We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kvitaavatn Fjellstue(Rjukan)(Great Value!)
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
19
47
33
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
47
33
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightservice was excellentmountain resortskiingnorwaynaturesnowcoolerfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Location is perfect for a trip to Gaustatoppen. Buffet restaurant ok, with good service, but way overpriced, even for Norwegian standards. Sound insulation between rooms is nonexistent (neighboring rooms had a crying baby on one side and a party of loud ladies on the other). Asked for earplugs in reception, but they didn't have any, even though one receptionist told her colleague that they had similar complaints before. They couldn't give me another room even though I doubt they were fully booked. Wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gro R, Markedskoordinator at Gaustablikk Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Lars!

First off all, we apolegize for our late respons to your feedback. And we are sorry for the experience you had with the noise.
We do appreciate feedback from our guests, and we bring it with us for the future,

Thank you.

Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The hotel is about 40 years old, and is a traditional norwegian mountain resort hotel.
The rooms are a bit old, but clean and well maintained. Nice reception/bar/resturant area with fantastic view of the mountain Gaustatoppen.
The staff in the reception were very nice and welcoming. The staff welcoming the guest at breakfast was a bit grumpy.
The breakfast itself is very good with a great variety of food, including "make your own waffels"-service. Didn't try the dinner.
Some of the rooms are facing Gaustatoppen, some are facing the mountains the other way. You can rent boats and canoes. Very nice area around the hotel. The skiarea is just across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolidBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gro R, Markedskoordinator at Gaustablikk Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi, SolidBison and thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it.

Its was a thorough feedback, and we will bring it with us for the future. Hope to see you here again!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I was there with a girl. Thought we would have a nice experience, but it ended to be over priced.
The room was clean. Otherwise it was small and the bathroom had seen its better days. We asked for a nicer room. First we were promised something for the next day, but the next person at the reception said it was totally impossible.
The three course dinner was ok, except the vegetable I got were raw. Ok, they were warm, but still raw. I mean this is a basic cooking, and there were only one meny for the whole hotel.
The breakfast was ok. For these kind of place I except a bit more. It was not possible to have just bacon, it was always together with ann egg.
The WLAN was unstable when to many people tried to access at the same time.

In overall, we found that 1700 NOK per night was too much. Around 1300 would be adequate more with similar venues in Norway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with Gaustatoppen view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thierry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed for 1 night at Gaustablikk høyfjellshotell in july because we wanted to go mountain haiking on Gaustatoppen. We had a small appartment located in a separate building close to the hotell. The location was great, close to the mountain and great scenery. The appartment had the right size for two people with a kitchen that was ok equipped. It was also bed sheets included in the price. The room and bathroom took us back to the 70's though, and was clearly needing renovation. The shower floor was so rotten that it felt like you were just about to step through it. Wallpaper coming off and a type of carpet that is very uncomfortably and stingy to walk on. The prize was low, but I would rather pay a bit more to have a better and upgraded standard.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sølvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Cozy, warm and inviting!, beautiful scenery. We were there during Olympic ski trials. Went to ski training school. Truly breathtaking. Meals were delicious by the fireplace. Plenty of snow. Either hotel rooms or individual cabins.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews