thank you very very much. Kind regards, Katrin and Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Very beautiful house and rooms, great garden with pool, very friendly host, safe and nice neighbourhood, everything clean and tidy. The house is on the top of a hill, therefore the view is amazing! Very close the the city center
Perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: We think all of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bistaeder, Propietario at Bista Eder, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Thank you very very much, Andrea. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here whilst we took part in the Bassque MTB trip.
The whole experience was so enjoyable, we were looked after from the second we arrived. Breakfast each morning was fresh and thoroughly enjoyable. All if the rooms were comfortable, fresh and cleaned each day to a very high standard.
In the evenings we enjoyed a small but clean pool with a fantastic view over The Bay of Biscay and over to France. The garden and patio were available for us to enjoy evening meals that we ordered in or prepared ourselves.
A secure garage meant we could store our bikes without worry.
Finally, a 10 minute walk took us to the incredible food and beautiful scenery of Hondarribia and the coast.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bistaeder, Propietario at Bista Eder, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Thank you very much. Kind regards, Esteban y Katrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.7 km away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 9 in Hondarribia
248 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 9 in Hondarribia
362 reviews
1.3 km away
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Hondarribia
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 9 in Hondarribia
342 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 9 in Hondarribia
269 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel & Residence Orhoitza
Hotel & Residence Orhoitza
#12 of 13 in Hendaye
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bista Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bista Eder

Address: Domingotxoenea, 32, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range: €67 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bista Eder 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel with nice vieuws in a very nice town with beach, mountain, good food, near to France... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing