We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and hotel with a bit too much of family ran feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo La Sovana
Ranked #2 of 8 Sarteano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and hotel with a bit too much of family ran feel”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife, our son (9 months) and myself went there for 10 days this summer (2011). We have to admit that the place it utterly bautiful and the hotel has all you can neeed and dream of in a nice relaxing hotel. The acomodation is great, the pool wonderful and the amenities to a 4 star level.
We hoever have to add that it is NOT a child friendly hotel, eventhough we were always welcome by the people, it is definitely not a child riendly hotel as nothing it thgought for parents with your children. We did not know this when booking the hotel. Our opinion is this hotel should be a adult only hotel. Because it is so relaxing and peaceful, if you bring a 9 months old child, evrytime he cries or wants to enjoy the pool for example by screaming and being loud you don't really feel comfortable as the rest of the people are here to relax and be away from all!.
Also we should mention the really early hour imposed by the owner for the evening dinner, you have to start dinner at 19:30 and they are also lacking flexibility on a couple of things such as : not being able to move your terrace furniture around, not being able to picnic on the premises (it is away from teh center and they offer no lunch service).
We found Giusepe the owner fairly friendly, his wife not quite friendly (we'll just blame it on her very basic English), however we found Alessandro the most helpful and friendly staff of the hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for peac and quet and have a car to get out of the hotel when you want to, we woudl NOT recommend this hotel to families with children under 15 years old.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    17
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have jut returned from holidaying in Italy; La Sovana was a highlight in our itinerary. The property is extremely well run and the grounds are maintained to the highlest level; dinner is available most evenings in an elegant setting and Giuseppe's Olivi's pizzas are among the best in Italy! The complimentary wine and olive oil tour is very interesting and the wine produced of a high quality. Make sure you add this gem to your itinerary but you must have a car to explore the surrounding areas and for easy access to the property. There is a shopping centre close by which includes a self service laundry if you want to do your own as well as a great supermarket, cafe and various other shops.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Great place for a honeymoon or anniversary getaway. Spectacular views, elegant, comfortable, modern rooms, outstanding breakfast and dinners. Great central location for Tuscany/Umbria exploring by car. Not walking distance anywhere (it's a working vineyard). Helpful staff. Dinners ar very pricey.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Projournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

It's hard to discribe how much we love it. Last july 2010 was our eight visit and we're going next summer again. We talk the whole year about the food they make, it's the best. And the family is very warm and welcoming. They make you feel at home. The atmosfere is relaxing, soothing and exclusive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JantjeSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2011

La Sovana has been our retreat since the early 1990's. We return again and again because it is the most relaxing and welcoming place we have ever visited. Giuseppi and Giovanella and their family have created an exceptional space from which to tour, walk or simply relax. Giovanella's kitchen is superb! She is meticulous about both the preparation of the food and the elegance of her table. La Sovana is both elegant and simple. It offers tranquillity but also the chance of fun on 'dancing' nights. The hotel accommodation is really beautiful; modern and completely in keeping with the Tuscan countryside. We love our 'home from home' - one of the self catering apartments at the back of the estate. Our children loved La Sovana when they were small and still love it now that they are adults. We have brought friends and family over the years and all have loved the experience. The staff at La Sovana are wonderful - friendly and always eager to make one's holiday a success. If you want great food, a peaceful setting, easy access to Rome, Florence and the major sites in Tuscany then you can't do better than La Sovana!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haydenclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteano
1.4 km away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
620 reviews
3.0 km away
Albergo Roberta
Albergo Roberta
#1 of 5 in Sarteano
373 reviews
3.5 km away
Parco delle Piscine
Parco delle Piscine
#1 of 13 in Sarteano
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Le Buche Wine Resort & Spa
Le Buche Wine Resort & Spa
#2 of 13 in Sarteano
15 reviews
7.3 km away
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
#1 of 23 in Chianciano Terme
318 reviews
1.7 km away
Agriturismo Le Anfore
Agriturismo Le Anfore
#5 of 8 in Sarteano
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Sovana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Sovana

Property: Agriturismo La Sovana
Address: SP 478 Sarteano 1.6 km, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sarteano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agriturismo La Sovana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Sovana Hotel Sarteano
Agriturismo La Sovana Sarteano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing